We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Tenderloin” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alberto's la Forge

Alberto's la Forge
Ranked #391 of 3,685 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $47
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Kids, Business meetings, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Stadsdeel Zuid
Description: Best uruguayan steakhouse in Amsterdam, top quality meat, large selection of wines, excellent service and a great atmosphere. In winter time a cosy fireplace and in summer time a lively terrace. Open 7 days a week, from 17:00 - 23:00
Tortola
Level Contributor
142 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Excellent Tenderloin”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

I had been traveling for close to 11 hours to get to Amsterdam and was looking forward to catching up with friends over a nice meal, so we headed to Alberto's just off Leidsplein for one of the best Beef Lomo meals I have ever had.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KiaOra97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    64
    15
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great steaks and service!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

Just visited for dinner tonight. Fantastic location and on a road full of steakhouses so we weren't sure which to try. I'm very glad we chose Alberto's!

The waitresses were very friendly, efficient and nice. Service was very quick. The lomo steak was so good and we tried the "surprise" dessert, which was tasty and not too scary!

It wasn't cheap - £18 to £26 for a steak but good value for money given the experience.

Helpful?
Thank KatindaEgg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnhem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
70 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Delicious steaks!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

The steaks were all great and cooked perfectly, and the side dishes well seasoned. There is a great choice of sauces, and the staff was very helpful. Only little thing was that we had to share the side dishes, and there was not really enough for everybody.. We would have preferred to have our own side dishes on our own plate.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NLvale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great spot for a steak!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

There's plenty of steakhouses in Amsterdam, but would recommend this one. Choose from one great steak or even three different cuts of steak on one plate! Big servings of salad and chips with it too, and would definitely recommend choosing the homemade pie for dessert. Service very quick too, good value for steaks and nice location

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank emodonog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“When in Amsterdam..eat steak”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

There are many things one simply must experience in Amsterdam and one of those things is..eat steak. There are many, many steakhouses, and this one is Uruguayan, and rather good. Huge portions, quick service, not the cheapest but one of the better steakhouses, in my opinion. No room for a dessert sadly.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alberto's la Forge also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Alberto's la Forge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing