We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, room unclean, funny place though.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Maggy's Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #297 of 338 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

I've stayed in this hotel twice, it is not a bed and breakfast! . Location is great, they are really lax with everything - can smoke in the room etc no curfew. However no safe in the room and the room is really dirty, woman who runs it is really funny - she seems high as a kite, overall though it's not too bad - if you're going just to get stoned then this is a decent place to stay. If it's for a romantic or nice trip in anyway then maybe don't stay here! .

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suzystevenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (100)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 100 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2012

Yes, there were 2 mice, or at least this is what we could see (i am sure there is a whole family there).

Brief:
- The room light is very faint you can hardly see in the night.
- The door is hard to open and close, there’s some pulling and pushing each time you do.
- There were 2 mice in the room the night we checked in, we had to run off with our entire luggage at 3 am, under heavy rain.
- When we wanted our money back the next morning, we had to hear a hell lot of “F you”’s. Even after that, we paid for this night, but we took the money we paid for the remaining days we had paid in advance.
- She has no VISA, she only takes cash.
- She takes all the money for your whole stay in advance (no wonder why).
- She takes 50 Euros just for the room’s key, so that if you lose it she takes the 50 Euros.

Details:
Our trip was in mid September 2012, we checked in around 10 pm, the stairs are ridiculously exhausting, they do not comply with any architectural rule, we spend a few minute at the room’s door to find out how you should push/pull it so that it will open.
The room's light was so faint; we could not identify the walls colors.
We went out for a walk, came back around 12am, we were very tired, we turn on the TV (which did not have a remote control, you have to get out of bed, and walk to the TV just to change the channel.
We just fell asleep while the TV was still one, ... , 3 am in the morning we walk up on the sound of something cracking and scratching, it was louder than the sound of the TV that it walk us up after a very exhausting day,
Anyway, we are still in bed and trying to find out what is this sound, finally we noticed the bag of potato chips is moving :)
and then when we had the shock of our lives, a small mouse had cut through the plastic bag into another paper bag, which contained some potato chips we brought with us that night, and it was having a very good time inside, stepping and eating...
I had to make a loud noise for the mouse to pay attention someone else is in the room, and that it had to get out.
After we were able to persuade it to leave, a few minutes later, while we were trying to relax from the shock, another mouse just ran out from under the bed, following his friend, the second one was the bigger one.
Then we decided we should leave before we have to meet the rest of the family,
It was 3 o'clock in morning, and it was heavily raining, we had no umbrella at the time, and we had to close all our bags and carry them all the way down again on the horrible stairs (the room was in the 4th floor).
Down in the street, running around looking for some empty room in any hotel, of course there were few that were opened at this time of the night, and fewer that had empty rooms.

The second day, we went back to this dump again to return the key and TRY to get our money back,
When we told the woman managing the place there were mice in the room, she said it was your fault that you left food out of the fridge (since she told us when we checked in that we should keep any food inside the fridge)
and she made us talk to "MAGGY" on the phone, whom was an absolutely impolite person, i even couldn't here anything from what she were saying because it was all yelling and swearing "F you, you brought your F garbage in the room, you F this F that ..." finally i could here "F you and your money, take your F money and F leave" :-S

Even then, we could only take the money of the remaining nights.

NOT ONLY WE HAD A NIGHTMARE, NO, BUT WE HAD TO PAY FOR WATCHING IT!!!!

Room Tip: - THERE ARE MICE IN THERE, do you need any more tips?!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mina_Mansour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

The room was very basic, but that's all we needed for this type of holiday. Was a bit pricey for what it is. It was a bit strange that we weren't greeted at the door or that the place didn't have a proper welcome desk. But the lady who worked there seemed friendly.

Good points about our room/bathroom:
Very clean
Smelled nice
Bed was comfortable
Had a TV with many channels, including Comedy Central at night - so that was good
Kettle provided

Not so good points about our room/bathroom:
The beds were very very close to the bathroom door, so it was a bit strange sleeping so close to the toilet, but if you or who ever your sharing your room with doesn't have any embarrassing toilet problems then its alright.
The bathroom could do with a window (like all bathrooms are suppose to have) but again, if you or who ever your sharing your room with doesn't have any embarrassing toilet problems then its alright.
Would be useful if the room had a suitable place to store your luggage, but as the room is quite small I guess that can't be helped.

They should really use a signage, as you can easily miss the entrance if your trying to find it for the first time. We didn't see any staff throughout our 4 nights of staying here and they didn't tell us which room we could find them if we did need help, which was weird. We didn't need anything anyway, but it would've been nice if they offered a bit more service such as giving us clean towels daily or emptying our rubbish bins. And to anyone who moaned about the steep/dangerous stairs - that's a common feature in houses in Amsterdam, so don't be too surprised if you find a hotel with such stairs.

The location was excellent, walking distance to train station and Dam Square. Really nice pancake bar next door that we went to 3 times, and a coffee shop called Resin very close by which had a vapourisor and not many coffee shops have vapourisors.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoveTravel_257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Ok, Maggy (or whoever it was who couldn't be bothered to come down the stairs to open the door for us and instead used some kind of a peculiar self-made device that would do the job for her) seemed a bit rude at first. And ok, they do have mice and yeah, the place is definitely not a B&B. BUT - It's almost in the very heart of Amsterdam and it's really cheap and it has four walls and a ceiling. And I mean - staying in a fancy hotel is fine, but if you're travelling on a budget and you're not a complete sissy, there's no reason to avoid this place. At the end Maggy turned out to be quite friendly and the place has a kinda charming distinctive atmosphere. I liked it.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NoorEssadi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Not a good place to stay, stinks and both maggys are quite rude. Lots of nicer places to stay and cheaper. We did have a laugh here and stairs were a night mare, a complete and utter fire hazard and nothing to offer, once they have your money you don't see them again. Mattress on a floor is hardly worth the £83 for two nights which we paid each.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kassaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

THIS IS NOT A BED & BREAKFAST - the title is a blatent lie There is no facilities to accommodate breakfast.

On arrival in May I called the mobile number provided, as we couldnt find it and then called again as we were ringing the bell and knocking the door for 30 MINUTES, and spoke to an elder sounding woman who claimed to be the owner Maggy. She was not there but said another woman was. Maggy asked for me to call her back so she can call this woman to open the door. After calling back - THESE CALLS I HAD TO PAY FOR FROM MY UK MOBILE - Maggy stated the woman is there and to go back (as we went to a coffe shop) and ring the bell again. We did so and a woman did open the door, looked like she had just woken up!

She was very rude, irate, sarcastic and extremely awkward. She had a very dismissive attitude - and acted like they didn’t want OR need our custom. When I asked for this woman’s name she refused to give it to me!! When I asked again she said, ‘This is Maggy’s guesthouse so I’m Maggy and that’s that’. Maybe this was Maggys' daughter and was in fact called Maggy - who knows, but it seemed very much like a lie!

She demanded 20 euros key deposit - IT DID NOT STATE THIS ON HOSTLEBOOKERS PAGE!! She told me if I do not want to pay the deposit I can leave. As this is misinterpretation of the overall cost of cash to be handed over - I asked if I can pay half as we were only there for 2 nights and on a very strict budget. Her answer to this was, 'So, No way and plus you get it back'. Getting 20 euros back at the very end of my short trip was useless to me as by then I'd have no use for it.

The key deposit has now been increased to 50 euros now - I don't know why as locks havent been changed or upgraded in anyway.

This place is terrible!!!! So terrible I walked around for a short while trying to find somewhere else to stay – but as our budget was so tight we failed to find anywhere, so returned to Maggy’s.

Overall this place is horrible to stay in – the room itself wasn’t ready on time as it was being cleaned and was still not very clean when we were allowed in. The door lock was faulty and didn’t make us feel very safe. Tea/coffee making machine does not make up for the poor services and substandard cleanliness.

The 2nd Maggy should not be deal with anyone!!! It’s actually unbelievable she deals with the public - this woman should not be allowed to talk to anyone!! NO ONE could Pay me to stay here again!! STAY WELL AWAY – there are plenty other hotels, guesthouses and hostels around the same price that are great!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EasyToPlease23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

My friend and i were treated miserable, the women who literally kicked us out of the room were hostile and sarcastic with me. They use the FIFTY EURO key deposit against you if they think your room isnt "clean". They implied that they wanted tips.Not recommended, they are really rude. The room was okay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hunter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
#57 of 372 in Amsterdam
961 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Multatuli
Hotel Multatuli
#242 of 372 in Amsterdam
521 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Old Quarter
Hotel Old Quarter
#295 of 372 in Amsterdam
734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Sharm Hotel
Sharm Hotel
#194 of 338 in Amsterdam
123 reviews
Ozo Hotel
#83 of 338 in Amsterdam
550 reviews
Hotel Isis
#256 of 338 in Amsterdam
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maggy's Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maggy's Bed and Breakfast

Address: Martelaarsgracht 9, 1012 TN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #297 of 338 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range: $89 - $341 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Maggy's Bed and Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Maggy's Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maggy`s Hotel Amsterdam
Maggy`s b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing