We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Bond never fails to impress” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bond - CLOSED

Bond
Price range: $28 - $33
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Vondelpark
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Bond never fails to impress”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

I took my extended family - eight adults - to dinner at Bond last night. It was a special occasion, marking our reunion to celebrate my Dad's 75th and my parent's 50th. I spoke with Koen, the restaurant manager, ahead of time and he presented a fantastic meal. We have eaten here several times and the chef and Koen never fail to surprise and impress us. Last night we enjoyed light starters followed by the most delicious salmon I have ever tasted. It was raw, marinated and then topped with a tandoori crust. The flavors just exploded in your mouth - I've never had anything like it. Shrimp and breen in a lobster bisque followed and then Dutch beef. The dessert was mocha semi-freddo and chocolate. The entire meal was absolutely fantastic. Koen had carefully matched different wines with each course and the combinations were brilliant. He even organized for some sparklers during dessert. Throughout Koen's service was attentive, funny and sincere. He even remembered which wines my Dad had ordered when we ate here last April. Wow. When my husband arrived at dessert because of a late meeting and then cancelled trains, Koen asked the chef to quickly whip up a main course for him. Bond has terrific food and amazing service; we will return again and again.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jabula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    23
    7
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Overpriced and disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant looks lovely. The decor is stylish and the menu looks promising. We went for the four-course surprise menu ... Definitely a mistake judging by all the good reviews here. Our first course was described as house marinated salmon and was horrible ... Tasted like a curry wurst sauce. Lobster soup as a second course was lovely but spoiled by the bits of raw tuna floating in it. I quite enjoyed the duck in an orange sauce which almost too subtle ,but it was unremarkable. All in all, ended up wishing we'd gone somewhere else.

Helpful?
1 Thank musotraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Culinary Delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Had a night booked at the Apollolaan Hilton and needed a dinner spot within easy walking distance of the hotel. Bond surpassed our expectations of a neighborhood bistro! Menu offered several nice options: beef, duck, fish, etc. Ordered the three-course menu and was pleasantly surprised: a lovely salmon appetizer, an exquisite wild duck main, and a stylish dessert of olive-oil gelato and chocolate torte. Wine and service was also outstanding. Dining room was comfortable and relaxed. All in all a superb evening.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank OhioGirl808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Memorable, brave approach to dishes, expertly done”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Had a three-course meal here. Salmon starter that was an incredible work of visual and taste art, it really was just incredible.

Rest of meal was top quality (beef loin entree) and again expert prepared, but not really memorable like the starter.

Service was average for Europe, no complaints, very friendly, a tad slow on the wine/drinks, but we did have a big group.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
63 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Bond could be easily better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

A bit of a surprise to find this reataurant in Valerius Street, not quite in the Center of Amsterdam. Terrace was lovely, with good atmosphere on a good Autumn night and inside there is a good mix of congeniality with the modern furniture which is hard to accomplish normally.
We were with a big group of eight people and there were of course a lot of different comments. Most people really liked what they ate, some just loved it, but to the opinion of most of us we had some slight setbacks that made 4 stars not just the reflection of what we had. The details were minor but on the whole of it, it did influence us to give Bond a 3 star and not a four star.
- we thought that the service was hasty and confusing, when all wanted something to drink the lady was too hasty to conclude things which ended up in her walking three times in stead of once. We understand that she was probably the only person serving, but the consequence is that you just cannot serve the entire restaurant well.
- When you get served a steak tartare it is imperative that you either serve toast or bread or fries with it. When there was only a thumb-like piece of toast because the restaurant ran out of bread, you should automatically serve fries. They came as an afterhought when we asked and were not half as well fried as the fries the others had from the start. I fear to think further about them.
- Three or four of us had the oysters and we all thought they were not fresh. Of course it was a Saturday?
So our conclusion is that the restaurant can easily remedy the details to end up with a four star next time.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HermesseJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bond also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing