We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My kind of hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel V Frederiksplein
Ranked #97 of 374 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 14, 2014

Really liked to style of the hotel.
Friendly and helpful staff. Reception kindly sorted out misunderstanding with cleaning staff.
Great location.
Room size was fine and very comfy bed.
Easy to access from Central Station, just jumped on a tram.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joanne2037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,229)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

364 - 370 of 1,229 reviews

Reviewed May 10, 2014

we stayed here in August 2013, the location is fabulous, walking distance to all the attractions, including the museums. the only thing that was a bit "off" to me, is that you get a key to your room that you have to leave at the front desk every time you leave the hotel (i felt a bit uncomfortable with this - especially since the first room we were given at check-in was already occupied when we opened the door! what a surprise!). we threw caution to the wind and embraced the key drop-off policy. we had no issues and our room (very tiny!) worked out for us. the bathroom is modern and looks recently updated (again, very small) - felt like i was on a TV Show for how to maximize living space in 125 sq feet. we booked a standard room, it came with a free breakfast buffet - which was nice (i'm gluten free, so was pretty much limited to fruit and yogurt for me). lots of gluten options that looked delicious - think pastries, etc.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brandi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2014

We stayed in one of their very reasonably priced basement rooms. Was more than sufficient for two of us for the weekend, and very reasonably priced too. It's not huge, but the bed is very comfy, and the bathrooms is clean, nicely decorated (and has underfloor heating!).
The staff were all very friendly, and there's a great bar area where you can chill out after a hard day's sight-seeing. (very cheap wine too - only 3eur a glass!)
It's about 20 minutes walk from the heart of the city, but very good tram connections

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank laura_blonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2014

First impression, really nice hotel. They told us there was free parking in the street so we didn't need their parking service, which i was willing to pay for!? I payed an extra €20 for a late check out, when we arrived. I think the first time they called us the next day was round 8 in the morning and so on. They woke us up 2 times by phone and the third time the cleaning lady was standing in our room. Yelling that we had to get out of the room, that was 11 in the morning?? Later on we got to our car and see a parking ticket of €50. The hotel wanted to refund us €20, only for the late check out that went wrong. But didn't want to pay for the parking ticket (when it was their idea to park there!!) Then they wanted us to sign a letter that we got refunded for both parking and late check out!!?? I didn't except the money, they we're not polite and totally bad costumer service. They don't care because they got enough tourists in Amsterdam. At the end this night costed double.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bartricardo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelv, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel V Frederiksplein, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2014

Dear Guest,
We would understand if you were a guest who spoke a foreign language and couldn't read the street signs, but in fact you are Dutch-speaking. And you parked directly in front of a sign that told you explicitly in Dutch NOT to park there.
So while we can apologize (and did so many times while you were here) for calling you when you had booked a late checkout, we do not feel that the parking issue was our responsibility and in fact offering you a refund of 20 euro was more than fair.
We wish you all the best,
Amanda
Guest Relations
Hotel V

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

as far as hotels go in amsterdam unless you want to pay super top whack this i found was a gem.
Free wifi with good reception throughout, i stayed in the basement rooms,i was bit intimidated at first but dont be, yes there a tad on the small side but this is amsterdam, its extremely clean, lobby area is seriously smart ! inside,powerful shower clean towels soap shampoo etc. also had a few english tv channels which is handy to watch when you roll in after, possibly a heavy night. breakfast in the morning isnt bad considered its chucked in. nothing hot, continental i believe they call it, there is tea and coffee fruit eggs couisants etc. would stay again

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joshrowles23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelv, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel V Frederiksplein, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Hotel v Frederiksplein! A "gem"! We like that! : )
See you again soon!
Amanda
Guest Relationsstay again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

I stayed here for 3 nights over Easter week. The hotel's location is great - tram 4 takes you towards central station and Dam Square and the other "side " of Amsterdam; trams 7 & 10 are outside going either towards the Zoo or the museums and Vondelpark . The staff are very helpful and recommended a local restaurant on my first night a 5 min walk away. A very good continental breakfast is included in your rate, with fresh breads and pastries from a local bakery. I had booked a standard room - it was a bit on the compact side, Ok for one person, two might have found it very friendly! It was a double bed, with twin mattresses and very, very comfortable; storage space was adequate for a short stay. If I was going back I would book one of the "large" rooms for a bit more space. The downside was the building work next door which started at 6.30/ 7.00am. You do expect some city noise in a city hotel, but when mentioning this to the reception staff they said the builders had been there for some time and had been asked not to start drilling so early. I was offered a room move, but for another night it wasn't really worth it. There are a couple of great neighbourhood bars along the canal and a number of local restaurants nearby.

Room Tip: Book the next room range up for added space if staying more than two nights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BelfastChicTravller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Hotel V Frederiksplein is perfectly okay for a short & reasonable priced stay in Amsterdam, ideally placed for the Van Gogh & Rijksmuseum, a 5 to 10 minute walk away.
The room is on the petite side with one side of the bed up against a wall, meaning having to enter the bed from the bottom & climbing over your partner if you wanted to use the bathroom at night, saying that the room was perfectly adequate as a base to explore Amsterdam.
The breakfast was a continental breakfast with ham, cheeses, breads, salads & breakfast cereal available, quantity was plentiful & of what you would expect from this type of hotel.
Staff were helpful & friendly, always ready with a smile, all spoke excellent English.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank reddonnegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelv, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel V Frederiksplein, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Hello!
Thank you for your review!
Amanda
Hotel V

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
Hotel V Fizeaustraat
#7 of 374 in Amsterdam
464 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
The Amsterdam Canal Hotel
The Amsterdam Canal Hotel
#59 of 374 in Amsterdam
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Asterisk
#144 of 374 in Amsterdam
466 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Notting Hill
Hotel Notting Hill
#75 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,009 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#55 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel V Frederiksplein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel V Frederiksplein

Address: Weteringschans 136, 1017 XV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#102 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $107 - $337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel V Frederiksplein 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel V Frederiksplein opened in 2008 and is located in the city centre. It has 48 rooms with lots of light and excellent beds. All designed with love and eye for detail. Each room is different and has a compact but comfortable bathroom with powerful rain shower, flat screen tv and free wifi. A complementary breakfast is served each morning in the impressive lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel V Frederiksplein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
v Frederiksplein Hotel
v Frederiksplein Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing