We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint place for afternoon high tea”

De Bakkerswinkel Amsterdam South
Ranked #514 of 3,853 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $22
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations, Takeout
Neighborhood: Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Quaint place for afternoon high tea”
Reviewed February 3, 2014

My gal pals and i headed to the Bakkerswinkel in Amsterdam Zuid for afternoon high tea. I loved the shabby chic interior and the food was delicious. We easily spent a couple hours there enjoying our surroundings, the service and each others company. The variety of tea flavors was also a treat. I highly recommend for a rainy afternoon spent indoors!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eva B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    41
    9
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best scones ever!”
Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

The scones are seriously good at De Bakkerswinkel. We went back twice for more! They're baked fresh (the main kitchen is also open for coffee on the corner) and were still warm. The coffee is delicious and a nice friendly atmosphere. Perfect!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christephi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bremen, Germany
Level Contributor
271 reviews
191 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“the scones are a miracle”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

we had breakfast on a Sunday morning. We ordered some eggs with scones. The staff was very attentive. The eggs were to the point. the bacon crispy. the bread great. But the scones and the jam on the table were out of heaven. We would have come back the following day if it was open. We took a couple of scones for take-away to the beach! Thanks for the great start into the day!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank stinsonbeach13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lossiemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
209 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Fabulous bakery cafe”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

We were visiting the Rijksmuseum and found our way to De Bakkerswinkel by accident, and what a happy accident it was. I had Quiche Lorraine and salad and whilst I'm not too fond of the green stuff, this salad was superb and the quiche was really good. My wife has the soup, quiche and 1/2 sandwich option and was really impressed by the really tasty soup and the freshly, made to order, sandwich. The price for the lunch with freshly made hot chocolate and coffee was just over €20. Really great value for money and excellent quality.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank varisian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Trip from Scotland”
Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

Yummy food. Tried an omelette baguette was delish. Fresh homemade food was great. Definitely will vbe back to visit xxx

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HolidayEnG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed De Bakkerswinkel Amsterdam South also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to De Bakkerswinkel Amsterdam South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing