We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,600)
Filter reviews
3,600 results
Traveler rating
2,251
946
243
93
67
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
2,251
946
243
93
67
Show reviews that mention
All reviews metro station ping pong table tennis great hotel young people cool hotel rent a bike common areas nespresso machine nice stay public transport min walk tsh city gym stops supermarket
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 3,600 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel is good for the price. The location is good, the rooms are good.

Cons: the can improve with the cleaning, I found an old sock at one of the corners of the room, and there are some blankets that should be more clean.

I had to sleep just in one side of the mattress, because it had a small "hill" in the middle, so I had to choose either left or right.

When I let the hotel know about the mattress, they instead of doing something about it, they asked me if I can go to the front desk to talk.

The people of the front desk in general were nice, but one, a bit rude. But there is alway the option to go to some one else.

Date of stay: January 2020
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank X4268POdiegoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TSH-AmsCity, Guest Relations Manager at The Student Hotel Amsterdam City, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi there,

Thank you for your review and rating. We are happy to hear that our hotel location was just right for your time here in Amsterdam. We are super sorry to hear, however, that you had some issues with the cleanliness and comfortability of your room. We want to ensure that all our guests have a comfortable stay here so for that we apologise. Here at TSH we aim to resolve issues right away with an alternative room move for example. We apologise that there was a lack of communication on our end. Your feedback is important to us and allows us to continually improve the level of service that we offer to our guests. I will be sure to pass on your feedback to our front desk team.

Have a great day!

The Student Hotel Amsterdam City.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Positives:
Very friendly staff, good levels of cleanliness, good size room, the metro makes getting about ridiculously easy.
Negatives:
Poor choice at breakfast, not much going on in the bar area, can't take a glass up to the room, it is out of town but I can't stress enough how easy the public transport is to use (less than 10 mins and you're in the centre).

Date of stay: January 2020
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jameswood1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TSH-AmsCity, Guest Relations Manager at The Student Hotel Amsterdam City, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hey there,

We're happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and found the room to your liking!

We are sorry that your breakfast experience was disappointing. We have shared your feedback with the restaurant team to make sure they improve on the selection.

Have a great day!

The Student Hotel Amsterdam City

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel was in a great location and we walked from here to almost everywhere in the city. But the public transport was availabel right outside too!
The staff were fantastic and really made us feel welcome.
The room was tastefully decorated, clean and spacious. It was perfect for us!

Date of stay: January 2020
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank fmclou222865
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TSH-AmsCity, Guest Relations Manager at The Student Hotel Amsterdam City, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi there,

Thank you for the great rating! We are super pleased that you had a geat stay and that our location was just right for you! We are also super happy that our team welcomed you with open arms and made you feel right at home :)

We hope to welcome you back soon!

The Student Hotel Amsterdam City.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel was so lovely. Easy enough to get to from Central station, then take the metro to Wibaustraat. The room we had (2442) was on the corner and had huge windows both sides, so would definitely ask for this room again. Free coffee and water bottles in the room daily and regularly cleaned. Couldn't find much in the surrounding area of the hotel which is the only reason I marked this down one, however the hotel itself is perfect for students as there is a residential bar andddddd....ping pong tables!

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank thomasmisssophiet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TSH-AmsCity, Guest Relations Manager at The Student Hotel Amsterdam City, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hey there,

We're super happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us so much and that the room was to your liking. We hope you had an amazing time in Amsterdam. We can always provide you with some more recommendations for the area if needed!

We hope to see you back soon and have a great day!

The Student Hotel Amsterdam City

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I have just spent 4 nights at this hotel. I highly recommend it. The mix of ages and reasons why people stay there give it a great vibe. The beds are amazing, the cleanness is a ten. There is nothing to complain about this hotel. I highly recommend it

Date of stay: January 2020
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Debbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TSH-AmsCity, Guest Relations Manager at The Student Hotel Amsterdam City, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi there,

Thank you so much for your kind words! We are happy to hear that you like the complete connected community that we try to create within our hotel, and we do our very best to keep growing.

We hope to see you soon again!

Love,

The Student Hotel Amsterdam City

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews