We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Quite nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Peru

Casa Peru
Leidsegracht 68, 1016 CP Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Canal Ring (Grachtengordel))
020-6203749
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #873 of 3,335 Restaurants in Amsterdam
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Lakeville, MN
Level Contributor
61 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Quite nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Great little Peruvian fusion restaurant. We had a bunch of appetizers. They were all quite nice. Service very good.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bzulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    44
    22
    5
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good food and nice staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We were a group of four and we decided to share four different main dishes in order to try different things. Everything was very tasty and well plated ( for Peruvian food) and the staff was very friendly and helpful. I recommend it and I will go back again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank welsh80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A disaster”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We went for the restaurant week. Very bad service, very bad food, very expensive. I wrote a bad review an the restaurant manager called me to insult me in a very rude way. A disaster.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank alex a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great food,very friendly place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

My husband and i,ate here on the 3rd night of our trip,having eaten at another peruvian resteraunt the night before,we decided to try them both out.
Our waiter was a laugh a minute which was nice,he was really friendly and attentive and took the time to explain each dish and recommend something to us,the place wasnt too busy as it was relatively early,so service was prompt and efficient.
I had the 3 hour roasted pork,which was covered in a slightly spicy finely chopped salad of red onion coriander and red bell pepper,and served with a small portion of pepper sauce,which is extremely powerful,so proceed with caution even if you are a veteran chili/spicy food fan,those Aji chilies are way hotter than the average habanero!!
My husband had a chicken and rice dish which although it was very pleasant,it was a touch on the bland side,but he loved it as he doesnt do spicy food!
The desserts are superb,i had the lemon tart,and my husband had the chocolate tart,delicious.
Or meal for two with drinks cost 48 euro,so considering the portion sizes (which were somewhat smaller than the first peruvian resteraunt we ate at )this is a bit overpriced,but nevertheless we enjoyed every mouthful,and would recommend others to eat here!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeni R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great flavor!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We found this restaurant while walking the canals and put it on our short list to return for a meal. We love Peruvian food and whether it is authentic or not, it lived up to our expectations of flavorful food. Service was leisurely which we appreciated as we sat by the canal, enjoying the sites of boats on evening cruises and of people-watching as the bikes, cars, and pedestrians negotiated the street. The Pisco Sour was better than most. A bit high priced, but with the entertainment value of the location, worth it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BayView20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Peru also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Casa Peru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing