We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another delicious evening in Mayur”
Review of mayur

mayur
Reserve with
mayur is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #481 of 3,909 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $37
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Stadsdeel Zuid
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Another delicious evening in Mayur”
Reviewed May 4, 2014

Every time I feel like an authentic & delicious Indian meal I choose for Mayur.
This time we went 3 of us and we let the owner of the restaurant choose a combination of starters and main dishes for us. We started with Samosa's and mixed tandoori grill meat & prawns, which was very tasty, thereafter we had 3 curries, lamb curry, chicken korma & prawn curry. The combination of the slightly spicy prawn,, with the a little sweeter chicken korma and the tender lamb curry was just perfect! Another big plus point in Mayur is the Atmosphere, which is chic, stylish and cosy and even though it is mostly completely full it's never too loud to have private conversation. Together with the attentive good service, Mayur is a perfect pick for a nice evening out!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anita G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    220
    97
    36
    12
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jamshedpur, India
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“A fine Indian restaurant in the heart of Amsterdam”
Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

This is my second visit to Mayur, this time with 15 colleagues on a business trip, location excellent near Liedseplien and the Rijks museum , service excellent with very attentive staff ( mix of indian, Tibetan and European) , good food probably one of the best in Europe, the tandoori platter is quite good and so is the kheer. Overall a good experience

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Prasanto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Fl
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed March 20, 2014 via mobile

Stumbled upon this wonderful place after a day at the Van Gogh museum.

Staff was professional and attentive.

Food was amazing and came out hot [temp].

Staff always checked for my satisfaction and offered alternatives if I wasn't happy, which was never the case.

Thank you for an excellent & memorable meal.

Helpful?
Thank jeffzamp
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Indian food Amsterdam area”
Reviewed March 1, 2014

We are regular customers and this is by far the best Indian Restaurant in the Amsterdam area. Clean kitchen, top quality food, excellent service and informed staff! Suited for business as well as leisure. Tip: for a quick impression order the "Mixed Starter" it's delicious!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mnafrequenttraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
260 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“VERY GOOD FOOD IN A BEAUTIFUL RESTAURANT”
Reviewed January 28, 2014

A sleek beautifully furnished restaurant with excellent service which supplied a lovely Indian meal. While we were looking at the menu -popadums and dips were presented- a nice touch. We had vegetable samosas as a starter -delicious with a nice tasty dip sauce.Followed by chicken tikka masala and a vegetable curry of potato & cauliflower plus a naan bread each plus of course pillow rice. It was very good and the portions were not too large but well cooked & nicely spiced. Wine selection can be by the glass and is fine. A very nice meal which was enhanced by the server who was not only charming but had perfect English.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrzej116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed mayur also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to mayur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing