We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Another delicious evening in Mayur” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of mayur

mayur
Reserve with
mayur is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #416 of 3,624 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $37
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Stadsdeel Zuid
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Another delicious evening in Mayur”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014

Every time I feel like an authentic & delicious Indian meal I choose for Mayur.
This time we went 3 of us and we let the owner of the restaurant choose a combination of starters and main dishes for us. We started with Samosa's and mixed tandoori grill meat & prawns, which was very tasty, thereafter we had 3 curries, lamb curry, chicken korma & prawn curry. The combination of the slightly spicy prawn,, with the a little sweeter chicken korma and the tender lamb curry was just perfect! Another big plus point in Mayur is the Atmosphere, which is chic, stylish and cosy and even though it is mostly completely full it's never too loud to have private conversation. Together with the attentive good service, Mayur is a perfect pick for a nice evening out!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Anita G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    196
    91
    30
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jamshedpur, India
Level Contributor
116 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A fine Indian restaurant in the heart of Amsterdam”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

This is my second visit to Mayur, this time with 15 colleagues on a business trip, location excellent near Liedseplien and the Rijks museum , service excellent with very attentive staff ( mix of indian, Tibetan and European) , good food probably one of the best in Europe, the tandoori platter is quite good and so is the kheer. Overall a good experience

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Prasanto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Fl
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014 via mobile

Stumbled upon this wonderful place after a day at the Van Gogh museum.

Staff was professional and attentive.

Food was amazing and came out hot [temp].

Staff always checked for my satisfaction and offered alternatives if I wasn't happy, which was never the case.

Thank you for an excellent & memorable meal.

Helpful?
Thank jeffzamp
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Indian food Amsterdam area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

We are regular customers and this is by far the best Indian Restaurant in the Amsterdam area. Clean kitchen, top quality food, excellent service and informed staff! Suited for business as well as leisure. Tip: for a quick impression order the "Mixed Starter" it's delicious!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mnafrequenttraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
234 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“VERY GOOD FOOD IN A BEAUTIFUL RESTAURANT”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

A sleek beautifully furnished restaurant with excellent service which supplied a lovely Indian meal. While we were looking at the menu -popadums and dips were presented- a nice touch. We had vegetable samosas as a starter -delicious with a nice tasty dip sauce.Followed by chicken tikka masala and a vegetable curry of potato & cauliflower plus a naan bread each plus of course pillow rice. It was very good and the portions were not too large but well cooked & nicely spiced. Wine selection can be by the glass and is fine. A very nice meal which was enhanced by the server who was not only charming but had perfect English.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrzej116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed mayur also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to mayur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing