We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel V Frederiksplein

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel V Frederiksplein
Ranked #111 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
New York, New York, United States
1 review
“Friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Superb location near the lovely Utrechtsestraat, super helpful and friendly staff who probably speak 4 languages each, and a lovely hang-out area in the lobby that will almost make you not want to leave your hotel during your trip. If you can live with a little less space in your room with a slightly awkward layout, then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelv, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel V Frederiksplein, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Hotel V Frederiksplein!

I like this:
"If you can live with a little less space in your room with a slightly awkward layout,"
In other words, "If you can live in Amsterdam..."

Hope to see you again one day!

Kind Regards,
Amanda
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,028 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    321
    425
    173
    77
    32
See reviews for
63
575
61
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
271 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

What was once bijou chic is now looking rather tired and tawdry - black decor hides a multitude of sins but you can have too much of it.
On the plus side the staff were really great - exceptionally friendly and helpful.
On the negative side our room was on the top floor at the front of the hotel which was very noisy. It is located on four tram routes and they run ( and we can testify to this ) from 5.30am. to 12.30am. This is good for getting round the city but not if you need more than five hours sleep.
Amsterdam is expensive this year but we did think this was overpriced ( Euro 200 per night ),even without the tram problem.

Room Tip: Front rooms are noisy. The other rooms we saw ( and offered as an alternative ) were very small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank steveandgerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelv, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel V Frederiksplein, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay in Hotel V Frederiksplein. Sorry to hear that the trams disturbed your sleep. If it were up to us, we would take each and every tram bell and smash them to pieces, but unfortunately the Public Transportation Service stopped us the last time we tried.
We do have a second building that is away from the street which could be an option for you next time?

Kind Regards,
Amanda
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

I booked a room at this hotel purely because of the great price - €60 for the small double room in the basement. My boyfriend and I managed to find the hotel fairly easily. The location is good - 10 min walk to bars and restaurants. After reading the mixed reviews on trip advisor I didn't know what to expect when it came to the hotel. On arrival we were impressed with the exterior which put our hopes up for what our room would be like. We checked in with no difficulty. The lady at the desk told us we could be upgraded to a standard double room as it was free for the night, which we were very happy with. We were only staying for one night but both agreed that the hotel was great! The room was small, however I expected this as it is Amsterdam! Climbing the steep stairs to our cosy room felt nice. In the bathroom they provide shampoo, soap etc. which I didn't expect because of the price. Unfortunately we missed the complimentary breakfast in the morning as it finishes at 10am and we had to check out by 11am.
This was really great value for money and the hotel had such style too. I was keen to book somewhere which was affordable with a boutiquey feel to the place and it ticked all the boxes.
Hopefully next time we'll stay longer and try out the even nicer room. Thanks!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lena P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timbuktu, Mali
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Location is not bad, a 5 minute walk to museums and 10 minutes to rembrandt square. the staff are helpful and friendly, the lobby and bar area is really nice. But the rooms let the place the down. Extremely small, and the tiny room means not even any draw space; a sort of canvas stand to put your clothes in. Just one tiny bedside stand, nowhere to put anything in the ensuite. To illustrate how small the room is; if you touch one wall with your foot you can stretch out and touch the wall on other side of the room with your hand.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gangwarily18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

the hotel looks very funky and modern, but on closer inspection it really isn't great.

If you are disabled forget this hotel, the rooms are all over the place up very steep stairs so if you have any walking issues you will not manage here.

I was staying here for business so we needed the area and low budget. The rooms are really small. I had planned to do some exercise in my room but there wasn't not enough room to do a press up (to give you an example).

The rooms were also quite dirty, in the low lighting they may have appeared clean but when you looked you can see quite thick dust everywhere. You can also hear people getting into their rooms and their alarm clocks so it really isn't very well sound proofed.

Breakfast was ok. No cooked breakfast only limited cereal, breads and meat. The staff were a tad slow, the eggs were never ready for opening time, it was always 20 minutes or so after, mainly because they said they were a bit tired or they had forgotten to put them on. Our team were on a tight schedule so it was irritating we had to miss out on eggs (as this was the only warm option).

Im sure there are better hotels. It isn't awful, it just isn't great!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dojo2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Superior, Colorado
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

The hotel is located in a great locality, close to the tram and in the middle of the city with easy access to all places around. It also has restaurants in close proximity. The lobby looks great and their breakfast croissants were fresh and delicious. Having said all great things I was very disappointed with the room. The floor was always warm, may be the room was situated on top of some sort of a machine. It was so hot and after telling the staff they opened up a window which helped a little but not a whole lot. There was no air conditioning, I have stayed in places in Europe without air conditioning in the months of August and September but since the floor was warm all the time I guess there was more heat in the room. There is also no exhaust in the bathroom and I would go out after shower just to get fresh air. There is just enough room to walk around the bed and it has a wheeled cupboard to keep your belongings. Big suitcases may not even fit comfortably in the room.

Room Tip: There might be other rooms which are better situated. The hotel itself was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aquablue_84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

The hotel is well located and clean but otherwise it's really bad. This is the first hotel room I've been to that has no closet and not a drawer. Instead they have a rack on wheels placed in the room. The room is tiny. To access one side of the double bed you have almost to crawl under a very low ceiling. The other side of the bed doesn't have any stand next to it so nowhere to place your phone, glasses, etc. No AC. I could not find a piece of paper on the desk to write a note. There is a safe deposit box which is "conveniently" located on the floor. To read the operating instructions on it you must lay flat on the floor. Shower is open. No shelf in the bathroom for your bathroom equipment. I was on the 3rd floor, fortunately I didn't have heavy luggage as the elevator only goes up to level 2. Probably the least convenient hotel i've been to, and I've been to many.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Z D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelv, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel V Frederiksplein, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Hotel V Frederiksplein. Sorry to hear that you didn't find it up to standard. We understand that Hotel V Frederiksplein is not for every guest or traveller, but we do try our best. Unfortunately most of your complaints seem to be of the design-variety, and with a monument building, there was not much we could do regarding construction of rooms. There are some rooms with shelves in the bathroom and with built in closets, so if you are unhappy with a room you can always ask at the front desk to see other available rooms.

At any rate, thank you very much for your review!
Amanda
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Nicolaas Witsen Hotel
#135 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 342 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#49 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,167 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Notting Hill
Hotel Notting Hill
#65 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stadsdeel Zuid
The Amsterdam Canal Hotel
The Amsterdam Canal Hotel
#82 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 304 reviews
Hotel Asterisk
#151 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 376 reviews
Amsterdam Tropen Hotel
#130 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel V Frederiksplein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel V Frederiksplein

Property: Hotel V Frederiksplein
Address: Weteringschans 136, 1017 XV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#104 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel V Frederiksplein 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel V Frederiksplein opened in 2008 and is located in the city centre. It has 48 rooms with lots of light and excellent beds. All designed with love and eye for detail. Each room is different and has a compact but comfortable bathroom with powerful rain shower, flat screen tv and free wifi. A complementary breakfast is served each morning in the impressive lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel V Frederiksplein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
v Frederiksplein Hotel
v Frederiksplein Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing