We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“We were showered with "free" upon arrival.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel V Frederiksplein

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel V Frederiksplein
Ranked #112 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“We were showered with "free" upon arrival.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

About an hour into our return to Amsterdam, we were sitting in the lobby of Hotel V with a free cappuccino, surfing free wi-fi after settling into our upgraded room. It was a lovely start. The rooms are small, but certainly doable for a few days. We had a second floor room, so there was a nice view of a little courtyard. The design of the hotel is very modern and chic. We were tired of the breakfast by the third day, but it was nice to have the option (cold meats, bread, jams, tea, coffee, juice, etc.).

Overall we really enjoyed Hotel V. The location (right off a tram stop) is not far from the city center but far enough to leave the hustle and bustle. Highly recommend Hotel V. I wish they had them all over the world!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lea W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,019 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    318
    421
    171
    77
    32
See reviews for
62
569
61
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Stayed for 5 nights as this ultra stylish hotel - nice staff and great location. It's far from the hustle and bustle of the centre, but not too far to walk into or home from Damrak. Very clean and the staff will make you tea or coffee anytime.

Perfect for couples who are in Amsterdam for a nice time and looking to avoid stag do's and lager louts etc! We will be returning next year...

One thing i would advise is go for a larger room. We had the smallest available and it was cramped and incredibly hot... but i can't complain, because alot of reviews did say "get a bigger room!"

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank deeevolution
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

pros - great location, cool bar and lobby, clean rooms. chose the hotel for price, location and the fact that breakfast was included in the rate.
Cons - rooms are small but that's what you expect of amsterdam. room wasn't cleaned each day - not sure if this is usual for a 3 star hotel. often our towels weren't replaced and when i rang to get some from the front desk i was told on two occasions that there was only one person on duty so i'd have to come and get them myself. the room came with a free bottle of prosecco - but when we called to get it brought up i was promptly told that it was a 3 star hotel that didn't offer room service and to come and get it myself. the breakfast was fine - pretty stock standard, however i was really disappointed with the crockery - sounds odd but literally every bowl and plate had multiple massive chips - not a good look!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StrawberryNZ_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon. Having read previous reviews (after booking) I was concerned the room would be small and noisy and the staff unhelpful. I therefore contacted the hotel and addressed my concerns with them explaining that this was our honeymoon and that my husband is a large rugby player. When we arrived the staff could not have been more lovely. We had been put into the largest room the hotel had to offer, which also had a small balcony. The room was more than adequate for our needs. The bed was very comfortable, the noise minimal and the ensuite adequate. If I had one minor issue that would be the bulb in the light over the bed could have been more powerful. But this was minor. Although not in the centre of the main areas of Amsterdam the tram stops right outside the hotel and is very easy to use and access the tourist spots from. Our whole stay was wonderful and I would most certainly recommend the hotel to anyone staying in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Last week i stayed at this hotel. I paid 170 euro for a double bedroom with my friend. Elevator didnt reach our floor so we had to take the stairs between 2nd and 3rd floor. The room was approx two meter wide and 3 m long. You couldnt walk around the bed without hitting the sade that was on the floor, and definitely you could not move together in the same room at the same time. Instead of a proper drawer or closet they had put a nylon one.

Bathroom: mirror was on chest level (i am 178cm). Showerhead was attached to wall do you couldnt shower without getting your hair wet....

Breakfast: not enough tables do people sat in the lobby on so called tree trunks. Each were 40 cm high so if you are tall you sit with your head between your ears.

I am a frequent traveller but this hotel is not worth your money. 170 euro..... I would give 90 euro at the most.....
Nh hotels are better quality for your money and the rooms are much bigger. Was very disappointed. We had room 402. Make sure you dont get this room. Also there was no airconditioning while this room was under the roof.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anneliesaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Nicolaas Witsen Hotel
#115 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 338 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#45 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,149 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Notting Hill
Hotel Notting Hill
#66 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stadsdeel Zuid
The Amsterdam Canal Hotel
The Amsterdam Canal Hotel
#90 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 294 reviews
Hotel Asterisk
#148 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 366 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel V Nesplein
Hotel V Nesplein
#13 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel V Frederiksplein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel V Frederiksplein

Property: Hotel V Frederiksplein
Address: Weteringschans 136, 1017 XV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#104 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel V Frederiksplein 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel V Frederiksplein opened in 2008 and is located in the city centre. It has 48 rooms with lots of light and excellent beds. All designed with love and eye for detail. Each room is different and has a compact but comfortable bathroom with powerful rain shower, flat screen tv and free wifi. A complementary breakfast is served each morning in the impressive lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel V Frederiksplein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
v Frederiksplein Hotel
v Frederiksplein Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing