We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable food”

Cafe Onder de Ooievaar
Ranked #900 of 3,945 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Dutch, Bar, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Neighborhood: Stadsdeel Zuid
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Enjoyable food”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

I had a ham and cheese toastie from here, it was very tasty though I thought would be more for what I paid but taste made up for it.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank macclad2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    32
    7
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Perhaps our expectations were too high after reading all the excellent tripadvisor reviews and to be fair the food was cheap, but to my mind distinctly average. I had soup and my partner a burger. It was fine but nothing special. Service was very slow despite the fact that we ate at about 3pm.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank suzymhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Best Cheese and Sausage Platter!”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

This café was so close to our hotel, we couldn't not try it. The red wine and snacks did not disappoint - what a wonderful introduction to Dutch cheese and bread! The service was impeccable, friendly, and the location sublime. Highly recommended!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lizziemcmizzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yamhill, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“TA Reviewers Know Their Tostis”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Wandered in here on a whim on a cold, sunny February late morning for a quick lunch. If we had *bothered* to check it out on TA we would have found all the glowing endorsements to be true! Exceptionally friendly service; lots of variety; great prices; free WiFI; marvelous corner location for people watching as you eat; clean WC downstairs... what's not to love? Daily special was "Snert" - thick, savory split-pea soup (more at "stew" than "soup") with mild sausage. Add an espresso and the total lunch came to €7. If snert isn't available trust the other reviewers and try the tostis or the meatballs.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ORGinH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keighley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Chicken Sate Toastie”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

The main reason I wanted to write a review of this place is the Chicken Sate Toastie because it is one of the nicest sandwiches i have ever eaten. Lovely atmosphere, Lovely staff. Good prices.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tilly204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Onder de Ooievaar also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Cafe Onder de Ooievaar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing