We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Modern Hotel in good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel V Frederiksplein

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel V Frederiksplein
Ranked #111 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Modern Hotel in good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Hotel V is in a quiet location just a 10 min walk from Rembrandt Square. It is in a quieter part of the city and also has a tram stop just outside.
The reception area and rooms are very modern. The furnishings and design are really nice with a big gold bulldog in reception and deer vases.
I stayed in the main building- as the Hotel also has a separate building where some rooms are. The rooms are small but adequate. There was not much room around the bed but when you are in Amsterdam you are there to explore the city, not be in your room so that did not matter.
The bathroom had a powerful shower and was also modern in design. The room has a hairdryer but not coffee and tea facilities. The room did get very hot but there was a large fan in the room which helped.
Breakfast was served from 7 am and is continental consisting of pastries, meats, cheeses, fruit etc.
I would really recommend this Hotel for a city break due to it's location and interior! : )

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HollyP186225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,028 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    321
    425
    173
    77
    32
See reviews for
63
575
61
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
ivinghoe beacon
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

We were pleasantly surprised with this hotel, yes the rooms are on the small side, we upgraded to a larger room. What do you expect in a city ? We had two lovely big windows which looked out over the street ,a comfy bed and a modern bathroom with shower.Rooms were very clean with good quality linen and towels. There is no coffee/tea facilities in the room, but anytime of the day until 12pm the hotel serves free tea/coffee in the very comfortable lounge area. A very nice way to end our day of sightseeing chatting with friends and watching the cyclists and trams go by. Breakfast is served in this area with a lot of choice except if you like a full English breakfast,which we did not want.The staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. We found most places walkable with a 10min tram to the station outside hotel. Restaurants were close enough to walk with excellent choice of food for any budget. A great bar opposite the hotel where we watched the Brazil / Croatia football match which pleased our husbands. The canal ring is round the corner from the hotel with plenty of bars . We really enjoyed our stay here and would like to return one day.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a larger room, although be aware these rooms are still on the small side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mapinBedfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

I honestly have no idea where other reviewers are used to staying, but this hotel is really just a glorified hostel. I knew the rooms would be small, but wow, for claiming to be a 3-star hotel and charging over 200 Euros per room per night it should have least had a few amenities. I honestly have no idea how they qualified for a 3-star rating. Even cheap hotels like Travelodge have a little coffee pot or electric kettle to make tea or coffee in your room, and I don't think it would ever cost more than 100 per night. A little minibar with some water and peanuts maybe? In my perfect world there would have been a bathtub, but apparently it's a tubless hotel. We also couldn't check in until nearly 30 minutes after checkin time, and even though we'd made our reservations months in advance, we ended up on different floors. We thought the complimentary breakfast might make up for it, but not if you hoped for anything other than some pillsbury croissants, cold cuts, and hard-boiled eggs that were impossible to unshell. Bottom line, this would all be fine if they made it clear that's what you're supposed to expect, but they made it out to be more than it is, and then charged accordingly.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

The hotel is well located inside the canal ring, away from the noise but close enough to the squares where you can find lots of bars and restaurants.

We booked a basement room because we were only staying for the weekend and we didn't intend to spend much time there. However, upon arrival, we were very disappointed.

The room was very, very small, with barely enough space to put the baggage or even stand up. The space issue was manageable but the most annoying thing was the noise. The room walls were paper thin and we could literally hear everything that was going on the corridor and the other rooms.

The best thing about our stay was the breakfast. There was plenty of choice and everything was very tasty.

Overall, the hotel was good but the room let it down a lot. I would definitely recommend to stay away from the basement rooms.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LuisFGRosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
285 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

Only a 10 minute direct tram ride form the central station and a leisurely stroll into the central areas or around the canals to the major sites, this hotel has location. Restaurants are a couple of minutes walk away, bars by the canal side similarly. It is for those who prefer to to step outside without confronting the crowds of tourists that hover around Dam Square. We chose a superior room and enjoyed the extra space that provided. But the cost was excellent value as were the buffet style breakfasts - well worth getting those in the deal. The place has a fresh and lively feel with high standard of decoration. Service was relaxed, friendly but efficient.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lothian
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

This boutique style hotel is just a ten minute tram journey from the centre of Amsterdam and convenient for many of the city's main attractions. The standard double room in which we stayed was small but more than adequate for a three night short break. It was stylishly decorated and furnished and the bed was very very comfortable. The shower room was well fitted out and stylish and kept absolutely spotless. Our deal included breakfast which is served in a stylish lobby which includes the reception area, bar, and lounge area. Breakfast was typically continental and offered a wide range of rolls, bread, delicious croissants and cold meats and cheese. The staff are young and enthusiastic and really keen to help guests get the most of their stay. They made is feel particularly welcome. Nothing was too much trouble. We couldn't have faulted any aspect of our stay and have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to others. We will certainly return to Hotel V on our next visit to Amsterdam.

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper, you might want to ask for a room away from the front of the hotel whe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Voxpopbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Really liked to style of the hotel.
Friendly and helpful staff. Reception kindly sorted out misunderstanding with cleaning staff.
Great location.
Room size was fine and very comfy bed.
Easy to access from Central Station, just jumped on a tram.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joanne2037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Nicolaas Witsen Hotel
#135 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 342 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#49 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,167 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Notting Hill
Hotel Notting Hill
#65 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stadsdeel Zuid
The Amsterdam Canal Hotel
The Amsterdam Canal Hotel
#82 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 304 reviews
Hotel Asterisk
#151 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 376 reviews
Amsterdam Tropen Hotel
#130 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel V Frederiksplein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel V Frederiksplein

Property: Hotel V Frederiksplein
Address: Weteringschans 136, 1017 XV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#104 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel V Frederiksplein 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel V Frederiksplein opened in 2008 and is located in the city centre. It has 48 rooms with lots of light and excellent beds. All designed with love and eye for detail. Each room is different and has a compact but comfortable bathroom with powerful rain shower, flat screen tv and free wifi. A complementary breakfast is served each morning in the impressive lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel V Frederiksplein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
v Frederiksplein Hotel
v Frederiksplein Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing