We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“great location, great host”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Captain's House

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
45 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Amsterdam, North Holland Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 45 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Italian first
Any
English first
Elizabeth...
1 review
“great location, great host”
Reviewed June 10, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Beautiful flat in the historic section, close to all the sights, but still quiet at night. Arjen, our host, made sure the refrigerator was stocked, and gave us a tour of the area. It was nice to have 1-1/2 baths for the four of us, sometimes difficult to come by in the old apartments.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curiosity...
1 review
“Great Hosts, Lovely Apartment, Well Located”
Reviewed June 4, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

The location of the Captain’s House is absolutely brilliant, only about seven minutes walk to Centraal Station which is also the hub for an excellent tram service. Chinatown and the Red Light District are quite close but the street itself is very quiet at night. Families with children have no need to worry.

The stairs at the apartment are steep - as they are everywhere in Amsterdam. Fortunately our host, Arjen, was there to help us with our luggage. He also gave us a tour of the local area and showed us some good places to eat. Captein & Co (only a stone’s throw away) became our regular haunt at the end of a busy day’s sightseeing.

Everyone in our party commented on the comfort of the beds and the quality of our sleep. There is plenty of storage space, the smaller of the bedrooms has a very spacious wardrobe and the double-room has storage built-in.

The kitchen area, while small, had all that we needed - hob, toaster, microwave, dishwasher. Coffee, tea, herbs, spices and cooking oil were all provided. There isn’t an oven… not a problem for us but if you’re wanting to save money by eating back at the apartment you might find this a constraint.

The fridge was nicely stocked on our arrival with cold drinks of all sorts. We were also welcomed with a bottle of wine, stroopwafel and freshly cut tulips.

The sitting-room area was really lovely. Two nicely proportioned sofas meant that we could really spread ourselves out - great for planning our next day’s activities. And of course I must mention “The Egg”. It’s about 15 inches tall and gradually changes colour… very relaxing.

We can’t thank you enough Arjen, for providing us with such a lovely apartment. We would love to come again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WeeFergus
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Perfect apartment for stay in Amsterdam”
Reviewed May 20, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Three of us stayed here for a week and couldn't have asked for better. The location is close to Central Station and also some good eating places and supermarkets. The apartment is lovely (built in1652) and it has been modernised to great effect whilst keeping some old-world charm about it. The bedrooms were large and comfortable and one of them led out to a small terrace - lovely for evening drinks. The bathroom and an additional toilet have been modernised and the shower is great (no bath). The stairs are narrow and quite steep so might not be suitable for people with walking difficulties but they certainly kept us fit (2 flights to get up to the bedrooms and bathrooms and another flight to reach the lounge and kitchen). The kitchen is modern and has everything required - even a dishwasher. There is also a washer/dryer in one of the bedrooms. The TV in the lounge has cable and BBC1 and BBC2 is available as well as the normal Dutch channels. There was a myriad of box sets, music and board games for rainy days but we did not have to use them.

Anjer and his wife are great hosts and we were welcomed with some wine, beer and soft drinks as well as plenty of tea and coffee. Anjer met our daughter at the station and carried her case early in the evening and although he offered to do the same for us we felt we felt that our arrival at close to midnight was too late to take up the offer. He gave us 2 separate tours of the surrounding area and advice on where to eat and buy provisions. He also offered to accompany our daughter back to the station for her separate return journey but she felt 05:30 was just a tad too early to accept.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wolf3728
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
776 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Great apartment in good location ”
Reviewed April 22, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Spent 5 nights at the apartment. It is in a very good location about a 10 minute walk from central station. The owner was very nice and friendly. He walked me around the neighborhood and showed me good restaurants and the market. When we left he walked us to the train station and helped my parents with their luggage.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SFO201612...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful apartment in a fantastic location”
Reviewed April 8, 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed in 2 separate locations in Amsterdam and this was by far the best.
Pros: excellent host--Arjen was super prompt with communication and very kind, giving us a guided tour of the neighborhood upon arrival. He even lent my son 2 soccer balls and showed us the best places in the neighborhood to play soccer.
--beautiful house located in a safe and picturesque neighborhood very close to the central station
--super comfortable beds
--modern bathrooms, rest of apartment has an old world feel
--easy access to groceries and restaurants

Cons: none!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JayneBend...
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Beautiful Captains House”
Reviewed March 12, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Very well equipped 2 floor apartment, has everything you need for a fab long weekend in Amsterdam. Arjen is a great host and goes the extra mile with complimentary items, thank you!! I reiterate all previous reviews and highly recommend, it's in a perfect location with easy access to all of Amsterdam. Please take up his recommendations where to eat, he did us all proud .

The only moan I had is the serious building works that start bang on 7am Mon-Fri, but sleep in the back bedroom is not affected. Obviously this is not a problem if you're early risers, but I would not have booked had I'd known, as I do like a lie in on my holidays. I will be definitely returning though with my family, it is very comfortable and relaxing .

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Departure...
1 review
“Great experience”
Reviewed January 29, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

We had a wonderful time in Capain's House, the location is amazing it's minutes walk away from central station and near by many shops and restaurants where you can feel the taste of Amsterdam. The flat was nice and clean and it had all what we needed and could easily accommodate our family of four. There were wifi and cable TV and complimentary coffee, tea and drinks. But most important of all was Arjen's hospitality where he took us on a tour to show us around and sincerely he offered his help, I would definitely recommend the Captain's House and would return back.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 2, 2017
Thank you, looking forward to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing