We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Essential supermarket”
Review of Albert Heijn

Albert Heijn
Certificate of Excellence
Neighborhood: Centrum
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Centrum
Reviewed April 28, 2019

This market is also known as A.H. First, we experienced a location in Haarlem that didn’t accept credit cards and one in Amsterdam that did. Just be prepared for your trip and bring Euros because though some places in Amsterdam are cashless we found smaller proprietors and market stalls prefer cash.

This is the place to stock up the fridge when on vacation. The larger store we went to had a huge selection of groceries and ready-to-eat items. The bottled fruit smoothies are unusually tasty and fresh. Reasonable prices. Things can be picked over if you go late.

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank NEPDX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (279)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7 - 11 of 279 reviews

Reviewed April 11, 2019

As tourists, my wife an I were surprised and disappointed that those supermarkets do not accept Visa and MasterCard cards, be it debit or credit card. Unfortunately we realized that we had a problem only when we approached the cashier desk in one of their stores in Amsterdam: we found small strip of paper with a notice attached on the card reader that was telling that neither Visa nor MasterCard could be used. The cashier confirmed that they accepted only Maestro cards. So, if you don’t have one ( we didn’t as we both use Visa and MasterCard and Maestro is not common in our country ) your only option is to withdraw some cash from the ATM before going into the store. So be prepared. They are a popular chain among locals while the Dutch people typically use either cash or Maestro cards and both Visa and MasterCard are not widely adopted in Netherlands. That was why the chain does not bother making life easier for foreign travelers. On the other hand, the store where we were buying groceries provided good selection at moderated prices. Eventually we paid by cash and decided to go to a different store next time - the one which accept MasterCard or Visa.

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank workms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2019

Well they do have prepared food for you to buy and take away, but there are no places to sit. This is a grocery store, part of a huge chain.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Thomas V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2019 via mobile

Found this supermarket along the canal in Amsterdam city.
Interesting local food layout and reasonable prices items.. bought a lot of their waffle thin biscuits..Cheap and yummy..

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank SEASHELL18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2019

We were walking back to our hotel late one evening and stopped in at the Oosterdokskade 65 location to find a light dinner. My wife found a sandwich to her liking and I chose a tuna wrap. Both were very reasonably priced, tasted great, and satisfied us quite well.

The staff answered our questions pleasantly. They were helpful in showing us our choices and explaining what they had available. The cashier's excellent English made paying for our purchases a pleasant experience.

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Milthill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Albert Heijn also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Albert Heijn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing