We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“George U” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aemstelhuys Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Aemstelhuys Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #18 of 328 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Syosset, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“George U”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

A wonderful experience! A quaint house in an excellent location. Lesley, the hostess, goes out of her way to make her guests feel comfortable. She serves an excellent breakfast of home made croissants, muffins and beverages. The house is in walking distance of all the major attractions.
When I return to Amsterdam, I would hope that a room at the inn is available.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Georgeu1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    26
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
30
99
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ulm
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

My husband and I stayed for one week at Aemstelhuys in May 2014 and we loved it. We had a delightful, beautiful und very quiet room under the roof, where we felt immediately at home. The room and the living room with the breakfast table with excellent breakfast and lovely decoration were very charming. Leslie was a really nice and helpful hostess, and her cat Puddy is so sweet. The house is located in a quiet street with restaurants an cafes nearby. You can walk easily all the distances to the Amsterdam sights and museums, Grachten and shopping areas.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank adoks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

It was our first experience in a b&b and it couldn´t be better. Excellent location, close to all the shops and restaurantes, in a lovely quiet Street. Lesley is a great hostess, very helpful. It was a pleasure listening to her stories at breakfast, we didn´t want to leave, and her breakfasts were the best. The house is beautiful decorated and cozzy, the rooms very comfortable and clean. Every detail in the house is perfect. I would highly recommend it and for sure will come back in our next visit to Amterdam.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ckomisnky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

We were delighted to stay in an authentic Dutch house, filled with charm and a wonderful hostess. Lesley shared many fabulous stories as she served up a delicious breakfast every morning. Her personal décor and touches were everywhere. Lesley even went out of her way to pack up a breakfast to go on one day when we had a particularly early start. The room on the second floor was comfortable and very clean, although the narrow stairs to get there were tricky to navigate and the bathroom was small. The location was ideal because it was on a quiet, side street, not far from the hustle of everyday Amsterdam. We would definitely recommend staying here.

Room Tip: The room on the first floor is the largest and most convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank morie k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

What a pleasure to stay with Lesley! Her home is lovely, everything at breakfast was homemade and delicious! Lesley provided me with restaurant suggestions which were so good I ate at the same place twice and enjoyed it! Would definitely book another stay here in Amsterdam!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Annabelle613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

We loved the bed & breakfast, quiet street next to the Amstel, lots of restaurants nearby (our favorite was the thai) and great breakfast provided by the host. She is very helpful, the rooms are comfortable and clean. We had 2 of them, one of in the basement for my Mum (you have all the privacy here but a little dark during the day - but it is great if you are away exploring the city) and the other 2 in the old style dutch house. We will come back if we have the chance.. :)

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aranyeso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2014

hidden gem.. Lesley is all you could wish for in a hostess, she has many tales to tell that will keep you intregued for hours. she is most helpful and knowledgable. the location is perfect ( far enough from the hustle and bustle but near enough to everything) the rooms were just as you see in the pictures decorated with individual style with attention to detail giving you a warm homely feel - no glossy advert gimicks!! it is every bit as clean, inviting and as stylish as you could imagine. the rooms are fully equipt with everything you could need.
a treat to stay here, many many thanks

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KARENsrc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 361 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,102 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 361 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,447 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#10 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 361 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
Volkshotel
#39 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,050 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#16 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aemstelhuys Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aemstelhuys Bed & Breakfast

Property: Aemstelhuys Bed & Breakfast
Address: Utrechtsedwarsstraat 150, 1017WK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 328 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aemstelhuys is an 18th Century townhouse (Grade 11 listed) in the center of Amsterdam. Our very quiet street joins the Amstel River to the Utrechtsestraat which has more than 18 cafes, restaurants and bars. The house retains its features and character but has all modern amenities required for the comfortable stay of our guests. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing