We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“When in Amsterdam..eat steak”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Alberto's la Forge

Alberto's la Forge
Ranked #658 of 3,767 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $47
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Romantic, Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Stadsdeel Zuid
Description: Best uruguayan steakhouse in Amsterdam, top quality meat, large selection of wines, excellent service and a great atmosphere. In winter time a cosy fireplace and in summer time a lively terrace. Open 7 days a week, from 17:00 - 23:00
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“When in Amsterdam..eat steak”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

There are many things one simply must experience in Amsterdam and one of those things is..eat steak. There are many, many steakhouses, and this one is Uruguayan, and rather good. Huge portions, quick service, not the cheapest but one of the better steakhouses, in my opinion. No room for a dessert sadly.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    66
    15
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reykjavík
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

One of my favorite restaurants. Good steaks. I had a Rib-eye steaks last time I dined there and it was so good, soft and juicy. Good value and in a nice location in Leidseplein.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Matthias H G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Best dinner in Amsterdam!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

A have been a few times in Amsterdam, have been to several restaurants.
Last night i went to Alberto's Leidseplein and i had THE best steak ever.
The service was excellent and i didn't had to wait to long to get my dinner.
It is a price friendly restaurant that i can recoment to everybody.
The staff welcomes you withe a big smile, very friendly and serves professional.
Great experience.

Greets Tom

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amstelveen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
38 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best steak in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

Alberto's is located in the touristy part of Amsterdam, in between a lot of mediocre restaurants. You'd expect a mediocre meal here, but you'd be very wrong. Alberto's serves one of the best steaks I've ever tasted. I'm a regular customer now and recommend the Lomo Carrasco to anyone who want to eat a great steak.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joost V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
176 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Great place for dinner!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

First, the picture on the web site that is supposed to be the restaurant is not the restaurant. Secondly, the sign hanging in front of the restaurant says "Alberto's" and not Bistro La Forge. This is a Uruguay steak house, not to be confused with the multitude of Argentinian steak house in the vicinity.

We tried the restaurant based on reviews from Trip Advisor reviews. We were welcomed by a cordial wait staff who were accommodating and attentive. We looked at other peoples dishes and the serving were generous and looked delicious. My wife ordered the pepper steak and I ordered the salmon. Both were generous servings and came with two sides and were delicious and reasonably priced. The owner, Alberto, came out to visit with us, very friendly.

The atmosphere was rustic Uruguay cowboy and quite quaint. There are candles burning everywhere.

We ate here twice in our one week stay, the food was that good.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank HomeCareGuru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alberto's la Forge also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Alberto's la Forge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing