We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Amsterdam cheese shop

I was attracted by the aroma from outside. I popped in and my eyes almost popped out. I bought the... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
P9216MFchriss
,
London, United Kingdom
via mobile
The real taste of Amsterdam

Went today in the Kalverstraat shop, where a talented italian girl (i missed the name, and i'm... read more

Reviewed February 20, 2020
ZellerAZ
,
Milan, Italy
Read all 278 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Amsterdam
from $19.96
More Info
from $23.98
More Info
from $32.15
More Info
from $31.60
More Info
Reviews (278)
Filter reviews
278 results
Traveler rating
185
69
11
4
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
185
69
11
4
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dutch cheese truffle cheese italian girl vacuum sealed aged gouda free samples shop fenugreek tasting purchase hundreds van
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 278 reviews
Reviewed May 31, 2018

Me and my Fiance stumbled across this shop during our trip to Amsterdam. Being a cheese fan, it was a must do for me especially as you could sample all of the different cheeses they have on offer. It's a nice place to visit to try some different flavours of cheese you wouldn't normally be able to. The cheese is very tasty and I would recommend visiting here.

Date of experience: June 2017
1  Thank amyhK6357GN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ACC-online, Manager at Amsterdam Cheese Company, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2018

Well thanks Amy for spreading the word. #saycheesetolife

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2018

You find all kind of Gouda Cheese or as they like to call it the Dutch Gold. There are Gouda Cow, Gouda Goat, and other blends. The shops are elegant and the staff is experienced.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Mahmoud A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ACC-online, Manager at Amsterdam Cheese Company, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2018

Thanks Mahmoud, only the best quality for our customers. All cheeses are from cows grazing the pastures north of Amsterdam, probably the best place on earth to make cheese! Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2018

Just one of many shops with cheese to sell. However, this was the first one we saw and the young assistant was very knowledgeable and helpful. Ended up with a large smoked cheese sausage and a really tasty Basil infused soft cheese. Lovely.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank DCCKid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ACC-online, Manager at Amsterdam Cheese Company, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2018

Hi DCCKid, thanks for coming to our store. There is no substitute for quality and you came to the shop that only sells the best Dutch cheese. Enjoy and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2018 via mobile

Very delicious cheese with lots of different samples definitely we will go back next time! They have my favorite type of cheese that has the Little Bit Of crystallization in it as well as so many more :-)

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank etfonhom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ACC-online, Manager at Amsterdam Cheese Company, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2018

You must have samples the Extra Old :-) Thanks for coming, we hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2018

The two store employees at the Amsterdam Cheese Company shop at Kalverstraat set a very high standard of skill in salesmanship. Lars, a uniquely persuasive expert who knows how to engage a serious customer, would be a credit to any sales team. His colleague Elina, a bubbly and ebullient personality, strikes a fine balance between being welcoming and friendly, and extremely professional. They both know how to get their job done, and keep the customers happy. Not many stores are lucky to have such fine staff, and I am sure I would shop there again. Glad to have discovered the place, and I am not even that much of a cheese fanatic. Keep it up, guys! All the best.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank senoritsjustawin2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ACC-online, Manager at Amsterdam Cheese Company, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2018

You mean Laz and Alina :-) They are the A-team, but very nice of you to compliment our staff. They are all true cheesheads and when you have the best cheese Holland has to offer it makes their job even nicer. Happy to hear that our enthusiasm comes across! Thank you for coming.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews