We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“George U”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Aemstelhuys Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #16 of 337 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 9, 2014

A wonderful experience! A quaint house in an excellent location. Lesley, the hostess, goes out of her way to make her guests feel comfortable. She serves an excellent breakfast of home made croissants, muffins and beverages. The house is in walking distance of all the major attractions.
When I return to Amsterdam, I would hope that a room at the inn is available.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Georgeu1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (196)
There are newer reviews for Aemstelhuys Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 196 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2014

My husband and I stayed for one week at Aemstelhuys in May 2014 and we loved it. We had a delightful, beautiful und very quiet room under the roof, where we felt immediately at home. The room and the living room with the breakfast table with excellent breakfast and lovely decoration were very charming. Leslie was a really nice and helpful hostess, and her cat Puddy is so sweet. The house is located in a quiet street with restaurants an cafes nearby. You can walk easily all the distances to the Amsterdam sights and museums, Grachten and shopping areas.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adoks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2014

It was our first experience in a b&b and it couldn´t be better. Excellent location, close to all the shops and restaurantes, in a lovely quiet Street. Lesley is a great hostess, very helpful. It was a pleasure listening to her stories at breakfast, we didn´t want to leave, and her breakfasts were the best. The house is beautiful decorated and cozzy, the rooms very comfortable and clean. Every detail in the house is perfect. I would highly recommend it and for sure will come back in our next visit to Amterdam.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ckomisnky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2014

We were delighted to stay in an authentic Dutch house, filled with charm and a wonderful hostess. Lesley shared many fabulous stories as she served up a delicious breakfast every morning. Her personal décor and touches were everywhere. Lesley even went out of her way to pack up a breakfast to go on one day when we had a particularly early start. The room on the second floor was comfortable and very clean, although the narrow stairs to get there were tricky to navigate and the bathroom was small. The location was ideal because it was on a quiet, side street, not far from the hustle of everyday Amsterdam. We would definitely recommend staying here.

Room Tip: The room on the first floor is the largest and most convenient.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank morie k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2014

What a pleasure to stay with Lesley! Her home is lovely, everything at breakfast was homemade and delicious! Lesley provided me with restaurant suggestions which were so good I ate at the same place twice and enjoyed it! Would definitely book another stay here in Amsterdam!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annabelle613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

We loved the bed & breakfast, quiet street next to the Amstel, lots of restaurants nearby (our favorite was the thai) and great breakfast provided by the host. She is very helpful, the rooms are comfortable and clean. We had 2 of them, one of in the basement for my Mum (you have all the privacy here but a little dark during the day - but it is great if you are away exploring the city) and the other 2 in the old style dutch house. We will come back if we have the chance.. :)

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aranyeso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2014

hidden gem.. Lesley is all you could wish for in a hostess, she has many tales to tell that will keep you intregued for hours. she is most helpful and knowledgable. the location is perfect ( far enough from the hustle and bustle but near enough to everything) the rooms were just as you see in the pictures decorated with individual style with attention to detail giving you a warm homely feel - no glossy advert gimicks!! it is every bit as clean, inviting and as stylish as you could imagine. the rooms are fully equipt with everything you could need.
a treat to stay here, many many thanks

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KARENsrc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#9 of 371 in Amsterdam
2,746 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,322 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#13 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,095 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Notting Hill
Hotel Notting Hill
#76 of 371 in Amsterdam
980 reviews
Centrum
Tulip of Amsterdam B&B
Tulip of Amsterdam B&B
#3 of 337 in Amsterdam
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aemstelhuys Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aemstelhuys Bed & Breakfast

Address: Utrechtsedwarsstraat 150, 1017 WK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 337 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range: $155 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aemstelhuys is an 18th Century townhouse (Grade 11 listed) in the center of Amsterdam. Our very quiet street joins the Amstel River to the Utrechtsestraat which has more than 18 cafes, restaurants and bars. The house retains its features and character but has all modern amenities required for the comfortable stay of our guests. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing