We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the hotel staff was very nice!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel V Frederiksplein
Ranked #109 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Manila, Philippines
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“the hotel staff was very nice!”
Reviewed September 10, 2011

The room we stayed in was very small. We could hardly move about with out luggage BUT the bathroom was spacious which is a definite plus for me. The sheets and pillows were clean and nice-smelling and we slept very well. The hotel staff were very very friendly and helpful. Its a very hip hotel. The metro is right in front of the hotel so moving about is no problem. Elevator is limited though -- it only goes up to the 2nd floor.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bougainvillababe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    381
    481
    199
    83
    36
See reviews for
77
674
65
114
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
rhodos greece
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2011

This was my fourth visit to Amsterdam,a short one actually because it was just for one stay during a visit to Germany and Holland.
Hotel V is just what I like.Ellegant ,clean rooms,good location (right opposite the tram stop,close enough to walk and explore around but more quiet than centrally located hotels),excellent breakfast(had plenty of choice, good quality ),the lobby area is very nice to relax (I imagine that is better winter times with the fireplace in the middle).
The only complaint is that the rooms are really very small and more hanging space needed in bedroom (no wardrobe) If you like more spacious rooms book a 'large' room (we were there with no luggages at all ,so we booked the most inexpensive room). Staff very friendly and helpful (hotel offers the most design map of Amsterdam I 've seen-with black and gold design). Afterall I believe is good value for money . Recommended.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rhodos34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2011

This hotel was great all around. The service started off at the top and never let up. The warm atmosphere of the lobby area was a great place to relax and unwind. The rooms were clean and attractive. The breakfast was very full and well prepared. We would stay here again and highly recommend it to travelers to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gregcmorley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2011

Me and 8 friends rode to the hotel from Central station on our hired pushbikes from Mikes bikes behind the train station. Journey took around 20 minutes
situated in a nice part of Amsterdam away from the tourist trap areas
Hotel looks very funky from the outside we were able to check in early
The only compalint i have is the rooms really very small - could hardly swing a cat!
And was very stingy with the shower gell soap etc - Had 2 small tubes but these ran out and were not replaced the next day.
Breakfast was nice and fresh rolls,cereals, ham, eggs tea/coffer fresh juice all for around £100 per night !! Very good as i have friends who have paid £150 for 2 star hotels
Yep if we came again wed stay here - oh forgot to say free hot drinks during ur stay!!
Beer prices were around £3 for a bottle of heineken - very good seen as they are £5 in Dam square area oh and my freind said their was happy hour 6-7 half price drinks!! but i cant confirm as were not at the hotel at the time.
Great stay thou - very happy !!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frogforbez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2011

My husband and I booked this hotel last minute for a weekend away. We stayed in a small double room, which was small, but actually the size didn't cause any problem. The bathroom was modern and clean and the bed was so comfortable I had to set an alarm each day to stop us sleeping in!

We found the staff really helpful, the breakfast great and the free tea, coffee and hot chocolate at the bar a nice touch.

The location was good too, right opposite the tram stop. We were close enough to walk to the busy spots, but far enough away to benefit from the quiet surroundings.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GinnyNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2011

We stayed here for five nights during the last week of July. While there were some positives, overall this hotel was disappointing and we cannot recommend. We were in a large room (there are both smaller and larger ones available) but it was still absurdly small. This is not our first rodeo in Europe so room size is not a surprise to us. The room had no drawers for storage or even a place for your luggage unless you count the floor as a storage area. The bathroom was even more of a joke. When you bend over the tiny sink to brush your teeth and your butt hits the wall behind you, the design is flawed. The room design consisted of black and white with the feature being full length black wool curtains- just plain ugly. Wireless was spotty, elevator was tiny and the staff not always helpful ("why do you want to go there?" in response to one request for directions to the world's largest flower auction), although they were always pleasant and there was one fellow who did help with our safe and provided the directions we needed.
The hotel was clean and breakfast very nice, with a tram stop right outside. Still, find another place.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveLIsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tromso, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2011

The XL Double room was spacious, beautiful, new, and very clean. The bed was wonderful! I liked the lighting, it made the room look bigger and gave it a romantic feel. The toilet and the shower were actually in two seperate rooms. The lift didn't go all the way upstairs, so we ended up carrying our bags for the last floor.

The lobby looked inviting and the receptionists were nice.

The breakfast was OK; continental breakfast.

The location is the only drawback. If you're going on a romantic holiday like us and don't mind the 10 minute walk it is OK (and there are shops and restaurants on the way to the city), but we never came back to the hotel during the day to rest our feet because of the distance. There is a busstop right outside the hotel, but we never used public transportation while in Amsterdam.

If I went back it would have to be with a partner. If I went with a girlfriend or larger family I would definitely want to stay closer to the city. All in all though this was a very pleasant stay and we loved the room which was very different from any other room we've slept in.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LouiseHenkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Stadsdeel Zuid
The Amsterdam Canal Hotel
The Amsterdam Canal Hotel
#36 of 367 in Amsterdam
457 reviews
Nicolaas Witsen Hotel
#146 of 367 in Amsterdam
394 reviews
Hotel Asterisk
#145 of 367 in Amsterdam
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#51 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,303 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
#117 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,058 reviews
Hotel V Fizeaustraat
#5 of 367 in Amsterdam
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel V Frederiksplein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel V Frederiksplein

Property: Hotel V Frederiksplein
Address: Weteringschans 136, 1017 XV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#102 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel V Frederiksplein 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel V Frederiksplein opened in 2008 and is located in the city centre. It has 48 rooms with lots of light and excellent beds. All designed with love and eye for detail. Each room is different and has a compact but comfortable bathroom with powerful rain shower, flat screen tv and free wifi. A complementary breakfast is served each morning in the impressive lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel V Frederiksplein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
v Frederiksplein Hotel
v Frederiksplein Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing