We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome food - great price!”

Restaurant Cote Ouest
Reserve with
Restaurant Cote Ouest is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #85 of 3,900 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $22 - $31
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Centrum
Description: At Cote Ouest we do what we do best and we're proud of it: giving our guests a warm welcome and serving delicious and honest cooking. Salade Chevre Chaud, Moules, Huitres, sans gluten, Soupe a l'Oignon, organique, Confit de Canard, Galette au Saumon Fume, Orange Givre, Brand Imperator, Plateau de Fromages, Crepe Citron et Sucre, Cidre, Cafe Richard, French wines, Tarte Tatin, Monbazillac, Poisson du Jour... Come along and get a bite of our hospitality and honest food. Discover our lunch and dinner menu and keep an eye on those blackboard specials. A bientot!
Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Awesome food - great price!”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

My wife and I had dinner here this evening (August 7, 2013). We were looking for a place that was close to our hotel and this was just up an ally. I ordered the duck confe. I was not expecting anything special, but boy was I surprised. This dish was melt-in-your-mouth amazing! We split a strawberry crepe for dessert. Simply a wonderful, relaxing, and very pleasant experience!

The atmosphere was laid back and staff was knowledgable, friendly, and quite helpful. Highly recommended.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SNPH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cluntungan, Owner at Restaurant Cote Ouest, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you SNPH, for writing your experience at Côte Ouest. I do remember who you are. Hope your stay in Amsterdam has been an overall good experience and that you visit us again when you're in Amsterdam. Kind regards, Claudia van de Berg-Luntungan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    317
    163
    27
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely relaxing meal with really nice attentative staff.”
Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

We booked a table about an hour in advance, which was no problem for the staff. We had mussels, the original type and a dish with mussels, bacon and apple "cote ouest" style. Both were really good. Desserts we chose were Creme brûlée and pancake w dark chocolate. Delicious! I would definitely recommend dining here.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Keelin1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cluntungan, Owner at Restaurant Cote Ouest, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Keelin1979, thank you kindly for visiting ánd taking the time to review Côte Ouest. We hope that you will visit us again, next time you're in Amsterdam. Have a wonderfull day, kind regards, Claudia van den Berg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gibraltar
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very special place downtown Amsterdam!”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

I visited this restaurant last week, together with my family, and we were very surprised. Based in the heart of Amsterdam Centre, behind the Dam Square, this restaurant has a high standard, French cuisine, friendly waiters and perfect outside terrace. Inside it looks like a real Breton place. There is a wide selection of French wines and the food is very tasteful. Good price / quality.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank moniqueGibraltar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cluntungan, Owner at Restaurant Cote Ouest, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Muchas gracias, MoniqueGibraltar! We really do appreciate our costumers reviews; keeps us 'sharp'...! Adios y hasta pronto, Claudia & Lourens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“High quality food and nice price”
Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Customers are threaten welll

Food is good ans price is very cheap.

It's the place to eat good french food

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ouriel13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cluntungan, Owner at Restaurant Cote Ouest, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Muchas gracis for your review! We really do appreciate all reviews to stay sharp. Please visit us again when you're in the neighbourhood? Kindest regards, Claudia & Lourens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

I visited this restaurant during my visit to Amsterdam in April 2013' and it was really enjoyable, friendly and great service.

This time it was the total opposite ( Thursday 11th July) unfortunately.

The basics were missing asking for salt & pepper, for all it was quiet, we had been sitting for some time before being offered a drink and the staff were lacking in basic customer service skills demonstrating no personality.

The steak arrived with a mountain of frozen fries and lacked any imagination.

The people sitting next to us had to borrow our salt and pepper, asked for serviettes and were given someone else's meal.

Note sure which visit was the usual standard.





  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Steph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cluntungan, Owner at Restaurant Cote Ouest, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear Steph M, we truly do regret that your re-visit has been a disappointment. We take your review at heart and we hope that you will re-visit us and give us a chance, should you ever be in Amsterdam again. And please, should you decide to do so, send us an e-mail (info@coteouest.nl) and let us know. Again, we truly regret your disappointment. Yours sincerely, Claudia van den Berg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Cote Ouest also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Restaurant Cote Ouest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing