We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Home away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Memories of India

Memories of India
Ranked #275 of 3,435 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $17 - $39
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Description: Memories of India is established in dutch city of Amsterdam since 1989 and serving authentic Indian food to its guests. Located in the heart of city surrounded by most of the tourist attractions. Almost all the tourist attractions are at walking distance from our location. Being at the most happening place of Amsterdam city it is one of the most popular restaurants in Amsterdam. Visit us and experience yourself the magic of Indian herbs, spices and hospitality.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014 via mobile

Well being an Indian I always Look for Good Indian Food to make me and my stay comfortable whemever I am away from home.This Place is a Perfect One for the foody ones like me. The Chicken dish I had was Perfect Full of Flavours.service and atmosphere very Good .See you sohn.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rajo83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    208
    151
    43
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delicious Mango Lassi!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014 via mobile

I love Indian food, this place was very good, but a little pricey. The staff were so friendly. I totally recommend the mango lassi.

Helpful?
Thank Foodgasmkw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruxelles
Level Contributor
82 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Really good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Located in a side street in the centre of town, don't be put off by the palm tree neon sign outside, its a really nice and good restaurant! Pleasant inside, efficient staff, and really great indian cooking. It fills up really quickly at dinner time, so arrive early or book a table!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Patrick_VB67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

Found this place while looking for some nice place to dine. The guy next door recommended and told me "if you are looking for good indian food you should have your dinner here". I took his advise and entered this place. Nicely decorated restaurant with christmas decorations with dimmed light. The waiter advised me to try an Indian beer and I did it. The beer was of good quality and I sticked to the beer for the whole evening. The food was amazing. The chicken dish I had was medium spicy but was of great flavour. Further, I had a gralic bread which I enjoyed a lot. Had a lovely evening. Would come back.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ortello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
“Reminder of India”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

We have been to India several times and have tried a lot of Indian food in various parts of India. This restaurant reminded us of the best dishes we had during our stay in India. The restaurant is located in a side street of very touristic place of Amsterdam, serving very good quality food. We tried almost 6-7 vegetarian dishes with special breads and fried rice. Every dish was delicious and nicely cooked. One small minus point they do not serve tap water. We had to order mineral water. But the service, quality of food and atmosphere of the restaurant cover up everything. The prices were also reasonable for the portions we got served. It was my son's birthday that day. He got a special dessert served with sparklers on it, followed by staff singing birthday song for him.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bruno S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Memories of India also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Memories of India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing