We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel V Frederiksplein

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel V Frederiksplein
Ranked #111 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Todmorden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Fab!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights at the end of October. Was offered a (fairly) cheap upgrade to a double rather than small room and took it. The small room I looked at was quite small but another (Room 8) was a good size so I guess it differs. Shower and room very nice and the bed was really comfy!

Breakfast was lovely and there was a wide selection with plenty to eat. You can get free tea/coffee too at the bar if you stay which was excellent and I found the staff very helpful and friendly.

All in all a lovely stay at a cool pad.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank danclay77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelv, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel V Frederiksplein, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay at Hotel V Frederiksplein. It's really nice to hear that you had a good stay, and we hope that if you ever make it back to Amsterdam you will come again!

All the best,
Amanda
Guest Relations
Hotel V
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,028 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    321
    425
    173
    77
    32
See reviews for
63
575
61
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pfinztal, Germany
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

The location is ideal, at the edge of the famous "Grachten Ring". Round the Hotel are nice Shops and Restaurants, and a street market.

We had a Souterrain room, which was very, very tiny. for two big persons it would be impossible to move. The shower was stylisch, but everything was wet after showering.
The breakfast was very good and the staff very friendly and helpful.

a Highlight is the Lobby with the open fire- especially in the dark and cold season. ;)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Annette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelv, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel V Frederiksplein, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Hotel v Frederiksplein.
We are glad you had a good stay, and look forward to one day welcoming you back!

Amanda
Guest Relations
Hotel V
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We stayed at Hotel V Frederiksplein for 2 nights and found it perfect for a weekend break. The local area is full of resturants, bars and shops while being within short walking distance from the popular Musuemplein, Leidplein and Rembrandplein. The staff knowledgeable and very helpful with transfer information when the trams and trains shut-down due to a server storm (St Jude). The continental breakfast was lovely and tasty with fresh coffee, rolls and pasties on offer.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Braz01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelv, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel V Frederiksplein, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Hotel V Frederiksplein. It's nice to hear that you had a great stay, but I am so sorry that you experienced Amsterdam during such a storm! That was a crazy time in the city!
Anyway, hope to welcome you back again one day soon!

Amanda
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

The hotel is perfectly located, being far enough from the night scene noises but close to the museums and all major tramway lines. The room was clean and nice, as the lobby and the dining room. One disapointing point was the staff (or some of it). The bartender was just not interested in doing her job... Better drink in your own room then ! Also, the Wi-Fi went off one night, so we had to go in the lobby to book our rental car, but we got kicked out at midnight by the employee working the front desk, so we had to finish the reservation the morning after. Overall, if the hotel correct those points, it can become a must go in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelv, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel V Frederiksplein, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Hello, and thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Hotel V Frederiksplein. I'm glad you had a good stay, but am concerned about your experience with some of the staff. I will be in touch via email to find out more about this.
Hope to welcome you back again one day!
Amanda
Hotel V
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

during our stayed our room was always clean, however the rooms are small. the hotel is in a very nice location close to public transport, it has a nice ambiance, and lovely lobby. the breakfast is a plus, having unlimited coffee and tea. the staff is friendly and always keen to help.

Room Tip: try to choose the back building or if the room is located in the lower floor of main building reques...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelv, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel V Frederiksplein, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Hotel V Frederiksplein! Hope to see you again some time! Next time, try one of our other room sizes- there are 4, plus loft apartments next door.

Kind Regards,
Amanda
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We both really enjoyed our stay at Hotel V. The room was small but perfectly fine for two people, beds were really comfy as was the bedding. The communal lounge was very relaxing, especially on a wet Sunday when the rain did not ease off all day. Breakfast was excellent, lots to choose from and we were pleasantly surprised by the free tea and coffee during our stay. I will definitely be looking up Hotel V when I next visit Amsterdam.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tessy77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelv, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel V Frederiksplein, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Hotel V Frederiksplein! We are so pleased to hear that you had a nice stay, it's the best compliment! Thank you and see you again!

Kind Regards,
Amanda
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
154 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

First of all, regardless of how busy a weekend is, for an amount of 160 € a night ex ´tourist tax´one may expect a certain level which we did not always get. Room was small as most hotels in Amsterdam. It always infuriates me that there is no parking facilities offered by the hotel. Sure; Amsterdam has parking difficulties but so does Paris ... In the end one just has to find a solution by oneself which is not accepatble. The receptionist did advise us about a service where the car is picked up and returned at departure at another 55 € (external service, not via the hotel).
Staff at the reception was good and polite; no complaints, though the breakfast staff (2 people for not that many tables) seemed to be more occupied with themselves then with clearing tables in the restaurant. Breakfast bufet was mediocre and location was not the best in town. All in all, would try to look for better price / quality ratio next time though I am not sure that we will find that in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Telly2408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelv, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel V Frederiksplein, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Hotel V Frederiksplein!

For parking options, next time just send us an email before your arrival, and we can send the parking options in the city. We do this daily for many guests. As a city that is built around bikes, however, we do not feel that acquiring a parking space is an option for us. But there are many options in the city that are suitable. They are expensive, yes, but there is also an option for 8 euro per day, which will not break the bank! So next time, just ask beforehand!

Thanks, and hope to see you again one day!

Kind Regards,
Amanda
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Nicolaas Witsen Hotel
#135 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 342 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#49 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,167 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Notting Hill
Hotel Notting Hill
#65 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stadsdeel Zuid
The Amsterdam Canal Hotel
The Amsterdam Canal Hotel
#82 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 304 reviews
Hotel Asterisk
#151 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 379 reviews
Amsterdam Tropen Hotel
#130 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel V Frederiksplein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel V Frederiksplein

Property: Hotel V Frederiksplein
Address: Weteringschans 136, 1017 XV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#104 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel V Frederiksplein 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel V Frederiksplein opened in 2008 and is located in the city centre. It has 48 rooms with lots of light and excellent beds. All designed with love and eye for detail. Each room is different and has a compact but comfortable bathroom with powerful rain shower, flat screen tv and free wifi. A complementary breakfast is served each morning in the impressive lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Hotel V Frederiksplein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
v Frederiksplein Hotel
v Frederiksplein Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing