We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, great prices”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Place - CLOSED

La Place
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Dutch, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Buffet, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Centrum
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good food, great prices”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Lovely place for lunch with something for everyone. Is laid out like an indoor market, self service. Fresh and tasty produce. Everything from sandwiches to hot food!! We went here four days in a row during our visit to Amsterdam!! Recommend the cakes too very good and reasonably priced. Defo worth a visit

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 115foodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

569 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    253
    240
    47
    16
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“great choice / variety - but don't go to the toilet”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

The choice of meal is immense, you choose your meat (or fish etc) and they cook it for you....but we were appalled that having eaten and drunk in the restaurant one is expected to PAY to use the (only ) toilet in the building. When we queried this with the staff we were told that the cloakroom attendant had "rented" the toilet and ran it "as a business" ???? No other restaurant seemed to expect paying customers to pay to use their toilet??!!??

So our opinion is that whilst the food is good ... and well priced .... the "toilet thing" rather put a dampner on it

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Niceophile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Briey, France
Level Contributor
62 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“A good stopping place in kalverstraat”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

In our habit, dice that we arrive to Amsterdam, we take a light lunch on La Place, we take some sandwiches with chicken, and salmon with a fresh orange juice.Simply but good.A pleasant rite. A single problem, a lot of people.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank frederic w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great place to lunch”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This is a great place to get great selection of food at reasonable prices. It does get incredibly busy around 1pm so go either bit early or later - but this only shows that the food is good. Huge selection of freshly prepared meals from soup to vietnamese to coffee and cake. Also great place to people watch! We go regularly when in Amsterdam - definitely recommend.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jacquie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
267 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
“Fun Concept”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

This is a good place for an energetic lunch, you will have little time to sit and eat after standing in queues and looking for a seating place and the food is a little expensive. But, I like the place because it’s worth it for the choice of fresh food and the buzzing atmosphere. There are plenty of healthy salad options, smoothies, pastas and more for the health conscious but also plenty of fried food for others.

This place also has a great location near the Flower Market so if you are out shopping it’s a convenient and fun stop off. You will have to queue at peak times but service is generally fast. There is a nominal charge for using the toilet.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MaffUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Place also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing