We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, Great People, Room a let down”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel V Frederiksplein
Ranked #109 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
london
1 review
“Great hotel, Great People, Room a let down”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

I recently returned from this hotel, the location is ideal if you dont mind a 10 minute walk each way in the city center. The breakfast was fantastic and staff really helpful and friendly. The only thing was the size of the room we had (very small) and the noise during the night. there was doors slamming and talking during the early hours 1-5am. I would stay again if we could stay in a larger room and was given a room with a better location within the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scottf50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    384
    485
    200
    83
    37
See reviews for
79
678
65
114
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Just got back from staying at this hotel today. What can I say it's only about 5 stops on the tram from central station, the staff are very helpful and nothing is too much trouble for them, free wifi and computers there, continental breakfast included in room rate. My friend and I were not aware of a city centre tax but it was €14 for the weekend. We had maid service on both days. The only thing I would say is if you are bad on your legs do ask for a room in the front bit or on lower floors, our room was in the loft and had very steep stairs upto it. Our room had twin beds, a telly with quite a few English channels, a swinging chair, desk and wardrobe, the bathroom was very posh and we were very impressed. At night I would advise going on the tram to the city centre as we were limited to places to eat near the hotel, if you fancy a toaster the hotel will make it for you. Would definitely go back again

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JennyI2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelv, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel V Frederiksplein, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Hotel V, glad you had a lovely stay! Indeed, if you are ever back and the stairs are a problem, please let us know beforehand and we can certainly put you in a more easily accessible room.
See you again sometime!
Amanda
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

First of all the good--The staff was very nice and helpful, the location is great, the lobby is especially nice. The bad- I expected a small room, but the planning of the room is awful. There was no place to open the suitcase, no shelves and no night stand or shelf next to the bed. If you are traveling with a big suitcase keep this in mind.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank chud14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelv, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel V Frederiksplein, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Hello! Thank you for your review. We know that the rooms could have been set up a little better, but there was little construction that we could do as the building is a monument building. If only we could have torn the building down and started from scratch! (Just kidding, we love this building and would never have done that anyway.)
However, there are larger rooms that can be booked, and then there is more space than in the "small" rooms to spread out. And that is also why we made the lobby so special, because then guests can hang out there and relax.
See you next time!

Amanda
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Overally we had a lovely couple of nights at Hotel V. The staff were really friendly and helpful and the hotel is in a good location (away from the really busy areas, but still walking distance to the centre/ museums and there is a tran stop right outside). The design is attractive with a pleasant bar area where a good breakfast (not the largest choice but fresh and tasty and plentiul) was served. On the downside, in places the hotel looks a little tired- the "wooden wallpaper" in our room was starting to peel and the shower leaked. The mattress was also squeky and our pillows a bit lumpy Everywhere was clean though. For this price it would also have been nice to have more toilettries (no condition or moisturiser, cotton buds or shower cap- all very basic in my mind) and small touches like proper glasses instead of plastic cups in the bathroom. Our room was also TINY but to be far we did only book a standard room so didn't expect it to be huge. Overally I would recommend staying here and felt it was reasonable value

Room Tip: I would avoid the basement rooms and if a decent sized room is important then pay for more than a st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroliney100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelv, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel V Frederiksplein, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time out to review your stay at Hotel V Frederiksplein!
So you know for next time- we do at least have shower caps available at the reception desk (and it is written in the guest folder in each room to remind you). As for glass cups- we tried that. It ended up in lots of broken glass in the rooms! :) So for the safety of our guests we switched to plastic.
And thanks for the tip too!

Amanda
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here as a 20-something couple for a 3 night city break to explore Amsterdam.

The hotel does a lot of things right; helpful, friendly staff; free wifi throughout; decent breakfast included; relaxing, trendy lobby area with free tea and coffee whenever; central location (half way between Rembrandtplein and Museumplein); bicycle hire; iMacs to use in lobby for free (though we didn't use them).

However, all these things seem rudimental if you can't get a good night's sleep. Probably the most important thing you need from any hotel!

We booked a basement room, which we had read was small, but these rooms are literally box-rooms. But that wasn't the issue. They face onto an outside gangway that connects the two buildings of the hotel. On the first night I only slept about 3 hours on and off due to guests and staff walking along the gangway - chatting, smoking, etc. The windows are only single-glazed too so it didn't block the sound well at all. Also, the walls of the rooms are very thin so we could hear our neighbours' entire conversations.

The next morning we asked to move rooms and were upgraded (at a cost of €30) to a standard double on the second floor, facing the main road. This room was much better; huge windows, so very bright; bigger in size; nice view to down the road to the Rijksmuseum. However, it was still flawed as the walls are still thin and it sounded like the guests above we're coming through when they walked about. The tram noise was loud but the double-glazing on these windows helped muffle that.

Overall, a nice hotel that was ruined by failing to provide the only thing that really matters: a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ollie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelv, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel V Frederiksplein, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Hello!
Thank you for taking the time out to write a review of your stay at Hotel V Frederiksplein. Sorry that you didn't have a good night's sleep. Next time give us a shout before you come (stay@hotelv.nl) and we can put you in the back building or a room facing the courtyard, which tend to be a bit quieter. Also, we have complementary earplugs at the reception, because not everyone is used to the sounds of the city. (I don't even think the staff hears it anymore!)

Amanda
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Stayed here for 3 night in April 2013, very quick check in with a very helpful girl on reception. Room was a basement room downstairs, very small but cosy and very clean. However this corridor was very noisy at night due to the main toilets being there and also the service rooms for the staff who talked very loudly. Breakfast was continental and was very nice with a wide selection, also free tea and coffee all day in the hotel. Location was quite a walk from from every where really but there was a tram stop outside hotel (day travel pass 7euros). Overall a really great stay, would come back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Murray2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelv, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel V Frederiksplein, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Hello! So nice to hear that you had a great stay!
Not so nice, however, to hear that you could hear the staff in the hallway! We will have a word with them.

See you next time!
Amanda
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed here for a long weekend in April 2013. We were offered a room upgrade for 10 € a night when we checked in and after a quick look at the 'cosy` junior rooms in the basement we went for it. Our room on the second floor was clean and comfortable and faced a courtyard so was sheltered from street noise. On the Sunday night of our stay there was some 3am drama with local police looking for an ex-hotel guest who'd returned which kept us awake. However the staff handled the situation really well, were apologetic even though it wasn't their fault and gave us a free late checkout. The breakfast is really decent and the always available coffee and tea is a nice touch. Finally, they've got decent free WiFi.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelKittyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelv, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel V Frederiksplein, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Hello! Thank you for your review, so glad that you had a nice stay!
Not so nice that you experienced the disturbance from the ex-guest. As I mentioned to another reviewer, that was quite literally the worst hotel-guest experience we have ever had! Thankfully it is over and behind us, but as an apology we'd love to offer you a free upgrade the next time you are in Amsterdam.
Let us know if you are coming: stay@hotelv.nl

Amanda
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Stadsdeel Zuid
The Amsterdam Canal Hotel
The Amsterdam Canal Hotel
#45 of 368 in Amsterdam
467 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
#111 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,080 reviews
Hotel V Fizeaustraat
#5 of 368 in Amsterdam
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nicolaas Witsen Hotel
#149 of 368 in Amsterdam
397 reviews
Hotel Asterisk
#143 of 368 in Amsterdam
448 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#51 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel V Frederiksplein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel V Frederiksplein

Property: Hotel V Frederiksplein
Address: Weteringschans 136, 1017 XV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#102 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel V Frederiksplein 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel V Frederiksplein opened in 2008 and is located in the city centre. It has 48 rooms with lots of light and excellent beds. All designed with love and eye for detail. Each room is different and has a compact but comfortable bathroom with powerful rain shower, flat screen tv and free wifi. A complementary breakfast is served each morning in the impressive lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel V Frederiksplein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
v Frederiksplein Hotel
v Frederiksplein Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing