We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fabulous place to dine”

Brasserie Ambassade
Reserve with
Brasserie Ambassade is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #18 of 4,655 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $33
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Centrum
Description: Come in and enjoy breakfast, lunch and/or dinner in our beautiful Brasserie Ambassade situated on the Herengracht canal in the center of Amsterdam, while being surrounded by colourful paintings from famous Cobra artists. French/International cuisine by chef Tommy van de Coolwijk and his team in combination with a wide selction of fine wines. Brasserie Ambassade offers an excellent balance in price/quality of food and wine, served by professional and above all, friendly staff. Delicious cocktails are served from our Library Bar which houses an impressive collection of over 5000 books, all signed by authors who have stayed at the Ambassade Hotel.
Reviewed July 25, 2016 via mobile

I had booked a table well in advance to celebrate my wife's 50th birthday and arrived to be seated overlooking the canal. The staff were all exceptional and all congratulated my wife on her birthday which was a lovely touch. We ordered the chefs surprise meal and had 3 sumptuous courses of simply exquisite food perfectly cooked and presented. This really is a wonderful place to have dinner with delightful staff and I wholeheartedly recommend a visit when you are in Amsterdam

Date of visit: July 2016
4  Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,255)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

561 - 565 of 1,257 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2016

A relatively new restaurant. Clean, modern, relatively formal. Service was first rate and we managed to get a table near the window overlooking the canal. The food was well presented, but just lacked that spark that a good dish needs to be a great one. With so many excellent restaurants with prices in this range I'm not sure I'll be back unless I decided to stay at he hotel.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank AmsterDaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2016 via mobile

Very nice ambience, and helpful and friendly personnel in the restaurant. Food (chef's surprise menu), however did not meet the expectations.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank Rjrintala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2016

We had just completed 16 days on a river cruise so to have a meal that we thought was excellent after so much eating was quite a surprise but we chose the Ambassade on the basis of the reviews. We were not disappointed. We had the 3 course Chef degustation menu and for 36 euros it was excellent. We had the fish and meat option and the fish option of mackeral tartare followed by monkfish was particularly good. A bottle of wine for 20 euro and we came away saying this was one of the best meals for this price we had eaten. Staff delightful and helpful in a lovely location

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank happilyretired060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2016

This is a great French restaurant in central Amsterdam. We enjoyed the "chef's surprise 3 course " menu with wine pairing. It was amazing. The service and wine selections were very good. This was a fine dining experience. Don't miss this restaurant when in Amsterdam.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Kathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brasserie Ambassade also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Brasserie Ambassade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing