We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“The right idea but a refurb is much needed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Patou

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Patou
Save
You added Hotel Patou to your Saves list
Ranked #319 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The right idea but a refurb is much needed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

Some friends of ours recommended this hotel after their own successful trip earlier this year. Having read the reviews, we were somewhat cautious of making the booking but took our friends' advice and booked.

Unfortunately, the reviews below really do reflect the reality of the hotel. To summarise:

1. Location - next to Louis Vitton and opposit Chanel but no shops to buy a bottle of water (even the restaurant that is part of the hotel would not sell a bottle of water to us as they had just turned the 'closed' sign).

2. Reception - there is now a room functioning as the reception area but it is next to the kitchen - I've never experienced such an over-powering smell of chip fat which also filled the corridors. However, we were grateful of being able to check-in at 10.30am rather than 3pm - not a sign of a busy hotel!

3. The room - a "deluxe" room booked - good attempt at modern style but in desperate need of refreshing. The black furniture was extremely dusty, the curtains were cardboard panels that have curled and were stained and the TV had clearly been cleaned very carelessly leaving large smears. Our wardrobe had electrics in the top corner which were extremely noisy. However, the bedding was very clean and smelled freshly washed.

4. Bathroom - very clean and smart. No complaints here.

5. Noise - although the hotel is on a quiet street in terms of night life, there appeared to be traffic all night long. Very noisy.

Overall, I would not return. Other friends have recommended Park Hotel which is nearby and apparantly worth the extra few £££.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kayleigh F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    23
    22
    20
    16
See reviews for
6
56
10
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

first the hotel have no reception, the images are misleading and the pluming system was not working, so i moved to an attic room with no shades, so i used to wake up with the early morning light, and while i was leaving there was no one at the reception to check me out, its a very poor hotel, avoid.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yehiaelalaily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Chester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

I've just got back from a 3-night trip with my boyfriend in Amsterdam. We booked very last minute and didn't spend too long researching where to stay (possibly an error in hindsight...)

Like many people have said this hotel looks great in the website but it has suffered quite a lot of 'wear-and-tear' since those photos were taken! Luckily we had called ahead to say we wouldn't be arriving until 11pm and we arrived to find one very sullen girl waiting in the cafe for us- but at least we got in! I didn't see anyone else on reception for the rest of our stay and the staff we did see in the cafe were disinterested to the extreme! Reception area is quite dingy but nothing compared to the dark corridor and tiny, creaking lift!

We were staying in one of the attic rooms which was small but fine for us, and quite characterful. On first look we were impressed- but it soon became clear that the walls were very scuffed, floor was dusty and there was a rather rancid smell perpetrating from the sink. The shower whilst looking impressive (and clean) lacked any power and water temperature was rather unreliable! On a plus side the bed was very comfortable and sheets were nice. A minimal level of housekeeping took place- towels were replaced each day (but old towels left lying on the floor...), bin was emptied. Otherwise bed wasn't touched (as we had roughly made it ourselves), floor wasn't cleaned and loo roll was never replaced.

Overall I think the hotel has potential to be great- fantastic quiet location but a stones throw from centre of town. Rooms are nicely designed but have been allowed to get tired and reception areas and staff need a major overall! Food in the cafe wasn't exactly up to the standards I would expect for €15 (ish) either.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cam_foster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lake district uk
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2010

Booked through a 'boutique' hotel company -very misleading as not even up to hostel standards.
I cannot say enough to explain just how awful this was. Reasons not to stay:
Locked and closed on arrival at 9pm -Took a man from a sister hotel two hours to come and let us in. It smells terrible -sewerage. Totally unsafe stairs -steep and no handrail and unclear fire exit. There was no key to our room -they left us the master key. there were NO staff on the site. The minbar was broken and mouldy. The brasserie was shut. There was an open fuse box in wardrobe. freezing cold -no heating on in room [November] . it seems we were the only guests [luckily for everyone else!]. It was filthy. cowboy botch job on the building. We went and waited in a nearby hotel for the man to let us in and the staff there said it happens all the time and people just chek out and go round the corner to them once they see the rooms.
It was 11.15pm by the time we got in our room and so it was too late to find anywhere else [and the one round the corner had no room] but first thing in the morning we left. They have said they will not charge us but we need to see the credit card bill before we know for sure. I truly do not know how they can get away with it -or who the people ar who have given good reviews?? Maybe they got a v. cheap deal -we didn't -and we were in a deluxe room! Just awful even for free I would not stay again -ever.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thislinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2010

Our stay:
This is a real shocker. A wonderfully designed (small but very efficient) boutique hotel located right at the hart of the best known fashionstreet of amsterdam and holland. When build probably looked great but bad materials, bad construction, bad cleaning and general lack of management really took it's toll. It does smell a little funny as mentioned earlier, there's cracks in almost every wall and there isn't a piece of wall unscarred by run-ins with luggage. The room looked great but the wooden floors throughout the hotel weren't picked to withstand intensive hotel use, they look dirty now. They're stained by years(?) of usage. The bathroom looked wonderfully designed with large sheets of white marble but the seams were brown / moldy. An uncovered air-vent was overgrown with mold and in plain sight. Also there was no hot water in the morning when we wanted to take a shower. The bed was clean and sheets were nice but the bed-lights didn't work (one was missing a bulb, the other didn't work).
Checkout trouble:
At checkout, there was no staff at the reception. After 5 minutes i went to the lunchroom downstairs of the hotel (same name also connected by internal stairs) to ask if i could check out. I was told i had to go to the reception in a -figure it out yourself- tone. When i responded i was there for 5 minutes without someone showing, the waitress responded she (the waitress) had just been upstairs and the reception was staffed. She repeated this several times in an very nasty tone of voice implying i was lying. She added 'i don't know how to do a checkout' hoping i would go away. After i got really angry, got told a had a big mouth, i went upstairs to leave the key and prepared to just leave ( they had my credit card details). Another waitress came in and very franticly made a phonecall to get the receptionist back. I got a quick apology and was asked for my credit card again (something wrong with their administration- really?). I told them i thought it would be a good idea to have some things repainted and fixed i was told they knew that should happen. A quick apology and a request for my signature for the payment please. I don't know what's going on here but this is a disgrace to the name of the street. Please restore the original idea, change the staff and as i'm not the first to complain here probably the management as well. A boutique hotel should be great at it's design. Service can be very basic as long as it's with heart.
General impression:
There's too much wrong to overlook even at a fairly reasonable price for the location and intended ambiance. we will not come back.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ellusionnl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2010

The hotel is located on a shopping high street about a 25 minute tram ride from the city centre.

While the hotel is attached to a coffee area the entrance passageway to the hotel was cramped, the carpet dirty, we were welcomed to an open fuse box, and there was an unpleasant smell in the air (which continued throughout our stay – really putrid!). The lift was extremely cramped an opened up to a strange reception area, which was dark with a desk plonked 2 paces away from the lift. At first I wasn’t sure whether I had arrived in reception or one of the floors!

The customer service was ok.

The corridor leading from the lift to the rooms was extremely pleasant - really fresh, light and clean, nice décor a large mirror and there was a trendy locking system for the doors.

We stayed in the attic room which was quaint; I really liked that you could push the windows right open and get a nice breeze. The bed was really comfy - a really nice level of comfort! The room was a mixture of modern design, with a cosy feel and the wood beams on the ceiling were really pleasant. On the negative side - the bathroom was in need of some minor repairs e.g. cracked tiles a smelly sink and a shower that was blasting hot!!! The lighting system was a bit too cleaver - in fact the lights could not actually switch off, they just went to a lighter shade!! This resulted in me wearing an eye mask as I was too tired to take it up with reception.

We could not get a connection to the internet from our room which was frustrating, as that was a feature of the package which I was keen to utilize.

When we checked out 2 of us got in the lift and the carriage dropped significantly I was so freaked out and spend the next two minutes panicking as to whether the lift would hold out!!! I had never been so glad to enter the reception.

On the plus side the receptionist asked me if I was ok, and was savvy enough to offer to take our luggage down in the lift personally so we could use the stairs which I was really grateful for!

The hotel ordered a taxi for us which came on time and cost 37 Euros.

It was an experience….

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ritefix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2010

From the moment we set eyes on it we knew it was a no-hoper. The entrance photograph on their website is of some other building, definitely not the shabby single door entrance existing. The small hallway about 10ft x 2ft had black filthy carpet that had not seen a hoover for months. Unsurprisingly there was no plug socket for a vacuum to function. Into a tiny lift that accommodates three at a squeeze, but two people plus weekend bag comfortably.

Communal hallways scuffed, marked, unvacuumed and scruffy. Room on first impression were modern and tidy, if small. But it was all form over function. The shower in white/grey marble were extremely narrow and perilously slippery when wet measuring only 59cm across so if you are on the large side ( which I am not) you will have a real problem entering the shower. The glass doors to the bathroom area were heavy and you had to manouevre to the sink whilst squeezing through the door.

Cleaning of the rooms did not happened over the three days we were there, Beds were made only. Breakfast food was left in the rooms all day and night and even after numerous requests they be cleared, we had to leave them in the hallway ourselves. Common areas had a few weeks of grey fluff/dust/dirt everywhere.

On the second night we were pursued halfway up the Hooftstraat by the restaurant manger who was filling in for the hotel manager if we could let in the next guests( who happened to be our friends on a late flight as there were no staff to check them in at 10pm!) If that was, we hadn't anything planned - like dinner for instance! Ho hum.

The location is fine if you want to be in Chanel all day, and close enough to the major museums etc, but not to hang around to let unwelcomed guests in especially as the hotel cafe/bar was closed all day and night Friday - so our friends had to come bags and all straight from the airport to the restaurant we were eating in some twenty minutes away. The alternative being to leave the restaurant to return to the hotel to let them in and return to dining later. Extraordinary to take bookings when you have NO staff to check in guests. First time I've ever seen that. The street is noisy every morning early though Sunday morning, unsurprisingly was quiet.

A great weekend on the sightseeing front, but the hotel really left a blot on the experience. Horrid. Horrid. Horrid. Although they explained this had never happened before (yeah right) and gave us a 40 euro discount per night, the damage was done. Shall not return.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank guest120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
#149 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 851 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Museumzicht
Hotel Museumzicht
#214 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 188 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
#80 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Cornelisz
Hotel Cornelisz
#151 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 431 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#47 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,175 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel JL No76
Hotel JL No76
#30 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Patou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Patou

Property: Hotel Patou
Address: Pieter Cornelisz. Hooftstraat 63, 1071 BN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #319 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Patou 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Patou Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing