We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disaster”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Ctaste

Ctaste
Reserve with
Ctaste is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #194 of 3,767 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $58 - $58
Cuisines: European, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: De Pijp
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Disaster”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

It smelled like sewage in the waiting area when we arrived at the restaurant. Not a good first impression... The room we ate in was very cold, and we froze during the entire meal.

The meal itself was tasteless. Overcooked food with almost no taste at all. We were a group over 34 people, and hardly any liked the food, and everybody complained about the quality of the food.

The idea is good, but to pay that much just to sit in the dark is criminal. Especially when som many people actually had to spit out theire food because it was so bad.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kamilla J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    219
    185
    39
    20
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
57 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“one time experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

I must say I was really skeptical when my friends invited me to dine in the dark. Overall, it was good but weird experience. Nice to test out your senses if you can recognize what you eating :)

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Anna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M
1 review
“ctaste: dinner in dark”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

An experience every one should have. Dinner in the dark makes you experience your food in an unimaginable way. It is a fun thing to do for improving relationships, passing around cutlery in the dark etc.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joshuad17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A must try”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

Very good experience that gives a great insight into visual impairment and is a lot of fun! The service is great and the waiter is either blind or visually impaired yet they have no problem moving around, joking, laughing and making it a very enjoyable experience- they are in there element. The food is good quality, fair price and quite interesting- I highly recommend it!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JimB1818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
62 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Try it at least once in your life”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

I had went a few years back for a full menu with a group of collegues. The experience is, as many write here, very special and definitely worth going for at least one time in your life.
I went back because they have some more options now, like a wine or beer tasting and high tea. This way you spend less while having the exact same experience ;)
Don't expect great food here - even if it would be, you would never experience it that way because you are way too distracted by focussing on getting it all from your plate into your mouth. That said - the food is ok/good and the service is excellent (while in other dining-in-the-dark-restaurants the waiters wear nightgoggles, in Amsterdam your waiters are indeed visually handicapped. This does not just make the experience more special, it makes it better. The waiters seem to have overdeveloped other qualities to make you feel welcome and at relaxed.)

I definitely recommend everyone to go there at least once. Especially if you are a control freak or when you are a picky eater haha!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nicole K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ctaste also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Ctaste? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing