We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely steak”
Review of Alberto's la Forge

Alberto's la Forge
Ranked #646 of 3,900 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $47
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Stadsdeel Zuid
Description: Best uruguayan steakhouse in Amsterdam, top quality meat, large selection of wines, excellent service and a great atmosphere. In winter time a cosy fireplace and in summer time a lively terrace. Open 7 days a week, from 17:00 - 23:00
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Lovely steak”
Reviewed May 1, 2014

We come across this restaurant as we were walking through Leidsedwarsstraat we looked inside and met someone who was leaving and said how good it was so that made us try this restaurant and we agree the steak was cooked to perfection and very succulent. We had the offer menu which was on display out side and a lovely bottle of red wine it was a great price and the staff were friendly and efficient. You can always tell a good restaurant when a lot of the customers are returning and this was the case in here. There is so much choice in Amsterdam but I would recommend this place.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OXONJOHN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    72
    15
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Watch for extra charges!”
Reviewed April 29, 2014

We had the specials written up on the blackboards outside, spare ribs for me, steak for her. Both were amply sized, but not excessive, cooked just right and very tasty. However, being charged €2.50 for a dab of mustard to go with the steak, just because it was classified in the menu as an additional sauce option, really took the gloss off the meal. Would certainly eat here agin, but just be prepared.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sherwd12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
731 reviews
336 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
“Friendly people and good food”
Reviewed March 12, 2014

I was pleasantly surprised about this restaurant. The service was friendly and I ordered the mixed grill. This was a lot of food, which also was of good quality. I really had a good dinner here! A photo of my course is included.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FORZA7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great meal and service”
Reviewed February 26, 2014

I have eaten here a few times, usually the set budget meals of steak and chips or chicken/ribs and chips, all with salad. Service is quick and friendly and the food is decent fora tourist hot spot. I would happily eat here again

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank whistlingtune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga, Latvia
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Standard touristy steakhouse”
Reviewed February 8, 2014

We were in a company of six persons trying out this steakhouse a few meters of Ledsplein. We arrived early (around 19) and at that time it was not crowded, we could chose whatever table we wanted and service was great. Our steaks arrived extremely quick and most of it was of good quality. An hour or so later the place was full of hungry people and at this point service didn't at all keep up. Sad ending for what could have been a good dining experience.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kimlean0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alberto's la Forge also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Alberto's la Forge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing