We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great find”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cafe De Prins

Cafe De Prins
Reserve with
Cafe De Prins is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #263 of 3,753 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Dutch, Bar, Cafe, European, Pub, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Drinks, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Jordaan
Cheshire
Level Contributor
136 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“great find”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014

we wanted somewhere alongside the canal, not too pricey and a vegetarian choice that was not pasta and were lucky enough to find this place.
Great service, good food - I had the vegetrian wrap with bombay potatoes! lovely.
fab place to watch the world go by and the view down to the Westerkerk is lovely

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnnieH011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    193
    38
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Horsham, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
135 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Excellent local spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

Our tour guide sent us here and was spot on. According to him, it's one of the few places the locals will go that's near the Anne Frank house. The food was excellent and the service friendly.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jedg86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Try their tapas & free wi-fi”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

Their vegetable spring roll and biterballen was delicious! You look at the bitterballen and it looks like a fried meatball, but when you bite into it the inside is surprisingly creamy and flavorful. The spring roll had rice noodles in it along with some vegetables. Free wifi inside too!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank chicaJica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“There's a reason this is a household name in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014

We had an hour or so before our allotted time to visit the Anne Frank House. So we decided to grab a cold drink since the day was so hot, at this cafe opposite. The hostel we were staying at recommended it and we were delighted with the service we received. I attempted some poor Dutch at best when first entering, to be polite, and sure enough this was well received, despite the fact it was clear I was English. The bar staff were very friendly and good humoured, I felt as if I was a guest in their home.

We sat outside with our cold drinks, next to the canal (a must if the weather is nice) and just soaked up the beauty of the location, the aromas and the culture of Amsterdam. The draft Heineken was great, very reasonably priced as well. Would love to return one day to try the food.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hollie and Soph... H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
148 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Beautiful low-key canal-side dining”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

A perfect lunch spot after visiting Anne Frank's House across the canal. Great, fresh delicious food, nice staff, relaxed service. We enjoyed the smoked salmon sandwich, caprese pasta, tomato soup, etc.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank NRMomof4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe De Prins also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Cafe De Prins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing