We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cancellation upon arrival”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Maggy's Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #296 of 338 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Judging from the reviews on this page, it seems like the plumbing problems are plaguing Maggy's B&B unreasonably frequently.

I was only informed that my booking was canceled upon arrival, when I unsuccessfully tried to get into the premise with an intention of checking in. After ringing the bell 3 times, I called the owner, who adviced me to meet her in nearby chip shop, where she informed me, that there was a problem with toilets, gave me back the booking fee and sent me off to find another place to stay during the weekend (and it's not that easy, Amsterdam is a popular weekend destination). Oh, and she added "At least I paid your deposit back, I didn't have to do it".

I was lucky enough to find another place, but my travel budget was blown out, I had to kill some of my travel plans in order to be able to stay under a roof during a Valentine's weekend with my partner.

Maggy is completely unreliable, and if you'd rather not start your Amsterdam visit stressing about finding a place to stay, DO NOT BOOK A ROOM AT HER PLACE.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Service
3  Thank Marek_KBH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (101)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 101 reviews

Reviewed January 9, 2014

If you want a roof over your head for a few nights with the best location in Amsterdam then stay here. If you are used to the Ritz, scared of a few more stairs than usual and plan to stay in your room drinking earl grey then stay at Hotel De L'Europe for 400 euro a night. This is a top draw budget hotel that does not pretend it is anything else.

On a negative note, the weather was downright treacherous! there was no mention of this in the booking or when we arrived at the hotel. However I do understand that Maggy has a hotel to run aswell as fix the weather so will only hold the hotel part responsible for this. I will be staying here again

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We booked this accommodation in June and when we arrived were kept at the door and told by someone (not the proprietor) that the bathroom was broken, given our money back, and shown the door. It was 3pm on a very busy Amsterdam Friday. No advice or assistance in finding alternative accommodation was offered. Nothing under 300 euros was available except for a nearby hotel undergoing renovation where we were offered a very basic room for 140 euros. During our search for alternative accommodation, a number of proprietors said smilingly that this was a common ploy with Maggys, that they book the room for a cheap price online, then sell it on the day for much more and turn people away. Make up your own mind and book this accommodation at your own risk.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

On arrival we were advised our room was no longer available due to a plumbing issue, via a text message. Left us stranded in Amsterdam without any accommodation, on a busy Saturday night. Ruined the weekend as we had to spend 4 hours walkong around Amsterdam to find other accommodation. Total shambolic bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dougie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Me & my wife Margery paid for three nights but left after one. Rooms are dirty with no sheets on bed.
We also see two mice running around our room but believe they were trying to escape!
Maggy's B & B makes Villa Bella in Margate UK look like the Bellagio Las Vegas!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ajax95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Cost us more than we where quoted, the 4 person room was just 4 single mattresses on the floor with ripped bed sheets and bathroom door wouldn't shut. Stayed at some rubbish hotels/hostels in Amsterdam but this is the worst by far.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bigbobby77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

The rooms were fine. We stayed in a room by a window. But the window was in a tunnel; figures that the view was nothing at all. This place is not a bed and breakfast but not bad at all. I liked being there. 5 mins to the train station and 5 mins downtown.
Definitely not pricey.
We did book an apartment when we were there for 4 days later, but when we got there again the owner told us that the toilet was broken and she had nothing for us. That was kind of disappointing for tired travelers, but we managed.
The crepe bar next door is great!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Guðný J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
No photo provided
Sam Vondel
#242 of 338 in Amsterdam
10 reviews
De Pijp
Floris Hotel
Floris Hotel
#279 of 338 in Amsterdam
115 reviews
Ozo Hotel
#80 of 338 in Amsterdam
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Vossius Vondelpark
Hotel Vossius Vondelpark
#59 of 338 in Amsterdam
511 reviews
Vondelpark
Las Vegas Bed and Breakfast
Las Vegas Bed and Breakfast
#250 of 338 in Amsterdam
20 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Acostar Hotel
Acostar Hotel
#142 of 338 in Amsterdam
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maggy's Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maggy's Bed and Breakfast

Address: Martelaarsgracht 9, 1012 TN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #296 of 338 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range: $77 - $416 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Maggy's Bed and Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Maggy's Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maggy`s b&b
Maggy`s Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing