We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good service, food and delicious!”
Review of Brasserie Bark

Brasserie Bark
Reserve with
Brasserie Bark is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #519 of 3,853 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $27
Cuisines: Seafood, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Description: Inspired by the characteristic brasseries in Brussels and Paris, Brasserie Bark is a lively seafood restaurant in Amsterdam's museum quarter. On the menu you'll find an assortment of fish and seafood dishes, from oysters to lobster, salmon to sole and even swordfish. The house speciality is the 'fruits de mer', an impressive selection of shellfish served over ice. The restaurant takes particular pride in only using fresh produce, which means that the menu changes 5-6 times a year, according to the season. Rather unusually for a restaurant in Amsterdam, Brasserie Bark stays open until midnight, so whether you are going for an informal dinner or business meeting, time need not be an issue.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
118 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Very good service, food and delicious!”
Reviewed June 3, 2014

The dinner we had here was very good quality and the service very attentive. We were very happy with the wine list as well. Everything was delicious, the service was attentive (not common in Amsterdam) and friendly. I would definitely recommend and will return as I live in Amsterdam.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carole A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    101
    35
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
73 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Delightful Dining Near the Museums”
Reviewed May 26, 2014

For us, a real test of a restaurant is what they do for our vegan daughter. Brasserie Bark - primarily a seafood restaurant - made her a lovely dinner of perfectly cooked as well as raw vegetables beautifully presented. My husband and I had salmon in a butter sauce and gorgeous white asparagus. Service was excellent, and the decor very pleasant. If you are staying in the Museum Quarter we highly recommend a meal here.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NancyJBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delicious fish restaurant!”
Reviewed May 25, 2014

Everything was delicious and beautifully plated!
Friendly and efficient staff too even when restaurant was crowded..

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sharoneve07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent fish restaurant near Concertgebouw”
Reviewed May 14, 2014

We have been visiting Bark for a long time and love everything about it. The excellent waitresses serve superb fresh fish, seafood platters, oysters, etc. Meat is also on the menu. Enjoy delicious desserts and lovely wines to match. If you go to a concert in the Amsterdam Concert Hall (Concertgebouw), it's only a short walk to Bark for dinner. They are also open for lunch. If one of your party is not very mobile, a good thing about Bark is that there are only two very low steps to get inside, then you can have a table in the lower dining area.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Hickory, Tennessee
Level Contributor
292 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Fantastic meal!”
Reviewed May 4, 2014

We enjoyed a spectacular dinner. I had perch with lemon-dill sauce, a small side salad, tiny potatoes and sautéed green beans. Another in our group had hake (merluza) and the husbands had cod with mustard sauce. Two of us had a superb fruits of the forest tart while one had almond Bavarian cream with macaroons on top and another had Bavarian cream with caramel. It was a wonderful two hour meal with elegant presentation and excellent service.





Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank GwensGramma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brasserie Bark also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Brasserie Bark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing