We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Pleasant” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of de Luwte

de Luwte
Reserve with
de Luwte is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #114 of 3,685 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $22 - $29
Cuisines: Dutch, Mediterranean, European, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Families with children, Scenic view, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Description: Restaurant De Luwte has been a well-known establishment located at the Leliegracht in Amsterdam for over 27 years. This winter, it has renewed the look.As soon as you walk in you feel the warmth. Warmth coming from the cosy fireplace, but also the natural colors and materials surrounding you. You find yourself amongst the locals and internationals. Enjoy a nice glass of red wine by the fireplace, a special diner with a view over the Leliegracht or taste different cocktails below our vertical garden.The name 'De Luwte' means 'out of the wind' or a 'sheltered place'. De Luwte is a calm, relaxing spot in the centre of Amsterdam where you can escape the bustle of the city into a cosy and relaxing place.We have an international menu with a nod to the Mediterrenaen kitchen. To everyone's wish our menu is an affordable, obtainable and interesting answer.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Pleasant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

Smallish menu but food good enough to visit twice in a week. Staff friendly and helpful, Comfortable seating in cosy surroundings. Well spaced tables. Enjoyable meals. Thank you

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank chrisplatt999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    291
    188
    40
    8
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Waterlooville, United Kingdom
1 review
“Made to feel special”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

We booked online, and received a lovely acknowledgement confirming out booking and looking forward to seeing us. So a good start. When we arrived at the restaurant we were met by three of the staff, including the chef, who welcomed us by name, and showed us to a lovely table right next to the window. Superb ... especially when it was our 35th wedding anniversary (which they didn't know, incidentally). Throughout the evening this excellent service continued ... we weren't rushed, neither did we have to wait for anything. Staff appeared exactly when we needed them, and were very chatty and friendly. The excellent service was matched by the food, which was innovative, appealing to the eye and of excellent quality ... beautiful tuna and tournedos. The restaurant itself is very attractive, nicely lit and a comfortable place to dine. At the end of the evening we were escorted to the door, and thanked for eating at the restaurant. This is a great place for a special occasion, and we will most definitely return.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Really nice restaurant.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014

Bethetwice this week and it's just great. Great food and wonderful service.
Got both their Tournedos and the Tomahawk steak. Dessert was also great.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Benjamin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

It was close to our hotel and on a wet wintry night we did not want to walk far. We had the lentil up start. Brilliant. Fish of the day was a small serving but adequate. Do not order the veal rib eye. It was almost I edible. Nog labour and very sinewy. Without a proper steak knife, impossible to cut. The cheese cake was special. Friendly service. Just stay away from the rib eye. Tip, the tournedos recommended for two actually suits three or four diners.

Helpful?
Thank Jack B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chagrin Falls, Ohio
Level Contributor
152 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Superb Dining Experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

By the time we graced de Luwte, our party had tasted some fine food. De Luwte excelled and exceeded our other experiences! The sauces and meat quality were all top-notch. You couldn't find a decor more comfortable yet current anywhere: candles, sparkling branches and holiday bulbs, birch tree and bird wallpaper = quiet perfection.

Iris the owner was chatty yet professional. The bar scene was hopping.

Do yourself a favor and book a table at de Luwte for that perfect Amsterevening.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Piqua41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed de Luwte also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to de Luwte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing