We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great restaurant on a beautiful canal”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Land van Walem

Land van Walem
Reserve with
Land van Walem is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,713 of 3,753 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Dutch, Bar, European, Cafe, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Montville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great restaurant on a beautiful canal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2012

My husband and I had lunch in Walem twice while in Amsterdam this May. It is located on the Keizergracht canal which is just lovely. There is outdoor service overlooking the canal as well as beautiful gardens.Service was good and we enjoyed our lunch. Croque Monsieur as good as any I had in Paris. Nice wines. Everyone seemed to be enjoying themselves. Waitstaff were very friendly and chefs worked extremely hard. A great place to stop and enjoy.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    48
    23
    9
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
221 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“home from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

Ate here 3 times , just felt so comfortable , great choices on menu [ I am veggy] and really fun friendly staff , plus the cat sat on my knee . At lunch time the open sandwiches and chips do the trick and in evening really recommend the goats cheese salad , with parsnip and cranberry and pumpkin , really different . Didnt manage to get table out in sun , would have to go early for that .

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank claire m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
439 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“Great place for a meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2012

Recommended by our hotel and I can understand why. It may not be 5 star, but we aren't complaining. It is a spacious cafe style restaurant on the canal where one is welcomed on arrival, something we found quite common in Amsterdam. Very friendly, attentive and helpful staff. Choices available on menu are limited, but what is there is good. For entrees, the tomato soup (large bowl) and vegetable croquettes are delightful. The mains were really very well presented. Whilst not great fan of duck, the duck breast was wonderful as was my wife's pasta of the day - with duck. Didn't recognise any of the wines so ordered a bottle of the house red which was very good - the Syrah or something, it had the number 18 on the label. We enjoyed it so much we went back the next day, where I had the steak which was also very good and tasty, although not as nice as the duck.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ronp1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“the best hamburger”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2012

If you like hamburger, I absolutely recommend you to visit Walem! They offer the best hamburger in Amsterdam. The interior is nice and if the weather is sunny, you can enjoy the outdoor lunch with the view to canal . If you will freeze, the waiters politely will offer to you the blanket

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank morenaMoscow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Delicious, good value breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2011

We went there for breakfast on a recent weekend away.

We were greeted by a lovely waitress who brought us English menus when it was obvious we were struggling with Dutch. We ordered two of the complete breakfasts (10 euros for eggs, toast, croissant, fresh orange juice and coffee) and asked for some bacon on the side (crispy and delicious). The bacon was not added to our bill and when we questioned it we were told that they wouldn't charge for small variations. Amazing!

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mp6283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Land van Walem also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Land van Walem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing