We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Cancellation upon arrival” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Maggy's Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Maggy's Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #293 of 329 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cancellation upon arrival”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

Judging from the reviews on this page, it seems like the plumbing problems are plaguing Maggy's B&B unreasonably frequently.

I was only informed that my booking was canceled upon arrival, when I unsuccessfully tried to get into the premise with an intention of checking in. After ringing the bell 3 times, I called the owner, who adviced me to meet her in nearby chip shop, where she informed me, that there was a problem with toilets, gave me back the booking fee and sent me off to find another place to stay during the weekend (and it's not that easy, Amsterdam is a popular weekend destination). Oh, and she added "At least I paid your deposit back, I didn't have to do it".

I was lucky enough to find another place, but my travel budget was blown out, I had to kill some of my travel plans in order to be able to stay under a roof during a Valentine's weekend with my partner.

Maggy is completely unreliable, and if you'd rather not start your Amsterdam visit stressing about finding a place to stay, DO NOT BOOK A ROOM AT HER PLACE.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marek_KBH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    9
    8
    13
    54
See reviews for
5
32
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

If you want a roof over your head for a few nights with the best location in Amsterdam then stay here. If you are used to the Ritz, scared of a few more stairs than usual and plan to stay in your room drinking earl grey then stay at Hotel De L'Europe for 400 euro a night. This is a top draw budget hotel that does not pretend it is anything else.

On a negative note, the weather was downright treacherous! there was no mention of this in the booking or when we arrived at the hotel. However I do understand that Maggy has a hotel to run aswell as fix the weather so will only hold the hotel part responsible for this. I will be staying here again

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We booked this accommodation in June and when we arrived were kept at the door and told by someone (not the proprietor) that the bathroom was broken, given our money back, and shown the door. It was 3pm on a very busy Amsterdam Friday. No advice or assistance in finding alternative accommodation was offered. Nothing under 300 euros was available except for a nearby hotel undergoing renovation where we were offered a very basic room for 140 euros. During our search for alternative accommodation, a number of proprietors said smilingly that this was a common ploy with Maggys, that they book the room for a cheap price online, then sell it on the day for much more and turn people away. Make up your own mind and book this accommodation at your own risk.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

On arrival we were advised our room was no longer available due to a plumbing issue, via a text message. Left us stranded in Amsterdam without any accommodation, on a busy Saturday night. Ruined the weekend as we had to spend 4 hours walkong around Amsterdam to find other accommodation. Total shambolic bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dougie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Me & my wife Margery paid for three nights but left after one. Rooms are dirty with no sheets on bed.
We also see two mice running around our room but believe they were trying to escape!
Maggy's B & B makes Villa Bella in Margate UK look like the Bellagio Las Vegas!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ajax95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Cost us more than we where quoted, the 4 person room was just 4 single mattresses on the floor with ripped bed sheets and bathroom door wouldn't shut. Stayed at some rubbish hotels/hostels in Amsterdam but this is the worst by far.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bigbobby77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

The rooms were fine. We stayed in a room by a window. But the window was in a tunnel; figures that the view was nothing at all. This place is not a bed and breakfast but not bad at all. I liked being there. 5 mins to the train station and 5 mins downtown.
Definitely not pricey.
We did book an apartment when we were there for 4 days later, but when we got there again the owner told us that the toilet was broken and she had nothing for us. That was kind of disappointing for tired travelers, but we managed.
The crepe bar next door is great!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guðný J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Ibis Styles Amsterdam Central Station
Centrum
Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam
Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam
#127 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 3,021 reviews
Centrum
A-Train Hotel
A-Train Hotel
#132 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Hotel Multatuli
Hotel Multatuli
#204 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 436 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
#64 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 743 reviews
Centrum
Singel Hotel
Singel Hotel
#155 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maggy's Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maggy's Bed and Breakfast

Property: Maggy's Bed and Breakfast
Address: Martelaarsgracht 9, 1012 TN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #293 of 329 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Maggy's Bed and Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Maggy's Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maggy`s Hotel Amsterdam
Maggy`s b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing