We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel in good location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel V Frederiksplein

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel V Frederiksplein
Ranked #108 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
110 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in good location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

The hotel is nice, probably what is called trendy. Location is really good. The rooms are rather small. Beds are comfy. Breakfast is ok. I had an overall ok stay.
But the rooms are not too clean and not that well maintained (loose parts of the shower faucet falling down, one table lamp tended to fall apart due to a missing screw, no bathmat after the first day). Nothing of that is a catastrophe but it gets annoying, especially when you pay 130 euro per night in a single.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Evelyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    366
    461
    192
    79
    35
See reviews for
71
647
65
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hinsdale, Illinois
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

Great breakfast and friendly staff. The accommodation itself was a bit disappointing, as I booked/paid for a "large" double room, and it was rather tiny. Also, the bathrooms really need ventilation/fans, and better lighting. The shower could have also used a door. Otherwise though, everything was great. The location was excellent - outside of main touristy area, but still very accessible. Despite my previous complaints about the room, it was very clean and the bed was comfortable. I would readily stay here again- especially if I can catch a better price!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clarissa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

Mike W stayed 16/08/2013 - overall disappointing experience given the cost of the hotel it does not merit the price charged . Positive was the excellent location and area , very convenient ,in nice area with tram stop outside and nearby trendy restaurants,bars etc breakfast was good and overall staff very pleasant and helpful , also lobby reception and bar area had good atmosphere from stylish make over .On negative note room was very poor, on second floor at the front so quite noisy from the street,traffic etc ,we did ask to be moved but were told building work and drilling was going next door at the back of the hotel so that would be just as bad , bathroom was tiny and narrow ,sink had no plug so shaving difficult ,shower was tepid to cold and poor pressure , in general would describe room as shabby chic but more shabby than chic,lighting was poor and from female point of view only mirror for make up etc was in the bathroom .only reason to stay again would be location .

Room Tip: try to get a room at the back of the hotel on upper floors , which should be quieter and preferably...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

The hotel is well located in the "museum quarter". You can easily reach out to the most important tourist attractions, either by walking (~ 12 min) or by taking the tram.
The stuff is very friendly and helpful in case you need any kinf of assistance.
Breakfast is nice and I think that there is enough offer for everybody's taste.
The room we had was in the souterrain (which we knew from the beginning). It is quite small, but it was absolutely ok for a weekend. Only some remarks about the cleanness: Obviously, the hotel was build about 5 years ago and accomodates lots of tourists, which leave theirs marks: The bed linen showef some (old) marks, the shower needs a proper, general cleaning and some parts of the wall paper came of. All in all, we were satisfied, but with a lot more intense cleaning and attention the hotel could get better rating.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Conny N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
80 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights. Really liked the location - close to nice bars, shops and restaurants outside of the main touristy areas but with easy transport links to everywhere we needed. Breakfast was pretty good with a lot of choice - we especially liked the fresh bread and croissants. Staff were helpful and gave us lots of information and maps. Free WiFi was good too.

The room was a large double on the first floor at the front. For a large room, it wasn't particularly big (more like a standard in other hotels) but it had everything we needed. The bed was very comfortable and we slept really well. The bathroom was really small though and we also found the room a little dark even with all the lights turned on.

Overall no major complaints and would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WalesTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

The hotel makes you smile as soon as you walk in as you're greeted by a charming bulldog statue.
Checking in was a pleasure as the staff were all very friendly. They were also helpful when it came to the surrounding area. They give you a map of the city on check in and highlight the fun places to go.
The hotel is in such a good location. There is a whole road of posh designer shops and restaurants really close to the hotel and a great market road in the other direction. Just outside the hotel there is a tram stop which has great links to everywhere in Amsterdam. There is also a lush green square which it lovely to relax in if you arrive before check in like we did.
They have one lift in the hotel which just about fits two people and a suitcase. If you have a big suitcase then good luck. The stairs are quite steep but I am rather unfit and I could still tackle them so they can't be all bad.
The rooms are small but I would say perfectly formed. From reading the reviews the main downsides I can see are the smaller, badly heated rooms and the noise. I would agree they are on the small side but we paid extra for a larger room which is definitely worth the few extra pounds.
It did get quite hot in the room and there was no air con so we had to keep the windows open. That in turn led to a noisy night. However it was nothing I couldn't sleep through as there is so much to do in Amsterdam during the day that by the time you get back to the hotel you're ready to sleep through anything!
I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We had a room on the 3rd floor and it was ideal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Nicolaas Witsen Hotel
#151 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#52 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,245 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
The Amsterdam Canal Hotel
The Amsterdam Canal Hotel
#37 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Notting Hill
Hotel Notting Hill
#81 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 894 reviews
Hotel Asterisk
#144 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
#123 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel V Frederiksplein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel V Frederiksplein

Property: Hotel V Frederiksplein
Address: Weteringschans 136, 1017 XV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#102 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel V Frederiksplein 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel V Frederiksplein opened in 2008 and is located in the city centre. It has 48 rooms with lots of light and excellent beds. All designed with love and eye for detail. Each room is different and has a compact but comfortable bathroom with powerful rain shower, flat screen tv and free wifi. A complementary breakfast is served each morning in the impressive lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Despegar.com, HotelsClick and Priceline so you can book your Hotel V Frederiksplein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
v Frederiksplein Hotel
v Frederiksplein Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing