We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food great service”
Review of Memories of India

Memories of India
Reserve with
Save up to 20% when you reserve online *
Memories of India is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #382 of 3,955 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $41
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Description: Memories of India is established in dutch city of Amsterdam since 1989 and serving authentic Indian food to its guests. Located in the heart of city surrounded by most of the tourist attractions. Almost all the tourist attractions are at walking distance from our location. Being at the most happening place of Amsterdam city it is one of the most popular restaurants in Amsterdam. Visit us and experience yourself the magic of Indian herbs, spices and hospitality.
Wales
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Delicious food great service”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Hadn't booked a table but was seated quickly. Waiter service was attentive and quick. Food was delicious and we didn't wait too long.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cath333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    246
    169
    51
    16
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent meal and service”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

The atmosphere on arrival was outstanding, we got the window table and the staff were just great, when the meal arrived we were blown away, this was an outstanding meal and exceptional service, thanks

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peterinamsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
“OUTSTANDING”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Our hotel staff recommended this restaurant and it was very near to our hotel, we decided to have dinner here. A fantastic place in all respect. The food is amazing. The combination of decore, food and the service is touching. We had a combination menu on the advice of the manager and it was superb. During our stay of 5 days we had two dinners here. One on the opening day and the second on the closing day. Would come back here whenever in Amsterdam.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Charles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“wonderful ambience and food !”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Had a pre-set menu arranged for our group. The restaurant was very busy and the wait staff had a tough time keeping up .

The food was very large portions and was greatly appreciated by our guests.

I will be back to savour the delights soon!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank ajay069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Decent Food, Inhospitable”
Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

The food is decent, maybe even sometimes good. It is not Gaylord, but we have eaten worse Indian food. We had several appetizers and a chicken Biriyani. The Biriyani was a bit gloppy, but the other four dishes were good. We were never asked our preference for spiciness. What we got, except for the chicken wings, was pretty mild even for Western taste buds. (We have eaten in Indian restaurants in smaller cities, New York, Paris, London, and India.) That is the good news. The bad news s that this has to be the most ungenerous Indian - or for that matter, any - restaurant we can remember. They charge extra for literally every little extra. No naan or paratha or plain rice or even basic chutneys are included as one usually expects. They uploaded some items, including rather expensive bottled water, without disclosure of costs. That brings us to the service. It was slow, inadequate, and completely lacking any warmth or charm. Even worse, he server was disrespectful in ways most Westerners might not recognize. But someone familiar with South Asia would no beyond question was deliberate rudeness. We would have told him so if he had ever come to the table again after taking our orders. The overworked bus girl, however, at least made an effort. Bottom line: there are too many restaurants in Amsterdam to waste time and money on this one.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank franklinaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Memories of India also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Memories of India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing