We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant vibe” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel V Frederiksplein

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel V Frederiksplein
Ranked #111 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Brilliant vibe”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

The hotel is cool and although the decor is basic, there is still a great level of character and coziness that often gets lost in boutique hotels. The staff are great, always on hand to give directions and to act as tourist advice centres. Although the crowd is young, my 75 year old mother felt at ease. The hotel is central and in a great neighbourhood with shops , cafes and restaurants that are not your usual multinational chains. the continental breakfast felt like a banquet. great hotel and all round value for money

Room Tip: Tell them you don't want a room in the basement.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yoliwe K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,089 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    351
    442
    184
    77
    35
See reviews for
69
614
64
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
355 reviews
157 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

With equally cool staff and stuff to match! Tastefully done up lobby, breakfast area, rooms and toilets in contemporary decor. Common area has a library with a good collection of art and graphic design books and Mac PC for free internet access. Bar provides complimentary drinks. Friendly staff take care of everything from getting your room keys hanging from a tree behind the desk to manning the bar and preparing breakfast.

Elevator is the smallest ever, only big enough for one with a piece of luggage. No AC in room so windows need to be left opened.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Y880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

The hotel staff are very friendly here. The rooms are basic and small, but all you need. Breakfast is very good and a variety is offered. The hotel staff are most helpful in where to go and what to do during your time in Amsterdam. What we really liked about this hotel is that they make a huge effort to be environmentally friendly in products they use and the setup of the hotel reflects this.

There is no air conditioning in the rooms, but the windows open and there is a fan in the room. The hotel is opposite the tram which is very handy.

We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: If you want quietness, book a room at the back of the hotel as the front rooms are on the tram line...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cromartylass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

We visited this hotel in August 2013 and overall it was a good experience, however there were one or two issues. It must be said that the staff were very quick to respond to and resolve the issues.

On arrival we entered our room, which was in the out building in the basement. The room was extremely small with a very small window and consequently it was very dark. I found the room too claustrophobic and instantly went to back to reception. The staff were very helpful and understanding and moved us straight away to a larger room. I would be aware that when booking the hotel that you are aware of the size/location of the room you are booking.

The other issue we had was with regards to locking the bedroom doors. When leaving the hotel for the day you must hand in your room key to reception. One morning we handed in our keys to the reception and we came back to the hotel later that day to see our bedroom door was unlocked and open. It later transpired that the window cleaner had been in the room and had unfortunately not locked the door when exiting the room. Again, the staff were very responsive, ensuring nothing from the room was missing and then offered us two complimentary drinks as a way of apology. I was thankful that we made use of the safe in the room. I do believe this was an unfortunate one off incident and will not be a reoccurring problem, however I would ensure that the safe is made use of for personal belongings as you do not have your bedroom key for safe keeping at all times.

Otherwise the hotel had funky decor, clean bedrooms and very nice breakfasts. It can be recommended if you are sure what room type you would like!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Foodie-Lover-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorrach, Germany
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

the location is really good, a few minutes to the city and many restaurants and bars close around. But first of all: the staff is very, very friendly and welcoming. The breakfast is good. the rooms are really small but enough for sleeping.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rita G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

the V Hotel is in great location, staff is friendly and I like the people at the hotel, nice design and good vibe. We stayed in one of the Lofts, they are larger then the rooms 350 euro before tax and breakfast is extra 15 euro per person. The loft is in a separate building and you need to walk outside around the corner. While the design of the room is nice the room is not comfortable bed area is really tight, shower room has no place to put your toilet bag, restrooms are tiny, not what you'd expect for that price. Room is noisy and they provide ear plugs for the train - not kidding here.

Room Tip: you need to be comfortable sleeping in an urban location with city noise, worked for me but not ever...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hemi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Nicolaas Witsen Hotel
#140 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
The Amsterdam Canal Hotel
The Amsterdam Canal Hotel
#81 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Notting Hill
Hotel Notting Hill
#69 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#54 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,199 reviews
Hotel V Fizeaustraat
#5 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Hotel Asterisk
#148 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel V Frederiksplein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel V Frederiksplein

Property: Hotel V Frederiksplein
Address: Weteringschans 136, 1017 XV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#102 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel V Frederiksplein 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel V Frederiksplein opened in 2008 and is located in the city centre. It has 48 rooms with lots of light and excellent beds. All designed with love and eye for detail. Each room is different and has a compact but comfortable bathroom with powerful rain shower, flat screen tv and free wifi. A complementary breakfast is served each morning in the impressive lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel V Frederiksplein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
v Frederiksplein Hotel
v Frederiksplein Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing