We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real pleasant surprise”
Review of Brix

Brix
Reserve with
Brix is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #719 of 3,855 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $22 - $29
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
117 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“A real pleasant surprise”
Reviewed June 24, 2014

Happened to chance upon Brix while wandering the 9 Streets in search of food. Our main plan was blown to bits and we decided to just try somewhere. The menu consisted of some nice appetizers and reasonably pricing main courses (max 20Euro). I had an amazing fish entree and my friend had 3 appetizers that were all tasty. The variety of menu, the quality of taste and relative reasonable prices (for Amsterdam) were perfect. The staff was friendly and warm and I'm already planning my next visit.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AmericanAbroadAMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    83
    18
    11
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
417 reviews
306 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“The right ambience, food and service”
Reviewed June 20, 2014

Lunch here was an absolute delight with a great crowd of people and even though noisy we could still talk. The waitress was obliging and had two French sauvignon's on the table quickly.

We shared a large hotdog, Dutch type together with great chips. Prices are moderate and it does seem a local favourite.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ray d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best steak in Amsterdam”
Reviewed June 13, 2014 via mobile

We spent a few days in Amsterdamat the end of May and we walked past this nice little place by chance while we were shopping in the famous nine streets (also worth a visit!!).
The place looked so cool we decided we'd go back there to eat dinner and we did.
Delicious wine and wonderful steak (one of the best I've ever had) with a very good mash on the side.
Price was fair and as already said, the place is soooo cool!
The only thing that probably needs to be improved is the service. I mean everyone was very nice, friendly and helpful but it took more than 45 to get us our steaks, which is a little bit to long for such a small place..and it wasn't even that busy at that time.
Besides that everything was perfect, I would suggest the place to everyone and I'll definitely go back there to have food and/or drinks if I happen to be back in Amsterdam, for business or pleasure

Helpful?
Thank aeliss_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A lovely evening!”
Reviewed June 9, 2014

We stumbled across Brix ... and it was a very pleasant surprise. It was all very nice from the food and drink to the service and ambience.
Tapas style and not too expensive.
Worth a visit!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kjmulholland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luzon, Philippines
Level Contributor
399 reviews
185 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 254 helpful votes
“Nice cafe in a nice area of Amsterdam”
Reviewed April 30, 2014

Located in what the locals call the 9 Streets, which seems to be the boutique part of Amsterdam Central. It's not as crowded and touristy as the other areas in Central, and it seems it's more of a local favorite. Brix has a cool, young yet casual vibe. Service is prompt though not as warm or engaged as those found in North American establishments. Music is on the chill, sophisticated side. They advertise some live performances but didn't catch any when we were there.

Food is ok but theirr portions seems to be more for cocktails than a full meal. Our Chartucerie, described as a selection of hams and sausages actually comprised of 4 varieties of cold cuts of 3 slices each. However, they do they have an extensive wine and beer list that's reasonably priced. Go there for drinks but better have a full meal somewhere else if you're hungry, before or after you go to Brix.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hizonfire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brix also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Brix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing