We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel V Frederiksplein
Ranked #97 of 374 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 3, 2013

The Hotel V is easy to access with a tram stop across the road, and another around the corner.
We had a room on the 2nd floor with street views.
It is also close to the museum precinct
Although the room was very small it contained everything that we needed.
The staff were very friendly and helpful with advice on restaurants in the area as well as local markets.
The hotel provides a good continental breakfast which was included in our rate.
Good value for money.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,229)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

418 - 424 of 1,229 reviews

Reviewed December 2, 2013

Brilliant location just on the outside of the centre of Amsterdam. Excellently positioned for the museums and a nice walk into town, either along main roads or quieter canal back streets.

This is a modern hotel with the high points being a brilliant breakfast that really sets you up for the day. The reception area is lovely with free coffee and tea for guests throughout the day and provides a lovely fire area to sit and watch the world go by.

However, there were some real down points that will be remembered, when you get used to them it becomes part of the quirk of the hotel but at first they do appear a bit off.

Firstly, the rooms are not spacious at all. This is evident in when walking into the room you walk straight into the sink and there is no room to walk around the bed. There is no wardrobe/cupboard place to store items of clothing and if you plan on using the safe get ready to lie on the floor in order to operate it.

The walls are really thin within the rooms, not much noise was heard beyond our room from other customers but if you're travelling buddy is in the toilet, have your music ready as you will hear everything!!

I'm not sure if it was just our room but we were having to wait a good 5 minutes to get hot water in the shower and when it did come it tended it go through stages.

As I said these can be seen as small problems but you do leave remembering them.

Very friendly staff, great location and brilliant breakfasts just be prepared to live on top of one another and a long wait for the shower!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hazel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

The Hotel V is a warm and welcoming concept hotel.

The staff is friendly. The receptionist at check in was funny, friendly, even a little goofy and totally cool.

One late night attendant helped me order food from a nearby pizza place.

Breakfast attendants offered me croissants even after the official mealtimes were closed.



These small acts of service make an affordable, comfortable, and great hotel even better.

The beds are great, the shower is clean and get hot quickly, and the hotel uses metal keys, something few hotels still do.

Volume can sometimes be an issue in the restroom, I could hear people near me very well.

Overall, highly recommended.

Room Tip: Avoid a room near stairs, thin walls mean you hear a lot of stomping!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank inasticushomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

This hotel is in a good location for those visiting Amsterdam for pleasure or Business. I have stayed in this hotel a number of times over the last 5 years. However my last visit, I was a little disappointed. My room didn't appear to be as clean as usual, the bed sheets was stained (although it was clear they had been cleaned), the bedding duvet had wear holes, the bathroom sink was missing the plug and finally the battery cover for the remote control was also missing.

One of these things you might accept as an oversight, but all of these things in a single visit leads one to think the standards have slipped a little.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

The location is excellent and just near the Rijksmuseum (brilliant but try to avoid popular times if possible). We stayed in a loft room & perhaps the other rooms are better but it was cold (resin floor) a noisy heater was provided but had little effect. The stairs were seriously steep and we had said we were happy to carry our luggage but didnt know what we were in for so I think the staff who did should have insisted to help! Very scant provision ie no dressing gown, slippers, body cream, cotton buds, minimal tea/coffee provision and no UHT. The room service was poor - beds just made towels not even folded and towel rail turned off which was really annoying in light of the temp. Bathroom tiny, with ridiculous rectangle sink that just looked messy and lighting really bad to do make up and no mag. mirror. No Bath. The bed was really surprisingly comfortable although very noisy outside streets/traffic.Trying to be a little too trendy without delivering the quality. Felt it was run by inexperienced staff who were overly laid-back. With a few improvements could be very good so it is a shame.

Room Tip: Dont pick the loft rooms especially if you dont like steep stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RandROxfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

This is about my 12th Stay Hotel V, Frederiksplein and it was excellent. The location remains brilliant with great Tram connections right outside. It is close to the Museum District, Vondelpark, Leideseplein etc etc The prices are excellent for the size of the rooms and the quality of the rooms. Everything is well styled with great products in the rooms like YUMEKO duvets to keep you warm and snug. I always request a room in front. Although you can hear street noise and the tram, I love this City Buzz. I can understand why many Fashionista's stay at this hotel. There are no Tea & Coffee facilities in the room but the bar makes great latte's that can be enjoyed in front of the fire or in your room.The Hotel V Crew rocks - always friendly, always helpful & super cool. I look forward to my next stay.

Room Tip: Request a room in the front. I like 309
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SamWilcox-Diedericks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelv, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel V Frederiksplein, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Sam, thank you very much for your lovely review! That was very sweet! We love guests that we can get to know over a long period of time, and we hope that business brings you back to Amsterdam for many more years to come!

All the best,
Amanda
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

I am actually not sure what to think about this hotel... Following several reviews, I booked a kind of superior room, so I got a bigger one on the last floor (no eleavtor till there... you need to walk from the third floor!!)... There was nothing wrong with it, the bad was great and there was enough space, but they should have a closet or something similar and not just some kind of "Ikea" hanger. I did not like the bathroom... "rainshower" only... somebody please tell me, how can I get clean on all "hiden places" with this :))... I did not like the concrete floor and there are some more things I would change.... But, the truth is that the location is not bad (through not my favourite in this city, but as always - the decision to book this hotel was conected with price...), breakfast is good, staff is kind enough (but they could give me the room one hour before official check in time...nobody checked anything, lady just said "its not availiable yet..."). Room was cleaned well, they just should do something with strange smell in the corridors....
Nothing really bed, but I will certainly look for something else in Amsterdan next time....

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelX17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelv, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel V Frederiksplein, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Hotel V Frederiksplein.
All the best,
Amanda
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
Hotel V Fizeaustraat
#7 of 374 in Amsterdam
464 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
The Amsterdam Canal Hotel
The Amsterdam Canal Hotel
#59 of 374 in Amsterdam
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Asterisk
#144 of 374 in Amsterdam
465 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Notting Hill
Hotel Notting Hill
#75 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,009 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#55 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel V Frederiksplein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel V Frederiksplein

Address: Weteringschans 136, 1017 XV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#102 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $107 - $337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel V Frederiksplein 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel V Frederiksplein opened in 2008 and is located in the city centre. It has 48 rooms with lots of light and excellent beds. All designed with love and eye for detail. Each room is different and has a compact but comfortable bathroom with powerful rain shower, flat screen tv and free wifi. A complementary breakfast is served each morning in the impressive lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel V Frederiksplein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
v Frederiksplein Hotel
v Frederiksplein Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing