We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Thai-tastic!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ko-Chang

Ko-Chang
Ranked #480 of 3,562 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $22 - $29
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Jordaan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Thai-tastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014

Fell upon this small and cozy Thai restaurant some 7 years ago, as lived in the neighbourhood.
Since then have visited many times due to the great food and relaxed and chilled atmosphere.
The garlic and white pepper chicken wins hands down for me all the time, and love to finish it off with a special milk shake.
Always feel welcome in this cozy home from home.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dazzainthedam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    41
    10
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
77 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Lovely atmosphere lovely food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

We had the set menu Ko Chang. It was delicious and we enjoyed the couple of hours we spent here.

The Dutch gentleman that runs the place is really lovely and great fun. The food was lovely.

Definitely worth a visit

Helpful?
Thank JEM069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

Stumbled upon this restaurant by chance as we were staying in an apartment nearby. From the moment we got in there, the staff could not have been nicer. They catered brilliantly for my friend who can't have gluten and the food was some of the nicest Thai food we had ever had. If we had been staying for longer, we definitely would have eaten here again!

Helpful?
Thank Tractorgirl429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottish Borders
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Thai with a twist.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

Not your typical starched uniforms, no atmosphere Thai restaurant.

Two Dutch ladies serve up some great food with a bit of local bohemian atmosphere and slightly quirky service.

Food was v. good - had a Veg Curry our server recommend (not sure it was even on the menu) and customised with a bit if extra heat.

Table of six and all enjoyed the food, service and atmosphere.

Will go again.

Helpful?
1 Thank RomannoJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon's Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
105 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Simply Terrific”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

I ate here once and loved the food so much I got take out another four or five times after that visit during a recent month-long stay nearby. The restaurant itself is cozy, warm and comfortable.

I've eaten a lot of Thai food outside of Thailand, all over Europe and North America and some places in South America as well. This is probably THE BEST I've had. Couple the consistent, wonderful food with very friendly service and it adds up to a heartfelt recommendation. The prices are reasonable too and none of that extra few Euros for rice nonsense, which always annoys me.

Ko-Chang is really great, in every way.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ko-Chang also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Ko-Chang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing