We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel V Frederiksplein
Ranked #116 of 365 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
Reviewed April 6, 2014

My fiance and I booked this hotel for our anniversary, and were very impressed by the friendliness of the staff. The rooms were just as advertised on the website; the bed was very comfortable, and the dark walls and black-out curtains were very restful. The free breakfast--which included croissants, fruit, and cereal--was very good, and we really enjoyed the coffee and tea available at the cozy bar and lounge. The location was great: close walking distance to all the sites (and just half an hour from the Amsterdam Centraal train station), yet removed from the hustle-and-bustle of the city center.
The Hotel V really made our trip extra special, and we can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelv, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel V Frederiksplein, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Hello! Thank you for choosing Hotel V Frederiksplein for your anniversary, and for leaving such a nice review! We are pleased that you had a good stay, and hope to welcome you back for next year's anniversary too!
Until then, all the best!
Amanda
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    374
    475
    197
    83
    36
See reviews for
74
663
65
114
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights. Location is good, but the rooms are very small, breakfast is also average. They can improve the service of the hotel. Next time I will stay somewhere else. The connection to the RAI was great with tram 4.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JorritW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2014

We loved the Hotel V! The staff was excellent -- friendly and helpful -- and the hotel itself is funky and charming, from the sleek floors to the lobby fireplace to the tiny elevator. The breakfast each morning was beautifully arranged and offered lots of choices from fresh fruit to boiled eggs, trays of meats and cheeses, and lots of breads. We rented bikes from the hotel, and also bought transit cards there. They arranged for a taxi to the train station on our last morning and even printed our boarding passes. The hotel is convenient to multiple tram lines, and an easy walk to the museums and shopping.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back get less traffic noise from the fairly busy street out front
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JinxieCLT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelv, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel V Frederiksplein, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay! We are pleased that you had a nice experience, and hope to welcome you back one day soon!
Until then,
Amanda
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Booked this hotel through Expedia. We stayed in a "Small Double" these rooms are in the basement and therefore the floor in the room was really cold during our stay in March! The radiator warmed up the room though & as long as you kept something on your feet the cold wasn’t too much of a big deal.
We took Tram Number 4 to the hotel from Central Station. It’s about 7 stops along from Central on this route to the hotel.
The check in was easy & pleasant service. A credit card pre authorisation was needed on arrival for any breakages etc.
Free tea & coffee from the bar during our stay & the continental breakfast had lots of choice beware that 11 a.m approached the food quickly ran out & wasn’t replaced.
There was 11 of us in total staying at the hotel and myself and my boyfriend had room number 10. I honestly think it was just our room (No 10) but the shower was awful - no pressure & really quite cold & didn’t heat up. All the other people in our group were raving about how great their showers were so I think it was just our room.
The other problem with room 10 is that it is directly below the reception so from very early in the morning & throughout the entire day you can here banging of the heels from the girls on reception really loud through the ceiling whenever they move about - we didn’t complain and therefore cannot comment on if they would have been happy to move us to a different room.
The hotel is really modern and clean & in a good location from everything.
Really nice restaurants around the area, we ate at the nearby Mexican (about a 10 minute walk away) was really good service & food. There is a local supermarket just across the way where you can buy cheap water & drinks. Would stay here again, and would stay in a small double as it was more than adequate for 2 adults but wouldn’t stay in room 10.

Room Tip: Avoid room number 10 if you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmmaVC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Nice design hotel, comfy beds, and lovely open fire, unfortunately a very cold room, when I told the receptionist she literally just laughed with no apology..what a shame for otherwise a great hotel!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FOZ1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelv, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel V Frederiksplein, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Hello, and thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Hotel V Frederiksplein! We are sorry that you found the room cold (did you turn the heater on? It is our policy not to keep the heaters running if the room is not occupied before you!), but the V crew member should not have laughed. Sometimes one's sense of humor doesn't come off in the right way- sorry about that!
Hope to welcome you another time!
Amanda
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2014

Hotel V fitted the bill for us - on our first mini break as a couple in many years our expectations were high and we were not disappointed.

- elegantly furnished and comfortable, ever-friendly staff who understand customer service, top notch breakfast, a minimum of fuss, and a funky golden bulldog by the door. A location next to two tram lines is useful indeed, meaning a straightforward arrival with suitcase from Centraal Station, and quick hops through town and around the outer ring, but this is also far enough from the many main drags of the centre that some peace is possible and with all this it was better value than most.

As others have mentioned, specifying a double rather than a twin while booking is no guarantee of a double bed, it's a shame the twin beds can't be adapted better when the hotel know a double was specified. With the rich dark interior colours, some blackout blinds would be great, as with the blinds down our room was bright with the morning sun (shouldn't really complain about Amsterdam being sunny!). And we were fine, but some warning about the steepness of the stairs to the top floor of the back building might help older, younger or less able guests.

Room Tip: enjoy free tea and coffee at all hours, enjoy a nightcap at a seat by the fire after a night out
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Danny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelv, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel V Frederiksplein, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay at Hotel V Frederiksplein. We love that you chose us for your first time away as a couple in ages! :)
Regarding the feedback about the double and twin beds...this is an issue that we discussed in this week's management meeting, so thank you for bringing that up! We are working on a solution, so hopefully can get that resolved for our guests. I will also pass on the suggestion about blackout blinds!
Let us know when you are coming back, and bring the sun again please!!!

Amanda
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014

I stayed in this hotel for two nights in March 2014. I found the location to be great - walking distance to all major attractions and in a safe neighbourhood. The rooms were small yet designed well, bathroom was very nice and the bed was comfortable. There was a little noise as I stayed in room 103 (one of the cheaper rooms) which was in a hallway therefore you could hear people and they passed through to their rooms, plus walking up and down the stairs. Despite this I slept well and only heard the noise when already awake. The free breakfast is a major bonus, great selection, nice sitting area and plenty of food available. I did alot of research before choosing this hotel and I would definitely recommend this hotel to everyone - it has a great quality location price ratio.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katefromnewzealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelv, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel V Frederiksplein, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Hotel V Frederiksplein! We are happy that yo had a nice time, and we do hope that you make it back one day soon!

Until then,
Amanda
Guest Relations
Hotel V
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Nicolaas Witsen Hotel
#152 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
The Amsterdam Canal Hotel
The Amsterdam Canal Hotel
#35 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Notting Hill
Hotel Notting Hill
#87 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#53 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,273 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
#121 of 365 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,028 reviews
Hotel Asterisk
#147 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel V Frederiksplein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel V Frederiksplein

Property: Hotel V Frederiksplein
Address: Weteringschans 136, 1017 XV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#102 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel V Frederiksplein 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel V Frederiksplein opened in 2008 and is located in the city centre. It has 48 rooms with lots of light and excellent beds. All designed with love and eye for detail. Each room is different and has a compact but comfortable bathroom with powerful rain shower, flat screen tv and free wifi. A complementary breakfast is served each morning in the impressive lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel V Frederiksplein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
v Frederiksplein Hotel
v Frederiksplein Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing