We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,337)
Filter reviews
1,337 results
Traveler rating
442
543
219
95
38
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
442
543
219
95
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstram stopcafe kalebasement roomrooms are smallheineken experiencelounge areawalking distancecontinental breakfastbigger roomtop floorcold meatsdam squarecentral stationboutique hotelbreakfast was excellentstayed here for nightsboiled eggs
Filter
Updating list...
600 - 605 of 1,337 reviews
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Its a fair walk from Centraal Station but if you're unfit then get a taxi! Once we arrived the exterior, lobby and reception area were lovely, very cool looking. Check in went smoothly and our room was down the scary amsterdam steep staircase haha, but as most people should know all staircases in amsterdam are very steep!

Our room was in the souterrain, a double. It was very small but nothing less than what we needed. Nice little shower room and tv in room. It was perfect for our 3 day stay as all we needed was a nice comfy bed to sleep in.

Sometimes there could be noise from people walking down the stairs but nothing to keep you up at night. Spent most of our time out and about so really was a place to grab breakfast in the morning and come home to sleep. Would definitely book again if price was the same. :)

Four of us went as two couples and got double rooms each.

Reception staff were lovely and really helpful for directions. Breakfast was very european (croissants, cereal, breads, etc) but lovely as it was included.

It is just on the edge of the central area, probably a 10min walk to dam square. Very good location in a quiet area.

Room Tip: if you can afford to, id probably get a room upstairs. nothing wrong with the souterrain but would be nice to have windows and probably no one walking above your head!
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Squeezychanel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

I stayed at the Hotel V twice in the last fortnight. It was recommended in my guide book and I found it to be reasonably priced, I booked online and got a single room (double room for 1 person) for 65 euro some nights and 75 euro other nights. It's located in a great spot, on a quiet street but very close to the beautiful Utrechtstraat which has loads of lovely shops and restaurants. It has free Wifi and the cost of your stay includes a breakfast and unlimited coffees and teas from the bar throughout your stay. Lattes/Cappucinos are also free of charge and they have a selection of teas available as well. The rooms are very chic, done in black and silver. I was upgraded as well without even asking. They also held onto my luggage (a bike box) for a few days after I left for me as well as I had nowhere to store it, and they didn't charge for this either. Overall I was really happy and woudl highly recommend this as a place to stay if you're coming to Amsterdam for the weekend!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gracebabes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Lovely hotel within easy reach of most places in Amsterdam. There is a tram stop across the street that takes you around the city or there are plenty of places within walking distance. We had an extra large room which isn't huge but big enough for all we wanted. The most important thing for me that the bed was a proper king size and very comfy. The staff were very friendly but not imposing and they serve excellent free fresh coffee throughout the day. Breakfast was delicious with something for everyone (or a lot for one person if you can't decide!). We stayed on one of the higher floors at the back of the building and had no problem with noise. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Double check the room descitption so you know what to expect. The rooms are small, but all you need.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Hidden gem in the centre of Amsterdam. The nice lounge with open fireplace, the free (good!) coffee, tea, breakfast and wifi make this hotel an excellent choice. The rooms are nice and the beds are super comfortable.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank delauny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

There are not massive amounts of hotels in Amsterdam and they can be very expensive or very shabby. This hotel ticked many boxes; just off the main areas, on about 3 different tram lines, free breakfast, good shower, heated floors, friendly staff, stylish.
Alas when we booked there were only the basement rooms available which does say when you book there is not much light. The size is vvvv small though, fine if your by yourself and but not the best for two of you. We managed though and mainly used the place as a base. The room could have done with a good deep clean though, very dusty and some of the skirting boards were
coming away, minor issues though.
I would recommend this hotel.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank thegreatbearontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews