We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“delicious homemade breakfast” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aemstelhuys Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Aemstelhuys Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #20 of 330 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
1 review
“delicious homemade breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

We couldn't have asked for more in this B&B. The location is perfect, the place is clean and very comfortable, the breakfast is amazing. Lesley is extremely friendly and helpful. We will definitely send our friends and family and return here next time we are in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank victoria m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    25
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
29
96
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

Very much enjoyed our couple of nights here. We stayed upstairs in the double with en-suite, all spotlessly clean. A great quiet location if you are looking to walk to the Riijks and VG Museums, or you can go to a few bars about 150m away! Lovely european breakfast of fruit, bread etc set us up for the day. Beware the steep steps at the entrance or within the house (like most properties of this type in the city) particularly if you have any mobility or balance problems. Would definitely go back. Great for couples or young adults, prob not as ideal for kids.

Room Tip: Enjoyed the top floor room with ensuite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aitch1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pliezhausen, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stayed in Aemstelhuys for 2 nights and wish we could have stayed longer.
Such a wonderful and charming bed and breakfast.
It is really five stars worth.
Thank you Lesley for your hospitality - it was a great pleasure to stay at your home and feel like a part of your familiy or good friends.

Room Tip: I prefer the upstairs rooms because of the beautiful view on the street. Lesley speaks also German...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrese59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

Aemstelhuys is ideally situated for exploring Amsterdam and has many good places to eat nearby in the evenings. The house is a traditional Dutch townhouse in a quiet street near the pretty Magere Brug and the museums. (Stairs are steep so probably not suitable for young children.) Lesley is very hospitable and made us extremely welcome. The breakfast provided was excellent and Lesley is a mine of useful knowledge about the city. The rooms were clean and well equipped although the smell of smoke was evident on one evening. We had a very enjoyable visit to Amsterdam and would recommend Aemstelhuys as a comfortable place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank B M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aemstelhuys, Owner at Aemstelhuys Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
I would like to apologise to the guests that they at one point smelled smoke. My house is built in a block of historical houses so we are all joined together. It can happen that we smell what is going on or being cooked in another house or by one of my neighbours. During their visit we were in the middle of a heat wave and everyone had their windows wide open so I can quite understand that they could have smelled smoke. Unfortunately there is nothing I can do to prevent this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

We stayed at Aemstelhuys for two nights the middle of April 2013. It could not have been better. The B&B is very clean, with good bed and bath linens, a generous, unrushed breakfast, and an owner who puts true meaning into the word hospitality. The rooms are comfortable, spacious and pretty, with extra and pleasurable amenities such as a coffeemaker, Dutch cookies and magazines. Lesley Marsh, the proprietor, is welcoming, obviously enjoys her visitors, and gives extra – even loaning umbrellas as needed. Breakfast is generous: juice, fresh fruit, Dutch cheeses, breads, homemade lemon curd, jams and croissants. Dutch pancakes have been known to occur on occasion! The location is just off a main street, but quiet, is close to trams and restaurants, and easy to reach from the railroad station. If I were able to return to Amsterdam I would stay at Aemstelhuys and never at a hotel again. It was a truly comfortable experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathleen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bozeman
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

Aemstelhuys Bed and Breakfast is a wonderful place to call home in Amsterdam. Leslie is so helpful and kind and a great cook. breakfasts are excellent. Her home is just beautiful and each room is special and tastefully decorated. The beds are very comfortable and the rooms are large. i know as this was my second stay at Aemstelhuys. the neighborhood is great with many museums within walking distance. very quiet at night . There are also many wonderful restaurants right done the street. i also want to mention the wonderful linens, towels and very nice bathrooms. her home is spotless and is a wonderful refuge to come home to after a long day of sightseeing!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mary l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

We were very pleased to stay at Aemstelhuys. We had a very warm welcome by Lesley and we were happy to see the cleanliness of the rooms. The bedrooms were beautifully decorated in a romantic style. Overall, we had an amazing time in Amsterdam with regards to Lesley and her Bed and Breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DeidrevdW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#3 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,013 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,379 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#10 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plantage & the East
InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#16 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aemstelhuys Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aemstelhuys Bed & Breakfast

Property: Aemstelhuys Bed & Breakfast
Address: Utrechtsedwarsstraat 150, 1017 WK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 330 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aemstelhuys is an 18th Century townhouse (Grade 11 listed) in the center of Amsterdam. Our very quiet street joins the Amstel River to the Utrechtsestraat which has more than 18 cafes, restaurants and bars. The house retains its features and character but has all modern amenities required for the comfortable stay of our guests. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing