We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool place to stay with a very helpful staff !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel V Frederiksplein

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel V Frederiksplein
Ranked #112 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Cool place to stay with a very helpful staff !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Hotel is conveniently located. Frederiksplein tram station is right across and is directly connected by Tram 4 to Amsterdam Centraal. Although, it's not along a canal but within the canal belt. A 15-30 min walk will take you all the places you would want to be. The neighborhood is pretty and quite in the night.

Our room was on the first floor - small but clean. With our two backpacks and some knick knacks ( no closet in room), we had to watch our step.. The stairs to reach it were narrow, you'll have to be careful. Bedding was comfortable. And bathroom modern.

Breakfast spread was good. The complimentary coffee and tea in lounge was a nice plus. Staff was helpful - they stored our luggage when we arrived couple of hours before check-in time and after we checked-out as well.

All together, a welcoming place to stay !

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SSinha2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,019 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    318
    421
    171
    77
    32
See reviews for
62
569
61
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

This is a boutique hotel with a great style / price ratio. The rooms are tiny, as they tend to be in Amsterdam so for us normal human beings use to a spacious living experience - do not stay here with your partner or a larger group.

But if you are a younger business person coming to Amsterdam for a meeting, conference or just passing by - then the location, the comfortable bed and the atmosphere make it a worthwhile stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank newdesignideas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hornsea
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

I really wanted to like this hotel but .....

Having read all of the reviews, particularly those regarding the size of the rooms, we booked an XL room. If our room was extra large I can't believe how small the standard rooms are. It would have been fine for a single Hobbit but was too small for two adults, one of whom is 6'2". The three large windows were covered with black muslin curtains and black blinds, the floor was also black so the dominant colour was black. The bed was pushed up against the window meaning that the person sleeping that side had to clamber over the other to get out of the bed. Our room was in the adjacent building on the ground floor which was great because the stairs up and down were nearly vertical and very narrow.

There were no wardrobes or storage space apart from a small hanging rail which mean we had to live out of our suitcases for the duration of our stay. The only other furniture was one small chair and a narrow console table.

The overhead light didn't work and even though we reported it on our first day it remained unworking for the 4 days we were there.

The en suite shower room was approx 2' deep and 7-8 foot wide meaning that it couldn't accommodate two people at the same time. The temperature of the shower never got above luke warm during our stay although the water from the taps over the basin was hot.

The sheets weren't changed during our stay which was uncomfortable given the temperatures and the smallness of the room.

On the plus side, breakfast was great and we loved the location with easy access to local shops and restaurants and the tram into the centre of Amsterdam. There are also a couple of small parks which are very pleasant places to sit for a while. Some of the staff were very friendly and helpful but others were diffident. We would definitely stay in this area again but would also definitely choose another hotel.

Room Tip: If you want a decent sized room then book a loft.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Elaine Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Hotel V Frederiksplein (which I still can't pronounce properly) was the best homebase I could ask for during my shotgun visit to the best damn city I've been to in ages. My new found love of Amsterdam aside, Hotel V's staff were the friendliest people I've met in the hospitality industry in some time. Morning staff, when I was there, Justina and Suf, were excellent at giving me the lay of the land and great tips on where the locals play. And Philip too. Fine job good man. And having only two nights to enjoy watching the sun go down (and rise), it was nice to be met upon returning 'home' in the earlier morning hours by Agnes. In the middle of my dark night, she was radiant sunshine. Thanks to all at Hotel V Frederiksplein. About the location, so close to all the best galleries, canal tours (take one after dark) and some very lovely parks. And walking distance from Leidseplein. If you like smaller music venues, be sure to check out Waterhole and Bourbon both in this 'hood. Bourbon for sure. Also, tram from Central Station drops you right by Hotel V. Grocery store a block away. Be sure to get one of their larger rooms. It's worth the bit extra. For food close by, I recommend Pata Negra, just a bit north on the main drag. Damn, I wish I was there now.

Room Tip: Bigger the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Imaginary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

The size of the rooms was so small, for the price that your paying, it really is insulting. Even on checkin the receptionist said they get a lot of complaints about the size of the rooms. We asked to switch to a bigger room, but it did not make a lot of difference. The issue is that for a couple the rooms are not good. For one person it can be ok. You cant really use the toilet properly as its so small. Its as if the manager wanted to squeeze as much out of the customer for the least amount of space. what a joke. never staying again.

Room Tip: if your a single traveller then the rooms are fine. 2 or more people. forget it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank akeemLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

Location is great, when you are out of the hotel door just take five steps to across the road then you are at the tram station! Breakfast was also ok. We were satisfied from our stay but it is up to the expectations. Our expectation was just a clean, cosy place and good location. Hotel v just met all of them. It is also a budget hotel.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank SrcnPrtk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Me and my Husband went to Amsterdam for our 2nd Anniversary and chose this place after looking at the reviews. We were not dissapointed, the staff were extremely friendly and very very helpful, the decor is very modern (a lot of black and grey) which I loved. the room was small but had everything we needed, the bed was very comfortable and the shower was a wonderful walk in shower. The toiletries provided smelled lovely. The breakfast was a continental buffett style breakfast and was beautifully fresh and tasty. Pastries, cheese, ham, fresh bread, fruit and yoghurt, all was great. any time of day you can grab a free tea or coffee from the bar area which was great. the location is idea just a stones throw away from Frederiksplein (a lovely little park with a water fountain) and from there just a 20 min walk from the center of Amsterdam, and an enjoyable one at that. I really loved this hotel and would definitely recommend it, especially for couples, would like to go back and try one of the new V Lofts!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MrsAPeters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Nicolaas Witsen Hotel
#115 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 338 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#45 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,151 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Notting Hill
Hotel Notting Hill
#68 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stadsdeel Zuid
The Amsterdam Canal Hotel
The Amsterdam Canal Hotel
#88 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 294 reviews
Hotel Asterisk
#148 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 367 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel V Nesplein
Hotel V Nesplein
#14 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel V Frederiksplein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel V Frederiksplein

Property: Hotel V Frederiksplein
Address: Weteringschans 136, 1017 XV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#104 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel V Frederiksplein 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel V Frederiksplein opened in 2008 and is located in the city centre. It has 48 rooms with lots of light and excellent beds. All designed with love and eye for detail. Each room is different and has a compact but comfortable bathroom with powerful rain shower, flat screen tv and free wifi. A complementary breakfast is served each morning in the impressive lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Hotel V Frederiksplein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
v Frederiksplein Hotel
v Frederiksplein Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing