We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice food at a decent price”

Restaurant Cote Ouest
Reserve with
Restaurant Cote Ouest is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #79 of 3,855 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Centrum
Description: At Cote Ouest we do what we do best and we're proud of it: giving our guests a warm welcome and serving delicious and honest cooking. Salade Chevre Chaud, Moules, Huitres, sans gluten, Soupe a l'Oignon, organique, Confit de Canard, Galette au Saumon Fume, Orange Givre, Brand Imperator, Plateau de Fromages, Crepe Citron et Sucre, Cidre, Cafe Richard, French wines, Tarte Tatin, Monbazillac, Poisson du Jour... Come along and get a bite of our hospitality and honest food. Discover our lunch and dinner menu and keep an eye on those blackboard specials. A bientot!
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Very nice food at a decent price”
Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

Very nice atmosphere, serving very good food at a decent price. The service was very good, friendly and welcoming. We enjoyed our time here and would gladly come again!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Goetz79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cluntungan, Owner at Restaurant Cote Ouest, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank for visiting Côte Ouest and the review. Kind regards, Claudia van den Berg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    311
    159
    26
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shelby Township
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Exquisite Dining in a Casual Atmosphere”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

The appetizers, soup, entrees, and deserts were all superb as if prepared by a 5 star chief. The staff spoke many languages, were informative, friendly, and attentive. A cozy casual atmosphere added to our relaxed dining experience.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cluntungan, Owner at Restaurant Cote Ouest, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Thank you so much for the wonderfull review! Kind regards, Claudia van den Berg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Passionate and simple French food in the heart of Amsterdam”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Visited Cote Ouest during a regular business trip to Amsterdam... only this trip fell on Valentine's day. Emailing the restaurant, I was clear to make sure that my party of three colleagues woudn't be surrounded by fawning couples and was rightfully reassured this wouldn't be the case.

The restaurant has a really good atmosphere to it; plain wooden tables and simple decor, lively and enthusiastic, without being rowdy. However, the real treats are the staff and the food. Claudia explained the menu to us and talked us through the specials with such flair and passion that is was clear how much she loved food and getting others to share the same enthusiasm.

I was sold on the duck liver special starter and went for a steak frites as my main. It was all cooked well and presented with little fuss or frill, just honest good food. My companions went for moules and were equally pleased. Cote Ouest has the menu quality of a decent uptown brasserie, with the welcoming vibe of a locals-only bar.

As it is a family business, one sometimes gets the impression that they're a little stretched for staff... this perhaps isn't the right place if you're in a rush.

Go with friends, chat with the owners, take your time and enjoy yourself.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelBellaBlog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cluntungan, Owner at Restaurant Cote Ouest, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
We simply LOVE the review, thank hou for visiting and writing, hope to welcoming you again in Cõte Ouest. Kind regards, Claudia van den Berg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food , good atmosphere”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Found by chance whilst looking for somewhere to have late light lunch. Atmosphere very friendly, drinks ice cold and food very enjoyable. Will make a point of returning when next in Amsterdam and would definitely recommend.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cluntungan, Owner at Restaurant Cote Ouest, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you very much for the review. This motivates our team at Côte Ouest! Kindest regards, Claudia van den Berg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
691 reviews
326 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“French Restaurant”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

We had dinner here and were lucky to get a table so you might like to make a booking. Our entrees were so huge we wondered if we could eat a main! All the dishes we had were delicious and well presented. Unfortunately could not fit in a desert.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank BrisbaneBetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cluntungan, Owner at Restaurant Cote Ouest, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you, BrisbaneBetty, for reviewing our restaurant. Please visit us again, should you ever be in Amsterdam again to try one of our desserts. Kind regards, Claudia van den Berg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Cote Ouest also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Restaurant Cote Ouest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing