We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Loved it :)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel V Frederiksplein

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel V Frederiksplein
Ranked #116 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Loved it :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

Me and my boyfriend have just come back from Amsterdam and we stayed here for 3 nights. You couldnt ask for a better hotel, the staff are all lovely, the hotel is very modern and decorated really nice. There's a tram station literally right outside the hotel and all you need to do is catch tram number 4 or 25 to go to Dam Square (where all the main attractions are). The trams also run every 10 minutes so you couldnt miss a tram if you tried to.
We were based in the basement of the hotel and after reading the other reviews of how small the rooms were, they are small but if your like us and not botherd about the room size and you just need a bed to sleep in then thats all that matters, But if your willing to pay extra just to get a bigger room then i would advise you to do that. Next time we are visiting the hotel we are going to get a bigger room only because it would be nice just get a bit of leg room and to walk about the room a lot more.
All in all a really nice hotel, i couldnt fault it at all. We will be definetly staying here next time we visti Amsterdam :)

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank katie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,034 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    322
    427
    175
    77
    33
See reviews for
64
580
61
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

V (the actual name of the hotel - Fredericksplein is just the location) is located south of the city center, 30 minutes walking or 10 minutes from the metro station. The location is a fairly quiet neighborhood only 10 minutes walking to the museums (Rijks and Van Gogh). The first thing you notice is how good the staff is. Everyone was young, spoke fluent english, and were very helpful and nice. the lobby is very nice looking - large windows overlooking the street, modern architecture, and a nice fireplace. They offer free coffee/tea/hot chocolate at any time. The free breakfast down here was also very nice. Our room was nice - although probably the smallest of any we stayed in in Europe. As other reviewers have noted, not a big deal if you spend most of your time sightseeing. Overall a good value for our money and we would recommend this hotel highly.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnJurik1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MANCHESTER UK
Level Contributor
70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

We have just returned from Amsterdam and stayed at Hotel V Frederiksplein for 3 nights, the welcome was wonderful, the staff were excellent, the room was a double on the first floor and was to a very high standard of decorationand furnishings, The room was very clean and we were provided with all you could need for a stay, there was a room safe included in the price of the room.
The only negative we could say was the lack of room for your clothes and belongings, but this didnt cause any problems and we just accepted it.
There are hot drinks available in the price of your room and breakfast, which consisted of eggs, meats assorted cheeses, cereals, assorted bread, preserves and assortment of drinks hot and cold, fresh fruit and yoghurts. All the staff were extremley helpful and very polite, everything was wonderful and this helped us to have a wonderful 3 night stay in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lancslads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

We stayed in this hotel for a weekend in Amsterdam in April 2010. The hotel is a little gem and everything you need for a good weekend away.

The hotel is about 30-40 minutes walk from the Central station or about a 5 minute tram ride. We walked to get our bearings of the City. Although the hotel is not right in the centre, this is good for sleep quality, the road is very quiet in the evening which is good considering the nightlife in the City.

The rooms were quite small but perfectly formed making use of all available space (wall mounted TV). We had a shower room which was lovely and very stylish. The bed was very comfortable.

There is not tea or coffee facilities, but you could get these free from the bar downstairs. A little annoying if you do not want to leave the room, but the quality of the coffee is better as they have a proper machine and don't use instant.....it just depends what your preference is, convenience or quality?

A continental breakfast was included and the selection was very good indeed. A brilliant way to start your days activities!

The bar was quite cool although pretty quiet when we went. It was great for a first drink before going out on the town, the bar staff were very chatty and really helpful.

When you are in Amsterdam check out Harrys Bar. Top quality cocktails and free nibbles, there is a great vibe and we spent quite a long time there.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

I was there during IBC (September, 2011). It's always a problem to book a room for this time, so I used RAI Hotel & Travel Service to book it in advance. The hotel located approx. in the middle between city center and RAI, so location is quite convenient. Room was very small (as usual in Amsterdam), in the second building, no lift. But it was quite comfortable room, with view to quiet garden and soft & big bed. Typical breakfast, very friendly staff. Just a couple of small disadvantages: no any desk in the room (even small one, take a laptop stand if you're going to work in bed) and very minimalistic storage.

Room Tip: Choose rooms in the second building if staircase is not a problem for you. It's quieter place (t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dmitry_Ivanov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

I stayed at Hotel V for 3 nights recently during my first visit to Amsterdam. I scoured reviews and web sites looking for the perfect place to stay that also fit my aesthetic tastes and price range. Hotel V was the best option based on my parameters. It has a really lovely, modern, chic vibe and look. The staff are also so warm and wonderful with their assistance from dinner remmendations to ticket reservations. The location is perfect-- accessible to everything, especially by tram, which is right in front!-- and not too close to the busy tourist center for a tourist who likes to be away from the bustle moderately so. The breakfast and service are great; and the free coffee, cappuccino, and tea throughout the day is a wonderful touch. Now, to the room... I stayed in a double on the fourth floor to which you must take the stairs after taking the small lift to the third floor. It felt like a nestled attic or loft space, tastefully designed, BUT as most reviews have said, the rooms are small. As a solo traveler, that was bearable. However, I was displeased that there is no place for suitcases, which must lie on the floor; and the low (poor) lighting, which makes it difficult to see, especially in the bathroom; and the lack of a shower enclosure to a nicely tiled rainshower that gets the floor really wet. I was mopping (with extra towels) after each shower and tracking water into the bedroom- no fun. The windows could also use screens to keep mosquitoes at bay after the near daily rain that one can experience in AMS. So these are just areas for improvement, in my opinion. I really liked the hotel, its location, and vibe; I'm less superlative about the certain (key) aspects of the room- hence my review title. Next time I might try another place but I'd still consider Hotel V.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Prudala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

The hotel rooms are very small but very clean and neat. If you are going to Amsterdam to sit in a hotel room I wouldn’t recommend this one, but if you are going to use it just to sleep and rest then you’ve found the right place for a reasonable price. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The breakfast is amazing (don’t expect fried bacon as this is not America), everything is fresh and there are many dishes to choose from. If you don't mind walking, it's about 30 min to get to the city center. Would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoveDziuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Nicolaas Witsen Hotel
#135 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 343 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#48 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,168 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Notting Hill
Hotel Notting Hill
#65 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stadsdeel Zuid
The Amsterdam Canal Hotel
The Amsterdam Canal Hotel
#81 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 306 reviews
Hotel Asterisk
#148 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 381 reviews
Amsterdam Tropen Hotel
#131 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel V Frederiksplein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel V Frederiksplein

Property: Hotel V Frederiksplein
Address: Weteringschans 136, 1017 XV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#104 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel V Frederiksplein 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel V Frederiksplein opened in 2008 and is located in the city centre. It has 48 rooms with lots of light and excellent beds. All designed with love and eye for detail. Each room is different and has a compact but comfortable bathroom with powerful rain shower, flat screen tv and free wifi. A complementary breakfast is served each morning in the impressive lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel V Frederiksplein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
v Frederiksplein Hotel
v Frederiksplein Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing