We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the best burger there is”
Review of Burgermeester

Burgermeester
Ranked #282 of 3,860 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Takeout
Neighborhood: Plantage & the East
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Simply the best burger there is”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Burgermeester, in the Elandsgracht in Amsterdam's funky Jordaan, is simple and unpretentious, but serves simply the best burgers in town -- either traditionally, on (good) buns with lots of topping, or as 'salad' versions, without the carbs. Tasty, not ready-made, and with regular innovation in the menu. Want 'slow' fast food before a night on the town, this is your starting point.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    221
    179
    42
    23
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
35 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“great burgerplace”
Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

had the classical beef burger which was excellent. they only serve nom-alcoholic beverages. my friend had the mini burger trio with three small burgers of choice.

Helpful?
Thank verdi85
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
91 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good value good food late last night last minute”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

This place was near entrance of zoo. service was good food was healthy. You get to pick type of bun u want too. Since I can t speak dutch they asked English or dutch lanuage for myself
veggie burgers too they had 2 types

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 69duke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
126 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Nice local burger stop.”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

A local recommendation was the reason we topped here. The three burger offer was to much to eat. I had one burger and a potato with nice butter. If your in the area it's a nice stop but don't go out of your way etc.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bostonjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg, Germany
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best gourmet burger”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

My family and I found ourselves very hungry in the middle of an afternoon in Amsterdam and a local restaurant owner pointed us towards this place because it was the only thing open in the neighborhood. Even though it was a little on the pricey side and that the menu is not too big, I must say we all loved it (even the kids). My burger was not your average burger, it had eggs and truffles, but it was delicious. I highly recommend this place. We are definetely coming back if we ever find ourselves in Amsterdam.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yasurino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Burgermeester also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Burgermeester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing