We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY GOOD FOOD IN A BEAUTIFUL RESTAURANT” 4 of 5 stars
Review of mayur

mayur
Korte Leidsedwarsstraat 203, 1017 RB Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)
020-6232142
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #385 of 3,333 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $37
Cuisines: Indian, Vegetarian, Asian, Halal
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Stadsdeel Zuid
Waterloo, Belgium
Level Contributor
224 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“VERY GOOD FOOD IN A BEAUTIFUL RESTAURANT”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

A sleek beautifully furnished restaurant with excellent service which supplied a lovely Indian meal. While we were looking at the menu -popadums and dips were presented- a nice touch. We had vegetable samosas as a starter -delicious with a nice tasty dip sauce.Followed by chicken tikka masala and a vegetable curry of potato & cauliflower plus a naan bread each plus of course pillow rice. It was very good and the portions were not too large but well cooked & nicely spiced. Wine selection can be by the glass and is fine. A very nice meal which was enhanced by the server who was not only charming but had perfect English.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrzej116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    175
    82
    23
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wirral, England
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A brilliant New Year's Eve at the Mayur”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

We been eating at the Mayur since 1984 and the food and service are still as excellent as ever. It's been 3 years since our last visit but the owner recognised us and made us as welcome as ever.

The chicken chat and saag ghost are my all time favourites.

Highly recommended we just wish he would open a sister restaurant in Heswall on the Wirral!

Jenny and Pete

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank peterliverpool19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good food. Doesn't worth the price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Mayur is a lovely restaurant in terms of food, atmosphere and service.
But, the prices are too high for what you get. 22 Euros for a small portion of chicken massala is too much.

If you fancy Indian food and have no budget limits that the place for you. But there are better places to visit if money is an issue.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JonatanMor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amstelveen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
36 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“warm and friendly Indian restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Situated in the centre of Amsterdam, 5 minutes from the Leidseplein this restaurant is problaby one of the best Indian in Amsterdam. You 'll get good advice and personal is warm and friendly.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cees706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
“Beste Indian restaurant i've ever been to.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Just got back from a lovely evening at Mayur with my parents. We wanted to go for some Indian food, so we serchead for the best one here in Amsterdam and that's Mayur Indian Restaurant. So we went to this restaurant and I can say without a doubt that Mayur is by far the best. The food is wonderfull and you've lots to choose from! The price is, comparing to other restaurants, more than right. The service is so good; verybody is friendly, patient, quick and you get a lot of attention. We are definitely coming back to Mayur. Highly Recommended!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank F T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed mayur also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to mayur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing