We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A truly gourmet Amsterdam experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Aemstelhuys Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #17 of 338 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Aemstelhuys is a wonderfully cosy B&B in a protected Amsterdam townhouse with a warm and attentive host.
Upon arrival Lesley ushered us in and offered us tea and coffee before we headed out to explore. She made us feel instantly at home, sharing tales and tips galore.
Our room on the top floor was bright, stylishly decorated with tea & coffee facilities, a basket of Amsterdam travel guides, a little table and armchairs, twin beds, and an extra bed as requested. For the three of us it wasn't cramped at all, but it should be noted that the stairs up are narrow (the norm in these beautiful old houses), so do avoid heavy/bulky luggage.
Breakfast is a sumptuous affair, with freshly made croissants, lots of fruit, a wide selection of bread, cheeses, meats, jams, Greek yoghurt and cereals. As there are only two rooms in the B&B it really is a homey experience to sit down to breakfast with fellow guests at the dining table.
Lastly the location can't be beat, being in a hip area of Amsterdam which isn't noisy but has hip cafes, restaus, bars and stores. A tram from the central station brought us only a few minutes walk away.
Thanks again Lesley for our best stay to date in Amsterdam!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sineadj81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (198)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 198 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2014

My husband and I spent 3 wonderful nights in Lesley's beautiful house. The house is ideally situated for trams or walking to major attractions. Breakfast is fantastic and nothing is too much trouble to Lesley. She is a proverbial fountain of knowledge and made our stay very enjoyable. We would have no hesitation in returning to Aemstelhuys .highly recommended.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank linedancer22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Aemstelhuys is a beautiful traditional home a stone's throw from every major attraction,yet secluded and peaceful.Lesley is very welcoming and highly entertaining...I have never spent an hour and a half chatting with my host over breakfast (which by the way was delicious) before! The room was beautifully decorated and very comfortable.We had the most fabulous time,and Lesley helped us to plan our days with an insider's perspective on the city.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jerry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Aemstelhuys B&B is a beautiful historical building in a quiet street, yet only a short walk from bars, restaurants, Prinsengracht and other Amsterdam attractions. Lesley made us all feel very welcome and gave us lots of useful information all of which made my 50th birthday weekend even more enjoyable. The freshly made breakfast was typically Dutch and set us up for a day of sightseeing and shopping around Amsterdam. I would recommend this B&B to friends and family and hope to stay there again in the future.

Room Tip: Request the 'basement' room if you want to have your own front door
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SueCopas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Lesley is very welcoming and has a wealth of knowledge about Amsterdam. We were made to feel very welcome in her much loved home. Rooms are a good standard, we stayed in the basement double room with it's own front door which adds to your experience. It was great to stay in a historical building on a cool Amsterdam street. Make sure you purchase a map from Lesley it is the best you can get and is easy to navigate with.

Location is great, easy walking distance to all main attractions and also easy walk to trams if you prefer to do it that way. It is very quiet at night and is close to the best bars and restaurants in town.

We would return without a doubt and would recommend this as the best base to explore Amsterdam.

Room Tip: If we returned, we would choose a higher floored room as they are lighter and the bathrooms are larg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TWRH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We spent a great time at Lesley's place. The room was decorated with taste and very clean. The location is perfect: it is in the center but still very calm in the evening. And the breakfast was awsome! Very tasty with lot of home-made products. Aemstelhuys B&B is definitly an excellent place to stay!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LMS1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We couldn't have asked for more in this B&B. The location is perfect, the place is clean and very comfortable, the breakfast is amazing. Lesley is extremely friendly and helpful. We will definitely send our friends and family and return here next time we are in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank victoria m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Hotel Estherea
Hotel Estherea
#18 of 373 in Amsterdam
4,026 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
B&B Barangay
B&B Barangay
#6 of 338 in Amsterdam
928 reviews
Centrum
Tulip of Amsterdam B&B
Tulip of Amsterdam B&B
#4 of 338 in Amsterdam
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vondelpark
Hotel Iron Horse
Hotel Iron Horse
#27 of 338 in Amsterdam
785 reviews
Breitner House
#13 of 338 in Amsterdam
228 reviews
Centrum
Amsterdam At Home
Amsterdam At Home
#30 of 338 in Amsterdam
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aemstelhuys Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aemstelhuys Bed & Breakfast

Address: Utrechtsedwarsstraat 150, 1017 WK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 338 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range: $154 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aemstelhuys is an 18th Century townhouse (Grade 11 listed) in the center of Amsterdam. Our very quiet street joins the Amstel River to the Utrechtsestraat which has more than 18 cafes, restaurants and bars. The house retains its features and character but has all modern amenities required for the comfortable stay of our guests. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing