We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“So good we did it twice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Zorba De Griek

Zorba De Griek
Ranked #2,733 of 3,376 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $22 - $44
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Stadsdeel Zuid
Dublin
Level Contributor
162 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“So good we did it twice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

We are fans of Greek food and living in Ireland where Greek restaurants are rare,we make the most of any opportunity to go Greek that arises.
The decor here is par for the course,lots of blue and white and tourist office posters.
The elderly waiters do a good job and are up to date on the economic crisis at home and abroad.We were here on 2 midweek nights and had interesting and varied conversations with both owners/waiters.
Much more convivial than their Dutch counterparts.
The food was the usual Greek fare.
The lamb chops were very good and salads excellent.
Chicken souvlaki and creamy tzatziki also good.
They had my favourite dessert: baklava.While not the best version ever, it was very nice with excellent coffee.
Wine list pretty short, but adequate.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank LBJDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    45
    33
    18
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“scatty but enjoyable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Lured in by the charming but scatty host we had a pretty enjoyable meal. The food was good and seemed authentically Greek, apart from my moussaka came with some sort of gravy on it! Odd but actually not bad. The atmosphere was friendly and relaxed although to be fair not many other diners were present. I would be happy to eat there again.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sigmund_Fried
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Authentically eccentric”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

I suspect Zorba's is a bit hit and miss, but we ate very well and left smiling - made me yearn to go back to Greece

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Swillbos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
196 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Too bad so don't waste your money”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

It started off promising with some good garlic butter and soft bread, the lentil soup was tasty, but then it all fell apart. Chicken gyros that were cold, moussaka that was hot but tasteless and a less than personable owner. I left feeling rather ill.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank All-reviews-for-free
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Watch whilst your meal is prepared in front of you.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

We came across this restaurant by chance (be prepared to 'run the gauntlet' from other restaurants owners plying their trade) One of the things we liked, was that no one was trying to drag us inside and we had time to peruse the menu. The chef quietly welcoming us and |i must say, his food was outstanding. Hubby and I go to Crete twice a year and really enjoy Greek food, and I've got to say that the chef's Stifado was the best I've every tasted and was so plentiful that I sadly could not finish all of it. Hubby had the Gyros plate , which was again plentiful and he loved it. Whilst waiting for our food we were served complimentary Greek bread with a herbs and garlic butter that was outstanding. This is a place to take things slowly, watch while Chef prepares your food in the open kitchen and enjoy the whole experience.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank twoenglishladies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zorba De Griek also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Zorba De Griek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing