We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy, Comfortable and Rested”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel V Frederiksplein
Ranked #99 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We both really enjoyed our stay at Hotel V. The room was small but perfectly fine for two people, beds were really comfy as was the bedding. The communal lounge was very relaxing, especially on a wet Sunday when the rain did not ease off all day. Breakfast was excellent, lots to choose from and we were pleasantly surprised by the free tea and coffee during our stay. I will definitely be looking up Hotel V when I next visit Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tessy77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelv, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel V Frederiksplein, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Hotel V Frederiksplein! We are so pleased to hear that you had a nice stay, it's the best compliment! Thank you and see you again!

Kind Regards,
Amanda
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,233)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

436 - 442 of 1,234 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2013

First of all, regardless of how busy a weekend is, for an amount of 160 € a night ex ´tourist tax´one may expect a certain level which we did not always get. Room was small as most hotels in Amsterdam. It always infuriates me that there is no parking facilities offered by the hotel. Sure; Amsterdam has parking difficulties but so does Paris ... In the end one just has to find a solution by oneself which is not accepatble. The receptionist did advise us about a service where the car is picked up and returned at departure at another 55 € (external service, not via the hotel).
Staff at the reception was good and polite; no complaints, though the breakfast staff (2 people for not that many tables) seemed to be more occupied with themselves then with clearing tables in the restaurant. Breakfast bufet was mediocre and location was not the best in town. All in all, would try to look for better price / quality ratio next time though I am not sure that we will find that in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Telly2408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelv, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel V Frederiksplein, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Hotel V Frederiksplein!

For parking options, next time just send us an email before your arrival, and we can send the parking options in the city. We do this daily for many guests. As a city that is built around bikes, however, we do not feel that acquiring a parking space is an option for us. But there are many options in the city that are suitable. They are expensive, yes, but there is also an option for 8 euro per day, which will not break the bank! So next time, just ask beforehand!

Thanks, and hope to see you again one day!

Kind Regards,
Amanda
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Although the rooms are quite tiny and no room services available; it is by far the best value European hotel I had stayed at. Staff are knowledgeable and helpful plus the self service breakfast every morning and unlimited tea/coffee supplies throughout the day, plus a cozy fire place in the middle of the lobby, one can get very comfortable at the louve area.
Great access to the museum quarter and easy public transit hubs.

Room Tip: Rooms are pretty identical in sizes. The back building does not have an elevator but stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 979lydiac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelv, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel V Frederiksplein, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Hotel V Frederiksplein! So happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and that you found it to be a good value! That makes us so happy to hear. Hope to see you again some time!

Kind Regards,
Amanda
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We had a generally nice stay at the Hotel. The breakfast and reception/lounge area were hip and modern. The room we Chose to stay in was rather small but was perfectly fine for two people. The only complaints we have are that we could hear everything that happened outside the room, the mirrors were too small and the water in the shower was too weak to have much effect. Some of The staff also seemed rather arrogant, whereas there were a couple who were very lovely. One man in particular who worked at the bar and was present during breakfast. 3.5/5 from us :-) but well worth the price!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Henrikdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelv, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel V Frederiksplein, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Hotel V Frederiksplein! Nice to hear that you had a good stay, but I am a little surprised that some of the staff seemed "arrogant". If you don't mind sending me an email with more details, I would love to hear more! My email: amanda@hotelv.nl
But as for the lovely staff member- I think you mean Philip- I will let him know what you said! I'm sure he will be very pleased.
Hope to see you again some time!

Kind Regards,
Amanda
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights, we had a room in the underground floor, had a difficulty for accessing the internet because of that I suppose,rooms are too tiny, should be more clean, breakfast is good (lots of varieties), friendly team, good location very close to the shopping area..

Room Tip: Don't take the underground room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SandraFAHED
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelv, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel V Frederiksplein, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Hotel V Frederiksplein! We are somewhat flattered that you wanted to rank us with a 4-star hotel, but the truth of the matter is that we are a 3-star hotel. However, next time you should try one of our other room sizes- there are 4, plus loft apartments next door. And sorry about the internet, we have since sorted the issue out. Hope to see you again sometime!

Kind Regards,
Amanda
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

On arrival I was impressed with the modern chic foyer, and helpful staff. Everything looks like on the website until you arrive at the rooms My group stayed in 3 types of rooms, all of which are very small and not in as good condition as the website photos would indicate. I was in the underground bunker (small double) which really is a very depressing room, which would have been ok if I was just sleeping there and it had been half the rom rate of 135 euros a night which I was paying!

The staff are Friendly, efficient and helpful. The continental buffet is varied and fresh with free coffee served in the lounge all day. It's just a shame that there is so much disparity between all the good points and the very disappointing bedrooms.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martino2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelv, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel V Frederiksplein, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Hotel V Frederiksplein! Sorry to hear that you found a disparity between the positive and negative points of the hotel, so I would suggest that next time, try one of our other room sizes- there are 4 different room types, plus loft apartments next door that we just opened. So there is quite a variety in what we have to offer.

Kind Regards,
Amanda
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Superb location near the lovely Utrechtsestraat, super helpful and friendly staff who probably speak 4 languages each, and a lovely hang-out area in the lobby that will almost make you not want to leave your hotel during your trip. If you can live with a little less space in your room with a slightly awkward layout, then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelv, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel V Frederiksplein, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Hotel V Frederiksplein!

I like this:
"If you can live with a little less space in your room with a slightly awkward layout,"
In other words, "If you can live in Amsterdam..."

Hope to see you again one day!

Kind Regards,
Amanda
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
Hotel V Fizeaustraat
#7 of 373 in Amsterdam
482 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
The Amsterdam Canal Hotel
The Amsterdam Canal Hotel
#60 of 373 in Amsterdam
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Asterisk
#149 of 373 in Amsterdam
468 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Notting Hill
Hotel Notting Hill
#75 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,013 reviews
Hotel Restaurant Larende
#48 of 373 in Amsterdam
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel V Frederiksplein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel V Frederiksplein

Address: Weteringschans 136, 1017 XV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#102 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $102 - $313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel V Frederiksplein 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel V Frederiksplein opened in 2008 and is located in the city centre. It has 48 rooms with lots of light and excellent beds. All designed with love and eye for detail. Each room is different and has a compact but comfortable bathroom with powerful rain shower, flat screen tv and free wifi. A complementary breakfast is served each morning in the impressive lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel V Frederiksplein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
v Frederiksplein Hotel
v Frederiksplein Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing