We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great hotel!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel V Frederiksplein

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel V Frederiksplein
Ranked #109 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014

We stayed 1 night in this hotel. It was well placed for cycling, sightseeing and there is a choice of good bars and restaurants nearby! The hotel is modern and clean, beds are comfy and the breakfast was very good! We'd happily stay at this hotel again!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelv, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel V Frederiksplein, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thank you so much for your review! We are happy to hear that you had a nice stay and love this location as much as we do!
See you again soon I hope!
Amanda
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,087 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    350
    441
    184
    77
    35
See reviews for
69
612
64
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014

We were really excited, because of the beautiful pictures on the website, but...

The warmth (a warm welcome: "we are so happy to have you in our hotel", was nowhere to be found!
Design-wise it was very minimal, and a great lack of cosiness, whilst that's what is reflected on the site, in reality!

The employees were not very competent and most of them not even Dutch! Except for two girls. But again, no service or courtesy at all...

Our room was double booked, which we found out on the afternoon of our arrival.
But not even a gesture to try and make up for their mistake in anyway, not even an apology!

We supposedly had the 'best room' in the hotel that night, but it was very noisy (from the inside/hallway, as well as the outside (no double glazing), so hardly any sleep at all...

The bed & the breakfast were great though !

Room Tip: I suggest you look for a different hotel completely! We will not be returning here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarieP73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelv, General Manager at Hotel V Frederiksplein, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Sir & Madam,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Hotel V Frederiksplein. Your room was not double booked, but we accidentally booked you in the wrong room category. When we realised our mistake, we contacted you immediately with the following options:

- Free cancellation of your night at Hotel V
- Upgrade to our sister hotel, the 4 star Hotel v Nesplein
- A slightly smaller room category including breakfast for a lower rate
- Free drinks on arrival

We find it really surprising that you decided to leave a negative review, because out of all of the options that we offered you above, you chose to stay in one of our xlarge rooms (one that you personally chose) at a lower rate. We did apologise to you several times (at least 3 times that we can see by email, and several times in person and on the phone). We understand that this was a mistake on our part, but we did our utmost best to please you, and in this case we feel that we did the best we could.

Kind Regards,
Jan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014

Dear Hotel V,

After spending our two weeks of Christmas vacation apart, there was only one day of holidays left for my boyfriend and I to spend together. We decided to go to hotel V for this one night. In this short time, you really surprised us by your hospitality, great facilities, and delicious breakfast. But most of all, we were impressed by in the room itself, especially by the relaxed but cool design, and great shower. In short: our compliments on the quality for such a fair price!
We will try to stay longer during our next holiday:)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelv, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel V Frederiksplein, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Hello, and thank you for the very kind, warm review!
We are happy that we could make the stay with your boyfriend special.
Come back anytime!

Amanda
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014 via mobile

The decor is nice, but the manner of some of the staff takes the sheen off what could be a nice experience.

In my opinion there are plenty of better located hotels of a better quality at a similar or lower price.

Access to the trams is easy with 4 lines within 50 yards. There are jot many good eating or drinking spots close by...

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Oknijbub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelv, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel V Frederiksplein, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Hello, and thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Hotel V Frederiksplein. I am only curious about your experience with some of the staff, as we take pride in offering friendly service at all times. If you could get in touch with me at amanda@hotelv.nl with a few more details, I would really appreciate it!

Thank you again, and hope to hear from you!
Amanda
Guest Relations
Hotel V
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

Stylishly decorated hotel with a great location and easy access to public transport. The hotel staff are friendly and the rooms very clean. Free wireless connection and there is a safe inside the room. Good breakfast which was included with the room booking. Elevator is small and cramped, so do not bring too much luggage with you. I only stayed for a night (this was in February 2014) but got a good feel about the hotel. Would certainly consider staying here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hendrai76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelv, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel V Frederiksplein, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Hello, and thanks for your review! It was really nice to read, and we do hope that you come back for longer than one night next time!

Until then,
Amanda
Guest Relations
Hotel V
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

We just stayed 1 night. The room we stayed in wasn't large but provided all that was needed. The only thing the hotel could do something about is the position of the tv. The curtains are constandly hanging over it. Breakfast in the morning was more then complete, fresh bread, muesli, eggs, fruits, yoghurts, etc., the even had sojamilk!

Room Tip: We stayed in 206, in the inside of the hotel. Perfect if you want to sleep at night :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank meijerw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelv, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel V Frederiksplein, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Hello, and thank you for the review! The soy milk was my doing, so I am glad that other people are asking for it!
As for the curtain behind the TV in room 206, I will speak to the maintenance department and see if we can fix that. Thanks for the heads up!

Until the next time, hopefully longer than one night,
Amanda
Guest Relations
Hotel V
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

Very modern and stylist hotel. We had a standard double room, the room was very small but lovely! The bed was the comfiest thing I have ever felt, the room was warm & the shower was amazing (waterfall shower) it was very clean, the staff were very friendly & always happy to help you with anything. Breakfast was very nice & the lobby was a nice place to sit & chill.
My only gripe was that they were doing building work on one of the top floors which they started at 7am for 2 out of the 4 mornings. But I would definitely go back again!
Location was fantastic tram stop right outside which takes you all around the city.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaziiibell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Nicolaas Witsen Hotel
#143 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
The Amsterdam Canal Hotel
The Amsterdam Canal Hotel
#85 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Notting Hill
Hotel Notting Hill
#66 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#55 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,194 reviews
Hotel V Fizeaustraat
#6 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Hotel Asterisk
#149 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel V Frederiksplein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel V Frederiksplein

Property: Hotel V Frederiksplein
Address: Weteringschans 136, 1017 XV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#102 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel V Frederiksplein 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel V Frederiksplein opened in 2008 and is located in the city centre. It has 48 rooms with lots of light and excellent beds. All designed with love and eye for detail. Each room is different and has a compact but comfortable bathroom with powerful rain shower, flat screen tv and free wifi. A complementary breakfast is served each morning in the impressive lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel V Frederiksplein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
v Frederiksplein Hotel
v Frederiksplein Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing